We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great up scale self catering lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langebaan Country Estate
Ranked #4 of 32 Langebaan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great up scale self catering lodge”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Attended a work function at this golf course. Found the accommodation really great. Loved the colour scheme, was spacious and fantastic premium hotel quality bed. Close to Mykonos and the casino. Was impressed with the menu at their restaurant, especially their bar area. Great nature walks around the accommodation. Not the greatest golfer (in my line of work it is not an advantage with clients) but the mashie course is a must. Fountain on the course was a nice touch. Definitely recommend this venue for corporate events and functions.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceInWonderland_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    112
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
132
89
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My three friends and I shared a 2-bedroomed suite on the ground floor. It was spacious yet cosy and had all the amenities of home including washing machine, tumble drier, bathtub, DVD player and DSTV. Everything was neat, clean, tidy and modern. The only bummer of being on the ground floor was no sea view... Which we'll be sure to request the next time we book! Great value for money with a homely vibe!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fatima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was the second time we had stayed at Ellefsen - very safe apartment complex with visible security measures in place, modern finishes, very comfortable 2-bedroomed-2-bathroom apartment unit with fully-fitted kitchen. Our unit was facing the Oostewal road (the main road leading visitors into the centre of Langebaan) and it was pretty noisy. Although our bedding was clean (white, percale) and the kitchen was fine, the rug in the lounge and the bedroom carpets looked dirty and needs a good steam-cleaning. There is a kids' entertainment centre (jumping castle, games room, etc) at Ellefsen, but the only swimming pool is located on the other side of the estate next to the bowls club and u need to take a car from Ellefsen to get to the other side where the Clubhouse is (the roads between the estates go across and around the golf course so only golf carts are able to use those very-narrow roads).

Room Tip: Rooms as far away from the road are recommended for a quiet night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapellen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

It was our third visit to the Ellefsen Golf suites and although we find the spaces still exellent, we were a bit disappointed by the way things are kept. Saying that the cleaning is done a bit in the "French way", does harm to the French. But the staff is so friendly that one can easely overlook such details.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden/terrace directly looking at the main street are a bit noisy. We chose to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reymerswael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Lodges are in the heart of golf course. Crew people are very kind, perfect stand for a break. Lodges are self catering and a little more service would be appreciated.
Langebaan country estate is very secure, but you can easily walk or drive into the resort
Langebaan is a great place, where tourists are welcolme

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. A pleasant two-bed suite with sea views and within the secure golf complex. This has more to offer than just golf (bowls, swimming pool, running and cycling track, lots of birdlife - we even spotted some mongoose and scrub hares) and the location is good. A couple of criticisms would be the road noise - our suite faced the main road out of Langebaan and the traffic noise prevented a good quality sleep. The rooms are serviced daily but could be cleaner, e.g. bottle tops from previous guests left in drawers. The kitchen equipment would be enhanced with a cafetiere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKRej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed at unit 60D at Langebaan Country Estate in Feb-Mar 2011 and although we didn't do any golfing or use the club house, I found this accommodation very pleasant and comfortable. The place was very quiet and we had all the privacy we wanted. The compound was very safe and the security staff very friendly.
The unit was furnished in a corporate/contemporary white & brown style with a very comfy sofa as well as very comfortable beds. We had 2 bedrooms (a twin and a double) with plenty of wardrobe space and 2 bathrooms. The kitchen/diner/lounge was airy and spacious and although we didn't have a great view I enjoyed spending time on the veranda.
My only complain would be that the clensiness of one of the bathrooms was average and could have been better; also we had to ask the maid to re-clean the fridge because when we arrived it stank of fish really badly.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langebaan
2.0 mi away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
407 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#3 of 6 in Langebaan
344 reviews
1.9 mi away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#4 of 6 in Langebaan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
1.7 mi away
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Langebaan
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Guest House, Langebaan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langebaan Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langebaan Country Estate

Property: Langebaan Country Estate
Address: 1 Oostewal Rd | Langebaan Country & Golf Estate, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa (Formerly Ellefsen Golf Suites-Langebaan Country Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Langebaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Langebaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langebaan Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langebaan Country Estate, positioned close to Langebaan Lagoon, the most beautiful lagoon in Southern Africa and the famous West Coast National Park, is just over an hour’s drive from Cape Town. Well known for its warm hospitality, Langebaan Country Estate, at the heart of the West Coast, awaits you. Whether you're planning to play a round of golf, toast a celebration, or just need some rest and relaxation, you'll find it all and more on this secure and beautifully appointed 450 hectare Estate.Self-Catering Accommodation GOLF SUITES (40 Apartments):Why not linger after a game of golf? Extend your visit to our beautiful Estate, by booking into our luxury self-catering Golf Suites. Set between the 9th and 18th fairways on the golf course, the Golf Suites have an up-market, modern look and feel, enhanced by the paths that meander through landscaped gardens and water features.The Golf Suites consist of 40 luxurious, two-bedroomed apartments that offer guests the laid-back lifestyle associated with country living, combined with the comforts of a secure, fully serviced hotel stay.All the Suites have high-quality finishes which include granite kitchen counters, subtle down-lighters and a bouquet of DStv channels.Kitchens are fully equipped, including an oven and hob. To make entertaining a breeze, there's also a built-in braai. The golf suites provide the perfect platform to take advantage of the leisure lifestyle on offer at the Langebaan Country Estate.Golf suites specifications:• Wi-Fi hotspot• Fully equipped kitchen• Washing machine and tumble dryer• Lounge and dining area• Plasma screen TV with DSTV• Music system• DVD player• Double-size bed in the main bedroom• Twin beds in the second bedroom• Bathroom/s - bath and shower• Electronic safe• Hair dryers• Iron and ironing board• Balcony / patio with braai facilities Facilities situated at the Golf Suites:• Children’s entertainment Centre• Gym• Swimming Pool• Beauty SpaThere is ample safe parking and you will know that your children are safe while they are cycling or outdoors around this peaceful, secure neighbourhood.Golf-cart paths connect the Golf Suites to the Clubhouse and other amenities on offer at the Estate, including our tennis courts, bowling green and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Langebaan Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellefsen Golf Suites - Langebaan Country Estate Hotel Langebaan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing