We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At The Rocks
Ranked #7 of 32 Langebaan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aylesbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for four nights and it was an absolute pleasure to discover this gem in the western cape. Louise and Eva were the perfect hosts, gorgeous continental breakfast, all fresh and as much as you want, the property is utterly spotless with well appointed rooms and wifi in the main lounge. Some wildlife right on the doorstep and plenty to do locally including the west coast reserve and fossil park. We are both incredibly fussy where we stay and can be very picky, At The Rocks met all our needs and expectations and then exceeded them. We will most definatly be back. Thank you so much Louise, you gave our holiday the perfect start.

Room Tip: Wind and air or the studio have the best views but all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dormer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
68
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackboys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited this guest house in 2011/12 and because of the good experience we re-booked. I booked this stay March 2012 upon our return. I booked a specific room as it was a special holiday. We arrived to find a new manager who tried to give us the wrong room, blamed the booking system - I use booking.com all over the world. It turns out that she would have made some more money for a room that could take another person. We had a great breakfast last stay but only continental this time. Manager complained about other guests and working over the holidays - room was not serviced during our two night stay, was our fault for not leaving the key - we should know as we have stayed before apparently - no housekeeping keys. Shame lovely guest house but we will not return :(

Room Tip: Water is fab room views overlooking the lagoon with spa bath and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondebosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent the night here on our wedding anniversary and really loved the place. With regard to accommodation offerings in Langebaan, this is a little gem set up on the hillside overlooking the lagoon far enough away from the hustle and bustle of kitesurfers and holiday makers. The rim flow pool, water feature and loungers are perfectly situated to enjoy a peaceful nap in the sun, followed by a dip in the sparkling pool - felt like we didn't even need the beach, although we did head down to Kraalbaai in the national park the next day.
We had the classic room "Air" which opened onto the pool deck and had views on 2 sides. the room was a tiny bit small for all the furniture in it, but the furniture is required to make it a 4 star guesthouse - ie place to put your suitcases, chairs etc. there is also a corner spa bath in the window. The queen size bed was comfy, and it was interesting that 2 single duvets were supplied, an no top sheet. It was hot, so a sheet would have been welcome as the duvets were down and too warm.We also found it a bit odd that the underfloor heating in the bathroom was requested to be left on in the middle of summer - so unnecessary and a waste of electricity in our opinion, but at least the room had a fan to cool things down.
Breakfast was lovley, continental with fruit, crereal, cheese, meat, patsries etc, and hardboiled eggs and sausages were also on the menu (served cold with the meat). We ate more than our fill and enjoyed the excellent coffee and juice while taking in the views (again).
The manager, Eva, was very friendly and accommodating - good service.

There is an open area of granite rocks and bush in front of the pool, where we saw some wildlife - mongooses lots of birds & a duiker, so this was an added bonus.

One can use the kitchen & facilities to prepare your own meals, and there is also a braai available, if you don't wish to eat out every night.

We will definitely go back, especially when its flower season and the area in front of the guesthouse is blanketed with namaqua daises.

Room Tip: From waht we could tell, all the rooms, except "Fire" open onto the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent two nights "at the rocks". The view was to die for, management very friendly and helpful, the room a bit small but all in all good value for money. We missed air conditioning but the specials for Christmas breakfast made up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnorrby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

At the rocks is in a living area up the hills of Langebaan. We were very friendly greeted by Eva and told, that we're not supposed to pee in the closet. The bathroomdoor is intigrated in to it, so we went the save way and kept the door open ;)
We had a wonderfull view over Langebaan and the name giving rocks with a big family of rock dassies.
Breakfast was fine, but no hot breakfast was offered. Its okay for us Germans, we don't need hot breakfast every morning. The variety of cheese could be widened to some swiss or sliced cheese.
Over all, a very beautifull place we will gladly come back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I spent a night AT THE ROCKS for our 24th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic, Toekies is really awesome and does go out of her way to make you feel at home. We would recommend and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Stay more than one night to get the proper value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulConlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Luxury Guest house has the best view in Langebaan.
You can see 95% of the town from the swimming pool area and luxury rooms.

We received prompt and friendly service through out our stay.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are right next to pools with a spa bath. The "Water" room has the best view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devonne_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langebaan hotels
0.7 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#3 of 6 in Langebaan
333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
376 reviews
3.5 mi away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#4 of 6 in Langebaan
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Langebaan
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harrison's House
Harrison's House
#1 of 32 in Langebaan
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Mahi Guest House
Le Mahi Guest House
#2 of 32 in Langebaan
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Rocks

Property: At The Rocks
Address: 65 Tortilis Crescent | Myburgh Park, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Langebaan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Langebaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — At The Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your At The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Rocks Hotel Langebaan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing