We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed at Christmas”
Review of Hotel YllasHumina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel YllasHumina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed here with "Magic of Lapland" The hotel has an ok family feel but the food was poor. Every morning we had no hot food in the buffet, just the odd hot sausage and some days porridge but the porridge tasted dreadful as they mix LOTS of salt with it. We asked if we could have some without salt and they were not flexible enough to do it, all we got was a "No"

They did nothing special for Xmas and there was hardly any festive decorations at all and Xmas day was disappointing. Dinner was the same as previous days, mainly cold food with a little bit of hot veg and meat.

The cabin was tiny with 2 single beds and a double mattress on the floor in the loft area upstairs. For the money we paid we were quite disappointed. However the cabin was new and very clean.

No internet access just in the main building but there is no area to sit and relax and lounge on a sofa etc. to surf. You have to sit at a dinner table.

Overall poor experience, We wont return here sadly. Main points of disappointment,

1) No festive spirit considering it was Christmas
2) Poor choice of food available
3) Staff not very friendly
4) Poor TV channels available - Not that we came here to watch TV but the time of year we were here we had just 3-4 hours of daylight and there was nothing else to do at night!
7) No facilities for children.
6) NOTHING special planned or offered on Christmas Eve or Day.

Disappointing, save your money and go elsewhere :(

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Skyhawk747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Hotel YllasHumina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 115 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2009

I travelled to the Yllashumina on an organised Santa Tour, visiting it for the second time.
The hotel has retained its charming friendly atmosphere over the years and did not disappoint.

The cabin rooms are basic and small, but perfectly acceptable. A family of four may find it a squeeze as there are two single beds and a two mattresses on the mezzanine level which is reached by a steep stair / ladder.

The bathroom is a "wet room", with toilet, shower and basin with nothing else. It is functional, but not luxurious in any way.

Despite the basic nature of the accommodation, the friendly atmosphere makes up for these shortcomings.

Food is served "buffet style" and is relatively simple, but tasty.

Free WiFi is available in the main building, and they have laptops available to use, if you do not have our own. (Internet access should be available in the rooms in 2010)

I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Yllashumina as a place to stay, as long as you are aware of the basic nature of the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We were on a cross-country skiing package, for which the hotel was ideally placed. Fantastic value: there was no need to spend anything once we were there. The self-service breakfasts and evening meals were delicious and there was no limit on how much one could take. The free beverages included the hotel's own ale. (The coffee and tea were rubbish though.) There was a really good sauna and, once a week, a hot tub. It was a very good set-up: very efficient but not too big or impersonal.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We wanted a snow-sure cross country experience, so booked a room in one of their apartment type rooms. On arrival, the room was actually quite hard to find, as it is about 150 metres from the reception, and there is a maze of snowy paths and roads. It was pitch black and not all the path lights were working, nor was the porch light on or the number illuminated. Still, we eventually found it and what a delight! It had a double room (with comfy double bed) a loft area with two singe beds, a lounge/dining area with a small kitchen incorporated, and a complete Finnish sauna! There was also a wood stove, with a supply of firewood in a box on the porch. It was very clean and cosy. There was also a clothes drier.

The trek off through the arctic to get to meals was all part of the adventure...it never got seriously cold while we were there (around minus 12-15). The little village of huts and cottages was delightful. The food itself was fine, with buffet meals for breakfast and dinner. There was a huge emphasis on fish, particularly salmon, and reindeer done a thousand ways. They even managed fresh salads each day which I thought was impressive given the isolation.

We booked a husky excursion one day and a reindeer excursion on another day. They organised it all at reception, and the safari company, Scandinavian, picked us right up at the hotel. (Not cheap, however as the groups were very small. I noted it was actually cheaper if you get yourself to the Scandinavian office in Akaslompolo).

The hotel itself is actually quite far away from the town, maybe 5 km by road. The only practical way to get there (aside from the Skibus) was to cross country ski across the lake. This was a fun and novel way to get beer and pre-dinner snacks.

All in all we really enjoyed our arctic experience at this hotel and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Guaranteed pre-Christmas snow in a wilderness setting.
Marvelous food and cottage type rooms that were very quiet.
Despite the -26C temperatures the room was cosy, with the drying cupboard particularly welcome after gathering ice on the loipe all day.
The only downsides were that it was a chill trip to get to the hot tub and we had to push the two single beds together.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank M1keyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Im Zimmer 20 waren immer wieder laute brummende Geräusche zu hören.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jumurdzsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Taitaa kaikki mahdolliset majoitustilat olla hyvä valinta.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merjakorpela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaslompolo
22.8 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
21.5 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#2 of 5 in Akaslompolo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seita
Hotel Seita
#4 of 5 in Akaslompolo
26 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
164 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel YllasHumina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel YllasHumina

Address: Tiurajaerventie 27, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Price Range: $158 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel YllasHumina 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel YllasHumina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel YllasHumina Finland/Akaslompolo, Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing