We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel YllasHumina
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
7 Fells Hostel(Akaslompolo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yllaksen Yopuu(Akaslompolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge 67 N(Akaslompolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yllashilla Cottage(Akaslompolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seita(Akaslompolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunturioravat(Akaslompolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
87
38
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
38
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross country skiingsuperior roomsnowmobile safarihot berry juicefather christmasbreakfast and dinnerdrying cabineta family run hotelbritish airwaysentrance hallrestaurant servesice hotelwet roomwinter holidaynorthern lightscabin roomsholiday company
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 132 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for four nights this month. Though the overall atmosphere and food was nice the service was not. First there is no help with the luggage and the room is only cleaned every other day!!!! We didnot want new towels, just the cleaning. The towels re horrible..btw, they donot absorb at all and are tiny..On top of that you have o take your towel to the sauna and if you want a robe you pay extra! The beds were tiny and the milk on the coffee tray in the room was expired. it took a day to get the wifi fixed and there was no explanation as to how we could asjust the temperature in the room
The reception stuff was cold though efficient ,you wouldnt call them friendly.
The activities were ok and the staff realy nice but the cost was off the roof.. Our stay cost a little over 600 a person a night with only one dinner and with the usual activities

Room Tip: Try for the superior rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked our week away with Inntravel and couldn't have asked for better service and organisation, they took all the stress away from booking a holiday.

We stayed in one of the Superior rooms. The room was fantastic with a living room, log burning stove, amazing bathroom with double sinks and double shower and a big comfy bed. We only used the fire a couple of times as the room was so snug and warm. The room also comes with a coffee machine, kettle and fridge. There is also a drying machine in the lobby of the room which we couldn't have done without - even to just warm your boots up for Breakfast!

The food in the hotel was lovely, a hot breakfast was offered everyday with fruits and ham and cheese etc. Dinner was also great with a selection of hot dishes and cold / salad dishes. Puddings were also available everyday. We had lunch in the pub on our final day which was perfect.

We had a go at cross country skiing, both of us had some experience of down hill skiing but never at cross country. Timo in the ski hut was brilliant, offering us lots of advice and routes to try - it would have been a disaster without him! We bought a map from reception which was essential as some of the signs can be a little confusing.

We took part in two excursions, the first was a snow mobile trip "Into the Wilderness" which was brilliant. It was just the two of us and the guide and we spent 4 hours whizzing through the forests, across a slightly scary lake, stopping for lunch in a little wooden hut and then whizzing home again. We also took a trip to the Snow Village to see the Ice Hotel. This was an amazing experience popping into all the individually designed rooms and bar.

One thing we hadn't quite expected was just how cold it was... we had gone equipped with the usual ski jackets, trousers, base layers, thermals etc. but this didn't quite hold up to -37 we were greeted with. Our first day was a quick walk into the town (with frozen eyelashes, etc.) to buy some extra warm cloths. The temperature varies massively with one day getting up to 4 degrees C then back to -22, but as long as your prepared for this it's all ok!

Overall it was a fantastic holiday, getting to see the Northern Lights was a bonus and the Hot Tub and Sauna was an experience! A holiday we won't forget in a hurry. A big thank you to everyone at Inntravel and also all the staff at the hotel for making this such a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Ylläs-tunturi national park is simply the finest cross-country ski area on the planet. Hundreds of miles of beautifully maintained classic and skating trails through a pristine arctic wilderness of forests, marshes and tunturi (rounded hills). Unlike many other areas the trails extend over a huge area rather than criss-crossing each other in a tight grid and many of the junctions have open fireplaces with shelters or small cafes. The town has a fine collection of restaurants, sports shops, local souvenirs and a huge supermarket. The National Park centre is very informative and tells you all about the wildlife and the fascinating arctic environment.

Lots of other activities too beyond the hotel, snowshow walks up through the more inaccessible areas, downhill & Telemark skiing, wood saunas and ice swimming, the 'Arctic' experience collection of huskies, reindeer sled rides and skidoo stuff.

Ylläs Humina is an excellent base giving you access from the door. It is located a little distance from the main village (about 10 minutes by ski or a 20 minute walk) - but this is never a problem. Rooms are all in really warm and comfortable cabins surrounding the main hotel and restaurant. The food is great (sauces and soups a bit heavy on the salt) - but lots of fresh salads, fish and local specialities. Excellent facilities - big sauna, hot tub, bar & pub, ski waxing hut.

Unlike most of the other hotels in the area, it is a family run hotel. The staff are impeccably friendly and helpful and make any effort to ensure you enjoy your holiday to the full. Most speak great English.

We have been going there for many many years and can't recommend it highly enough. We never get bored of the place. Great for the beginner or advanced skier.

Flights to Kittila international airport direct from the UK with Inghams/Monarch or via Helsinki with Finnair.

Room Tip: Choose whether you want a room (semi-detached cabin room) or an apartment (full semi-detached cabin with sauna) for a bit more space, or 'superior' room (semi detached luxury cabin) for top facilities, wifi etc. See the hotel website for full details. The Yllas transfer bus meets the Finnair flights at the airport. Taxis can be booked through the hotel and are cost effective if you are more than 4 people. We also often catch taxis to distant areas on the ski tracks and then ski home.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerribleToll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked one of the 8 'superior rooms' in one of the hotel's log cabins overlooking the lake. Starting off on a 'Bed & Breakfast' basis, such was the quality of the food that we soon changed to half board. The excellently maintained cross-country trails started from the hotel 1984 whilst on Wednesdays and Thursdays a bus took skiers to the furthest extent of the area.

The apartment comprised two large areas divided by a central enclosed fireplace, a bathroom, and a separate entrance hall. One area contained the large double bed 1973 from which one could look past the fireplace and through the full length window to give a panoramic view 1963 onto the lake and the country beyond, where arctic hares 1968 could occasionally be seen. The living area 1970 comprised a settee, two easy arm chairs, two tables, a huge 'intelligent' television and a modern entertainment centre. Along the back wall 1974 were more built in wardrobes than could possibly be used, a sink, coffee percolator, kettle and refrigerator (but no cooking facilities). Good quality china, glasses and cutlery was provided. Free Wi-Fi was provided with one wireless router for each two apartments. The walls were tastefully decorated with pictures. There were ample electric sockets. The apartment was cleaned every other day.

The spacious bathroom/toilet has a large 'his' and 'hers' shower and a 'his' and 'hers' sink and mirror, but only one toilet!!! A hair dryer is provided. The touch-less taps did take a little getting used to, and we never did work out how the sensor decided what volume of water to produce! The entrance hall included a full length effective cabinet dryer as well as space for outdoor clothing and opened onto a veranda which contained two low chairs and a table where we enjoyed some late afternoon sunshine 1967.

The main hotel included the restaurant, a lively pub and a sitting area, which given the nature of our apartment we did not use. It is our usual practice to have some dinners in the hotel and the rest elsewhere. However, a combination of nowhere else close by and a menu that was varied daily with a number of theme nights persuaded us to change to half board. There are 'his' and 'her' saunas which we did not investigate.

There were a few niggles. I did not find the mattress as comfortable as I would have liked; the TV did not consistently receive English language channels (we had brought some DVD box sets which compensated) and some might find the distance of the apartment from the main hotel a little far, though we did not. The staff were very helpful and friendly, though we would have appreciated being taken to our Apartment when we arrived late and in the dark after reception closed (key obtained from the Pub) - luckily the taxi driver (bus transfer from the airport is available, but the Yllashumina is the last stop) took pity on us and drove us up to our cabin. The village and nearest shops are 15 minutes skiing away via the lake 1991 or 30 minutes walking by road so when shopping is required it makes sense to plan the day's skiing to pass via the village at the end of the day.

The area is excellent for cross country skiing. The ski routes were maintained in excellent condition and all were suitable for classic and ski-skating. Although there is a significant length of floodlit trails, by April when we were there daylight continued well into the evening. The area is undulating, although the climbs are somewhat less than other areas we have been in Norway and Finland. We skied between 20 and 35 kilometres a day and did not repeat any route, with some left to do on our next visit. Manned and unmanned huts are scattered about the area. The hotel's ski room has its own ski store attached where ski equipment can be hired and where we had our own skis serviced. The ski room is well served with benches and irons and is kept clean and tidy. Tuition is available.

There are many pubs, but we were surprised at the lack of high quality restaurants - of course we may have just missed them and in any case given the quality of the hotel food they were unnecessary. As one would expect, a wide variety of tourist activities is available in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were looking for a skiing holiday that was unique and a friend suggested Yllas in Finnish Lapland. After looking at the hotel websites in Akaslompolo we chose Yllas Humina as it looked different to the other hotels in the region.
We flew to Kittila and had a journey to Yllas Humina of 30 or 40 minutes by Yllas Express taxi arranged by the hotel - all very efficient.
The reception is in the main hotel building which also houses the restaurant and pub. Our room, along with all other rooms are in separate Lappish style cabins away from the main building which means they are quiet and relaxing. The room had 2 single beds which is the norm in Finland and Scandinavia. The en-suite was big and had a shower with plenty of hot water! There was a TV in the room, but we never had time to watch it. Temperatures outside went down to -10C but we were never cold in the room (or Hotel).
The restaurant is large with plenty of room to accommodate all the guests. Unlike many hotels you can choose your table and don't have to share with any one - unless you want to. The food was excellent with a large choice at breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was an extensive continental style buffet plus some hot dishes - bacon, sausage, scrambled egg etc. There was a wide choice at dinner from the buffet, and some special buffets such as the Lappish buffet on Wednesdays where you can experience traditional local food, reindeer proved to be very tasty. The restaurant serves a variety of fish especially salmon. The restaurant also has an a la carte menu which we didn't have the chance to try. The pub serves nice food, if you want a change and need a burger or sausage, which we enjoyed on a couple of occasions. All in all the food was excellent.
The grounds of the hotel has the largest sauna I have ever seen. The building is impressive and the sauna excellent. There are of course separate sections for men and women.
The pub was always busy and full at night. The pub karaoke is a good laugh, English pop songs are popular. The choice of drinks was international but try the Lapin Kulta beer or the local liqueurs. Prices for alcohol are higher in Finland than the UK but not dramatically so.
We came to Akaslompolo to cross country ski, and we were not disappointed. The ski tracks are well maintained and run for hundreds of kilometres. The hotel has a ski shop which rents cross country ski equipment, attached to which is a room where skis can be prepared for the tracks. As a rest we went snow shoeing up a local fell (Kuer) which was great fun - the hotel rents the gear. We didn't get chance to go on a skidoo or dog sledge, although we did see some reindeer (not pulling Santa's sleigh either).
The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke English.
Our week went very quickly and we didn't have the time to do all that we wanted to do. We had a great time and Yllas Humina is an excellent Hotel. We will return.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews