We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to the Snow Elf hotel booked through Thomsons.

On the flight out the children were given activity packs and Santa hats which kept them busy on the flight, just over 3 hours.

On arrival at Kittila we went to a large store where we were kitted up with hats, gloves, scarf (but we used our own) along with snow boots and snow suit. Ours were in good condition and saved us taking these in our luggage. We were introduced to our elf 'Holly Berry' who we stayed with on all our trips and she was lovely, especially with the kids. The journey to the hotel was about 50 minutes.

We had booked a 1 bed apartment and were pleasantly surprised. Everything was clean and new and had hob and dishwasher, (not that we used them as not in the room enough) iron, board, hairdryer, microwave and shower. Also a sauna and log burner -both used. The apartment was very hot and even though we turned the heating off it was still stifling and we heard some people were sleeping with the windows open. there is also an drying cupboard (tumble dryer without the tumble) to dry out wet clothes - excellent idea.

We booked the full board option and this is buffet style and food was ok but predictable after a couple of days so don't expect 4 star all inclusive food but ok for a short break.

the drinks are expensive, but then most things here are. Lager, don't expect a full pint, is from 5.7 euros and spirits about 8 euros.

There is a supermarket about 20 minutes walk with most things as there is no shop on site

We had not booked the trips before going and not sure of the prices and as this was a trip of a lifetime we decided to book with the reps at the hotel. These are about 120 euros for adults and 80 euros for children. There are tasters available that are free so if you are on a budget then I would keep with these. We went on the reindeer adventure being pulled through the forest by reindeer and met the herders. Went on the husky adventure being able to ride your own sleigh and visit a farm and handle the husky puppies. There was also the elf adventure going to ice hotel and kids have the chance to ride a snow mobile with lunch included. There is also a trip to see Santa as part of the package where you get to meet him and the kids get a present.

there is a kids disco in the evening followed by a nightclub for adults but we never got round to going there. There are also many sledges around the hotel to use on the small slopes, our daughter loved these and climbing the mounds built up by the snow plough. She enjoyed every minute of the holiday. The reps are great and the Elves love the children and all the kids loved playing with them.

There is a gala night at another hotel on the last night, again buffet style, with the reps putting on a show and quiz. Again the drinks are expensive, 2 lagers and a small coke about 16 euros and 5 euros for a small bottle of pepsi

I would recommend this holiday purely for the organisation for the snow wear, trips and reps and the smiles on the kids faces :-) - priceless

Any questions welcome

ps, you spend most of the time in the dark as there are only 3-4 hours of daylight from 10.00 am - 2.00 pm but no sun as mainly snowing

Room Tip: book the apartments for facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Footsie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 289 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Lapland, staying at the snow elf hotel. The hotel is lovely, set out like a little village. We were in one of the hotel rooms behind the reception on the ground floor. It was perfect. Fairly spacious with a kitchenette, lounge area - with a large sofa bed - bedroom with twin beds and an immaculate bathroom with a sauna! Lovely! There was loads of cupboard space for all of our layers and a drying cupboard which came in very handy. The beds were really comfortable and the whole place was clean and perfect for us. It was always really cosy, despite the temperatures outside being well below zero. We were staying on a full board basis. the food was plentiful and tasty. As vegetarians we weren't expecting much and, though the choices were limited, what was there was tasty and hot. The children particularly liked making their own waffles at breakfast! The hotel's location couldn't be beaten. Right on the cross country ski paths, you could walk for miles. We enjoyed the knee deep snow on the frozen lake and, apart from the odd skier, didn't see another soul. The children loved rolling and playing in the untouched snow. We also walked to the supermarket for supplies - only about a 10 minute walk away. There were a few restaurants and shops within walking distance though we didn't try any of these. We did walk to a Christmas gift shop that sold the usual range of souvenirs, and not too ridiculously priced! There were also loads of places where you could book trips that were, so we were told by others, much cheaper than the excursions organised by the holiday reps. We did a trip to the ice hotel - a great morning. The ice sculptures were amazing! Fantastic holiday. Great hotel! Loads of unforgettable memories made! Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our 1st time to lapland and was abit aprehensive as didnt know what to expect.It was fantastic from moment we arrived to leaving!!! Our children aged 9 and 7 had lots of fun the food was lovely not much choice but it was nice.The taster day was good but was a little disapointed after booking the elf morning at the ice hotel dont get me wrong it was a fantastic experiance to see but very over priced after speaking to other famlies staying our hotel we were charged 380 euros for 2 adults and 2 children by thompson and inghams only charged 108 for 2 adults and 2 children also the snow moblie hire was expensive when we walked to the supermarket only 5-10 mins down road we found out you could hire them for 40 euros near the snow priincess hotel so if you going to try it go there but you do need your driving licsence with you! The santa experiance was fab kids loved it must say this is quite a traditional area and the finnish people were soo friendly.Such a beautiful place and amazing memories that will cherise forever best holiday by far and already thinking of returing! We stayed in a apartment and was very nice had its own sauna and the rooms never felt cold also the staff were very friendly:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guyandvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

what a magical experience.took my two girls to see santa as a pre xmas treat. the whole trip was excellent especially pixie page who made my youngest girls trip even more memorable.the hotel is excellent very child friendly and the food good- dont know what the other travellers were complaining about. the excursions are expensive but a must especially the elf adventure, the ice hotel is unmissable. cant wait to go back next year and see it all over again. ps i now believe in santa

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went here in December 2012, and many of the previous comments are still relevant. The stewardesses on the outward flight were very friendly and kind to the children. Activity packs and carol singing helped to keep them occupied on the 3 1/4 hour flight. The thermal clothes and boots given to us on arrival were excellent, but you do still need at least two layers of thermal underclothing as well as jumpers and fleeces. The temperature dropped to -27 while we were there. The rooms are hot and it is difficult to alter the temperature. On the other hand, the food is still tepid! The taster and Santa sessions last about three hours, so there is no need to book the expensive excursions in the afternoon unless you are very keen. They include reindeer and huskie rides, and a short trip on a snowmobile. The children enjoyed sledging round the hotel, and the hotel pool, which we had to ourselves, came with inflatable toys. There are cross country ski routes next to the hotel, and a ski slope nearby.
All the staff spoke excellent English, and the elves were very attentive and kind to the children. We were fairly sceptical about the whole holiday, but it turned out really well, the children had a trip of a lifetime that they will never forget.

Room Tip: Apparently the apartments are much nicer than the hotel, but we didn't see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusanJH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been to Yllas three times now and stayed at the Akas a couple of times half board. The hotel itself is OK, not fantastic, but each time we have got it at a bargain so canot grumble really. We have stayed in both the cabins and the hotel - I would choose the cabins every time - they are lovely! The half board option was good, plenty of food and always chips for the most fussy traveller - I would recommend the reindeer stew, a good hearty meal after a day on the slopes! The hotel is frequented at the weekend by many Finnish people who come mainly for the ballroom dancing - what is better, they do it in the daytime too with their ski boots on which is very entertaining to watch!! We tended to go out in the evening after our meal, mainly to Jules bar were we enjoyed many a fishuu and mintuu and of course lapin kulta a lovely finnish beer. This was mainly because during the week the bar was very quiet and then packed at the weekend! Staff are wonderful and helpful and we definately prefer this side of the lake of the resort. We love Yllas - and so will you - I promise!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been to Yllas three times now and stayed at the Akas a couple of times half board. The hotel itself is OK, not fantastic, but each time we have got it at a bargain so canot grumble really. We have stayed in both the cabins and the hotel - I would choose the cabins every time - they are lovely! The half board option was good, plenty of food and always chips for the most fussy traveller - I would recommend the reindeer stew, a good hearty meal after a day on the slopes! The hotel is frequented at the weekend by many Finnish people who come mainly for the ballroom dancing - what is better, they do it in the daytime too with their ski boots on which is very entertaining to watch!! We tended to go out in the evening after our meal, mainly to Jules bar were we enjoyed many a fishuu and mintuu and of course lapin kulta a lovely finnish beer. This was mainly because during the week the bar was very quiet and then packed at the weekend! Staff are wonderful and helpful and we definately prefer this side of the lake of the resort. We love Yllas - and so will you - I promise!!

Room Tip: Choose the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaslompolo
0.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#4 of 5 in Akaslompolo
176 reviews
21.5 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#2 of 8 in Levi
681 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
21.7 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
0.8 mi away
Hotel YllasHumina
Hotel YllasHumina
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Akashotelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Akashotelli

Address: Aekaesentie 10, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Price Range: $144 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Akashotelli 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lapland Hotel Akashotelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Akaslompolo
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli Finland/Akaslompolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing