We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 4 days stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice 4 days stay.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of December. We booked B/B online all that worked out ok.

We arrived by car from Kittilia airport and no problem checking in at once. Free car parking is available very close to the room.

Our room was close to the reception. The room was basic (as in most parts of Lapland) and somewhat small but when the temperature is -20C one worries more about the heating than the size of the room :-)

Breakfast was good and included a large selection. The dining room has a great Lapland atmosphere.

The staff and service were friendly.

Just outside the hotel is a regular bus transport to the ski slopes.
From a few minutes drive from the hotel we took a Husky and a Reindeer safaries which were very exiting!

We also visitied Santa’s House and got to have an interesting talk with him...

All in all the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    99
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
131
62
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed for a week in February 2011 in the Yllas Log Cabins ( Yllasniesta ) but took the half board option at Akas Hotel. So glad we did as not many other places to eat out nearby. We found the Akas staff very friendly and the whole place had a very relaxed feel. The food very excellent, hot and plenty of it, just help yourself. Lots of choice at breakfast and evening meal. We especially liked the waffles in the morning with berrys and yogurt. Inghams reps also at hotel on a regular basis if you need them. In all 100% happy with the whole experience, log cabins, food at hotel, resort, trips etc. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Please note - check temperatures before you travel as when we were there, temps were between -20 and -38. We had hired thermal suits and boots and would recommend these as normal clothing would not have been enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Basically it's about the service - it's horrible. On check-in at least one of two apartments missed the following: towels, firewood, "welcome" gift, some tableware. They are not doing the cleaning. We were told to put gargbage bags outside near the door, but they were there for almost a week! Reception refused to help in some minor things we needed from hotel. Bad, bad, bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed a week with FirstChoice - in one the apartments. The apartments are generously proportioned, very well kitted out and designed, the wood burner and sauna were both lovely indulgences (apartment was toasty anyway, so the fire was pure luxury).
Hotel food was buffet style, but good quality, tasty, varied and abundant, we felt very well looked after.
Improvements? Hotel could provide more information in the rooms (eg where to stock up on more logs for the burner - answer the wood shed in the car park, supermarket times, local maps, etc etc) and other top tips, but finding things out added to the adventure. The staff at reception were very helpful when asked though.
Can recommend sledging home from the nearby ski area - much laughter.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

travelled with first choice to snow elf and had an amazing rep starlight liam who went out of his way to make the holiday great. the hotel was lovely and warm and comfortable - you can also stay in apartments around the hotel grounds but staying in the hotel meant not having to put on snow suits everytime you wanted to go for a drink/something to eat. the pool was very nice we had it all to ourselves - people say its cold but once in fine and probably feels cold to start as hotel so warm and cosy. Rooms warm and comfortable. food in restaurant set 3 course each lunch and dinner though you help yourselves to waht you want along with plenty of salads and breadsand each day also chips and and a childrens option eg fishfingers/burgers. Our daughter celebrated her 3rd birthday there and our rep organised with the chef to make her a cake -it was amazing! snow suits, boots, balaclava, thick socks(to wear over your own) and gloves were provided - you just need your own thermals and hats - we never felt the cold and our 3 year old was very warm and happy and loved it. we did reindeer excursion - drink hot beey juice around a fire learn about the reindeer, feed them then go for a magical reindeer sleigh ride through open snow fields and snow covered forests and the elfs adventure at the snowhotel - a must for kids and adults - you get to see the amazing snow hotel and ice bar then the kids make decorations with elves, go on the ice slides - try mini snowmobiling, mini skiing and snow monile sleigh rides - also had taster husky rides and staster snowmobile rides. Christmas day went to santas workshop met santa - he was lovely and kept coming out between visits to meet the kids and see what they were up to, we decorated xmas cookies, did tobbaganning with the elves and played football on the frozen lake. The gala dinner was had at the sister hotel the snow princess - we were not too sure but it was an amazing night and the reps made it fun for the children they were face painting and put on a childrens disco and there were quizzes for the adults - you are coach driven 2minutes down the road and back again at the end of the night and had a finale of fireworks. Snow elf alot more relaxed than snow princess - which has a more holiday camp feel as has about 6reps there to our one at the snow elf - though most of people at our hotel had children with them temperature ranged from -17c to -26c but because of the layers you wear you just don't feel the cold and inside the hotels its very warm. An amzing trip and snow elf through firstchoice very recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scalesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We have just got back from a two week skiing trip to Yllas in Finland. We stayed in the grounds of the Akas hotel in a 'log' cabin but took the half board option at the hotel. The cabins were lovely we had plenty of room, dishwasher, washing machine, sauna and a tv with a video (we'd taken dvds!). The food in the hotel was okay - nothing to get excited about but edible and the buffet and resturant were clean. There probably wasn't a great deal to offer children who aren't adventurous (even ours who usually eat anything weren't too impressed). The drinks were really expensive 5.5 Euros for 0.4 litre of beer and 8.6 Euros for a bottle of cider. The supermarket was obviously cheaper and if you were bothered to you could recycle your bottles and get money back to spend in the supermarket. (There is a machine at the supermarket and each bottle has the amount printed on it that you get back if you recycle).

The skiing was not so great in the first week 12th Dec - 18th as it was apparently low season and there were hardly any runs open. However, the second week was better as they opened more of the slopes and there were some nice linked runs - it looks like it'd be really good when all of the runs open and the 2 ski resorts are linked but I don't think that happens until nearer February which we were disappointed about as there was no mention of this in the brochure from Inghams so we had been expecting to have more available to us. We did talk to Ingham reps about this but to say they were unhelpful and un interested is an understatement!! The food at the ski slopes was very nice but also really expensive 11 Euros for burger and chips!!! I started smuggling food in but the rest of the family weren't quite so tight so we spent a fortune there too!! The slopes are very quiet and there is never a queue for a ski lift which I loved.

Inghams though........ really not great - they were often not around to be found and when they were there they were aloof - they didn't put themselves out at all to speak to their customers and were even a bit hostile if people had issues about aspects of their holiday! This was in contrast to the first choice reps there who were working really hard to make sure everyone had a great time. My boys had a snow board lesson and the teaching was great - ski school also looked very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

travelled here over xmas 2010. got an amazing price and was technicaly our honeymoon so went for it.
the hotel itself was nice, pretty basic rooms, room was ok however they are restricted over there hence the weather, however were not fussy so we ate very well indeed. The was little bar and pool table, also a night club. The saunas were nice after hard day in the snow. there was a pool but it was cold.
We went on a first choice package everything was well organized and we had a lovely elf to look after us. even though we had no kids it was amazing. We went husky riding xmas day and also night snow mobiling-adults only. nigt snowmobiling was terrifiy hanging off the bad so do it if your a thrill seaker, my hubby loved it. the trips are very expensive but well worth it. its once in a lifetime. when we have kids we'll be bk there. proper snow.
they provide all the gear inc scarfs and gloves etc so you hardly need anything of your own , just thermals. we got thermals from go outdoors cheap enough. layer up its bloody cold- the suits are great at keeping you warm.
enjoy book and dont look bk!
the snow princess was more family think they may have had a kids club. but no pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laplandsnowflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaslompolo
21.5 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
164 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
21.7 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
1.0 mi away
Hotel Seita
Hotel Seita
#4 of 5 in Akaslompolo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Akashotelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Akashotelli

Property: Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Address: Aekaesentie 10, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Akashotelli 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lapland Hotel Akashotelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Akaslompolo
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli Finland/Akaslompolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing