We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Buffet”

Ravintola Yllaskaltio
Ranked #17 of 18 Restaurants in Akaslompolo
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 26, 2018

This hotel offers a buffet dinner. It's not cheap, but offers plenty of very good food, and very welcoming and helpful staff. After a long journey from the UK we got off the bus, asked the very helpful lady at reception if we could leave our luggage in the locked up luggage room and go up to the buffet. It's great just to be able to go in and grab what you like. The food varies from day to day, so may not be to your liking every time. However being a buffet you can try something before you decide. Then you can enjoy a really hearty meal. This may not be the most romantic place, but it is very relaxing and you can get a filling meal of good quality. Not to be over looked, especially if you are really hungry.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 104t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

First esxperience in Lapoland and it ia good enough considering this was the first place we went after a long 7h flight.

Nice buffet with some typical dishes. Salmon was especiallya good.

Best thing was the service though: extremely kind and cheerful.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank lobacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2015

The a la Carte here was very good, and the traditional Finnish buffet for 24 euros was excellent . The view is very pleasant, although the hotel is a little dated.The staff offer excellent service are all really helpful and very friendly. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank 104t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Food was good and there was lot of local things in buffet. Quite expencive but worth of visiting... what a scenery

Date of visit: May 2014
1  Thank Eerik01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have visited Restaurant Ylläskaltio multiple times when in Ylläs and in the past always been happy with the food. This year in March was our first disappointing visit to this place. We went for buffet dinner with a theme of genuine tastes of Lapland from the lakes and wilderness. There were hardly anything genuine Lappish and we were not impressed by the quality of the dishes. Quality would maybe compare with standard buffet in the gas station restaurant chains in Finland, but price at Ylläskaltio is 3-4 times more than the gas station buffet price. Unfortunately this was probably our last visit in this restaurant.

Thank PikkuMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Yllaskaltio also viewed

Akaslompolo, Lapland
Akaslompolo, Lapland
 

Been to Ravintola Yllaskaltio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing