We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Chateau de Bourron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Bourron
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night in October at the beginning of our honeymoon and it was just amazing. Guy was extremely helpful with us, and him and his assistant even helped us find a place to stay in Lyon. We had dinner that night at the restaurant on the grounds and it was fantastic. We got to briefly walk some of the grounds and the family dog followed us around which was nice. The grounds are beautiful and my only regret is not being able to spend more time exploring them. Highly recommend a visit here, especially if you're looking to fell like royalty!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
31
125
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I spent two comfortable and extremely civilised nights at the Chateau, as we attended the reunion celebrations at a nearby rather well-known business school. The setting is impressive without being overbearing and, for those who like their chateaux to look like the real thing, the Chateau de Bourron is exactly that. Our room was enormous and very comfortable, furnished with a variety of antiques which were a world away from the normal anonymity of hotel interior design. There is complimentary wifi, no mean feat considering the thickness of the masonry walls. Breakfast is suitably civilised with proper furniture, cutlery and everything is just "comme il faut". It may be interrupted by one of the owners' children playing with their toys (quietly) around the tables. In summary, it is very much to our taste but perhaps not to everyone's. For those who like to have positive memories about where they have stayed, rather than to banish those memories as quickly as possible, why don't you give it a try? We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed on our way back from Italy and France so only one night but would like to return. It's only an hour south of Paris and simply charming. We met the Count but not the Countess, he speaks good English, better than our French anyway. The chateau is stunning, beautifully lit outside (he used to be a lighting designer and it shows).

Our hearts sank when we saw there was a function on the night we were there but it did not impact upon us at all. We ate in the restaurant in stable block where again our hearts sank when we were the ony guests on a Thursday evening but we need not have worried not only was the food superb, we did not suffer at all as one can when the kitchen is focussed on a function (it was the same kitchen I checked). The head waiter is married to an English woman and speaks perfect English, he was charming and chatty without ever being a pest. The whole experience was delightful and breakfast the next day had a better than average array of continental breakfast choices including good proscuitto. Our room under the eaves, clearly in the servants old quarters was charming and cosy though the corridor was a bit grotty though this is minor. I suspect the best rooms are on the lower floor and we shall certainly explore this option when we return which we would like to do as part of a Paris weekend, it would be the ideal contrast. Lovely dog too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything nice and very special, except for the signs on the streets and even inside the complex.
Still, employees from the restaurant, who did not speak English, gave wrong information to find out the Hotel Reception.

Other than that, the host family is nice, in the real castle hotel. Great experience. I recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DG_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just magnificent,the sheer size and luxury of all the amenities were superb. The room was beautiful and overlooked the front entrance and garden of the property. Swans swimming in the moat and beautiful outside furnishings to relax.there were even bikes if you wanted to cycle around the dear,quaint little village. The restaurant adjoining the castle was faultless,we had a very special evening,would strongly recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gidget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed n this B&B for one night at the end of our beautiful 10 days trip.
The first glimpse of the chateau was like a dream. Gorgeously kept. Beautiful gardens, and amazing Swans playing in the water. It is true there are a lot family photos which I thought added to the place yet my husband didn't think so. I did enjoy reading the history of the family and how they inherited the castle. The "count" Guy was very pleasent and helped us carry our large and heavy suitcases ( thank God for the elevator ).
It was very helpful by booking the Lovely Restaurant Les PRemise nearby the castle. We only wished he had told us that we could have dressed up as it is a nice elegant place.

We loved the friendly dog!

The breakfast was nice and he came to visit. The only one thing... we wished he took some time to show us around a bit more especially the chapel which it would have been nice to see,
For a "family" castle we felt a family feel was missed. There was more of a 'business' feel to it,
but that may be the French way...

Regardless we enjoyed this chateau, the location was perfect as it is very close to Fontainbleau and we felt we had our own Fontainbleau Castle for one night. Thanks Guy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Chateau de Bourron, and throughly enjoyed our stay. The first glimpse of the chateau (after an 8 hour journey north) was sublime - a quintissential French chateau surrounded by moat and parkland. The bedrooms were huge and majestic, but full of little home touches, such as family photos and books, which made it feel as though we were staying at the home of a very grand old aunt. The chateau's restaurant was closed the night we stayed, so we ate in the village, which was very pleasant. Each room has a very comprehensive folder about the chateau and surrounding attractions, including restaurants, so it was very easy to decide where we wanted to eat. At breakfast the next morning, the Count himself - charm personified and speaking excellent English - served us, and also gave us all sorts of information about the chateau. He even took us to see the little family chapel just outside the main entrance which was fascinating. This place definitely doesn't feel like a hotel, and I'm sure that there are some people who might find the slightly relaxed attitude not to their liking, but we felt we'd discovered a real piece of "la vielle France".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisvuitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourron-Marlotte
4.4 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
698 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
114 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
507 reviews
13.3 mi away
Chateau d'Augerville
Chateau d'Augerville
#1 of 1 in Augerville-la-Riviere
304 reviews
4.2 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bourron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bourron

Property: Chateau de Bourron
Address: 16 avenue Blaise de Montesquiou, 77780 Bourron-Marlotte, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau > Bourron-Marlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourron-Marlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau de Bourron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château de Bourron offers luxury weekend breaks. This luxury bed and breakfast is opened all year round in this elegant, family-owned castle. Within close vicinity of Paris and 7 kilometers from Fontainebleau, this magnificent and elegant private property was built in the early XVIIth century on the location of a feudal fortress. It is a true architectural example of traditional brick and stone style, and flanked by two small pavilions. Nestled in a private 40 hectare estate, it is surrounded by spring-fed moats. Experience the magic of a stay in this charming French historically classified monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Bourron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing