We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Chateau de Bourron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Bourron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything nice and very special, except for the signs on the streets and even inside the complex.
Still, employees from the restaurant, who did not speak English, gave wrong information to find out the Hotel Reception.

Other than that, the host family is nice, in the real castle hotel. Great experience. I recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just magnificent,the sheer size and luxury of all the amenities were superb. The room was beautiful and overlooked the front entrance and garden of the property. Swans swimming in the moat and beautiful outside furnishings to relax.there were even bikes if you wanted to cycle around the dear,quaint little village. The restaurant adjoining the castle was faultless,we had a very special evening,would strongly recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gidget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed n this B&B for one night at the end of our beautiful 10 days trip.
The first glimpse of the chateau was like a dream. Gorgeously kept. Beautiful gardens, and amazing Swans playing in the water. It is true there are a lot family photos which I thought added to the place yet my husband didn't think so. I did enjoy reading the history of the family and how they inherited the castle. The "count" Guy was very pleasent and helped us carry our large and heavy suitcases ( thank God for the elevator ).
It was very helpful by booking the Lovely Restaurant Les PRemise nearby the castle. We only wished he had told us that we could have dressed up as it is a nice elegant place.

We loved the friendly dog!

The breakfast was nice and he came to visit. The only one thing... we wished he took some time to show us around a bit more especially the chapel which it would have been nice to see,
For a "family" castle we felt a family feel was missed. There was more of a 'business' feel to it,
but that may be the French way...

Regardless we enjoyed this chateau, the location was perfect as it is very close to Fontainbleau and we felt we had our own Fontainbleau Castle for one night. Thanks Guy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Chateau de Bourron, and throughly enjoyed our stay. The first glimpse of the chateau (after an 8 hour journey north) was sublime - a quintissential French chateau surrounded by moat and parkland. The bedrooms were huge and majestic, but full of little home touches, such as family photos and books, which made it feel as though we were staying at the home of a very grand old aunt. The chateau's restaurant was closed the night we stayed, so we ate in the village, which was very pleasant. Each room has a very comprehensive folder about the chateau and surrounding attractions, including restaurants, so it was very easy to decide where we wanted to eat. At breakfast the next morning, the Count himself - charm personified and speaking excellent English - served us, and also gave us all sorts of information about the chateau. He even took us to see the little family chapel just outside the main entrance which was fascinating. This place definitely doesn't feel like a hotel, and I'm sure that there are some people who might find the slightly relaxed attitude not to their liking, but we felt we'd discovered a real piece of "la vielle France".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisvuitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of meeting the Count and Countess of Bourron in their lovely chateau. We had spent over 2 weeks touring various Loire chateaus and visiting some (24) of the 66 museum (palaces/castles) historical chateaus located there. Chateau Bourron was our last stop before flying home to Vancouver Canada. For our 3 nights ( june 12, 13, 14, 20012) we had a room which was large, spacious, bright and obviously had been recently updated with a beautiful, new and large bathroom (it was well appointed). We were on the upper floor and there was a small elevator for our extensive luggage. The continental breakfast was good and in the main historical dining room. The Count each morning made a point to make sure we felt welcome. We went half-board (breakfast and dinner with wine pairings were included). Dinner was located on the extensive walled property in one of the outer buildings. The wonderful, delicious and multi-course meals were created by a Michelin-rated chef in a wonderful setting. It was neat to gaze over and see him watching to see if we were enjoying his creations...so good to see someone totally interested...so good.
The Michelin-rated restaurant was closed the first night we were there and the Count phoned to make reservations for us in a local bistro which was delightful. We got a kick out of saying to the maitre de "oh yes Guy (the Count) called and made reservations for us...I am so shallow sometimes. Cuisine at the bistro was excellent as well as the ambiance.

We stayed at 9 chateaus including the Hilton Waldorf Versailles and although all were excellent it was the personal touch at Chateau Challain and Chateau Bourron with the Count and Countess of Bourron that made these 2 Chateaus far above the others and make was want to return. (Chateau Bourron which is near Chateau Fontainebleu we feel is better than Chateau Versailles for sightseeing...no crowds and more French style furniture... and also as a bonus 1/2 hr away from Chateau Bourron is Chateau de Vaux le Vicomte a historical story of financial graf. Louis the 14th visited and was so irked by what he saw, imprisoned the financial minister who owned the chateau and had him thrown in prison. Then used his people to copy and build his new palace...the palace of Versailles. So watch what you show off...!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful old Chateau which has so much history and where the lovely owners are working hard to preserve it and to keep it all in good condition. Our Montgolfier room was beautifully appointed, had a superb bathroom and was very comfortable. It was the central room in the roof space above the entrance so overlooking the impressive approach to the Chateau.

The Count recommended very good local restaurants which we could stroll to. The onsite restaurant in the old stables was a treat one evening although disappointingly (as with most places in France) the chef was not able to provide something interesting for a vegetarian, even with good notice and on what appeared to be a quiet night. A wonderful venue though and great for the meat eaters!

We would certainly visit Chateau de Bourron again and take time to explore and enjoy the parkland which we didn't do this time, partly due to very bad weather and partly due to spending time at nearby Fontainebleau.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Only2FlyingPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A fantastic place to stay for authentic chateau experience. We loved it. Wonderfully warm welcome from the owner who clearly loves living here and sharing his home with others. Definitely go for a stroll around the grounds. It was like being allowed to touch things that you would normally only see in a stately home. Convenience of railway means we will look to stay here the next time we visit Paris. We would also return to the restaurant - what a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Look at the website it gives accurate information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourron-Marlotte
4.4 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
738 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#6 of 12 in Fontainebleau
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
539 reviews
4.2 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
13.3 mi away
Chateau d'Augerville
Chateau d'Augerville
#1 of 1 in Augerville-la-Riviere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bourron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bourron

Address: 16 avenue Blaise de Montesquiou, 77780 Bourron-Marlotte, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau > Bourron-Marlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourron-Marlotte
Price Range: $203 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau de Bourron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château de Bourron offers luxury weekend breaks. This luxury bed and breakfast is opened all year round in this elegant, family-owned castle. Within close vicinity of Paris and 7 kilometers from Fontainebleau, this magnificent and elegant private property was built in the early XVIIth century on the location of a feudal fortress. It is a true architectural example of traditional brick and stone style, and flanked by two small pavilions. Nestled in a private 40 hectare estate, it is surrounded by spring-fed moats. Experience the magic of a stay in this charming French historically classified monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Bourron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing