We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish rooms with a personal touch”
Review of Chateau de Bourron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Bourron
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very stylish rooms with a personal touch”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here one night in December and very much enjoyed it.No need to take your car since it is only a 10 minute walk from the station and easy to reach from Paris by train from Gare de Lyon. There is a very good restaurant at the entrance of the Château as well.
The room had a very nice personal touch and we really liked it We stayed in the "petit roi de Rome" room but we also saw the other rooms and they were each very special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    31
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
31
126
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This was a perfect 2 day break from Paris in late Autumn. I travelled by train which was easily done. Magnificent chateau, very comfortable rooms, charming and friendly owners - Guy and Estrella - and a wonderful setting in forested grounds. I would love to go back - this time to visit Vaux le Vicomte when it's open and would hire a car to do that. Am already recommending Chateau de Bourron to friends back in Sydney.

Julie L

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Drive through code locked gates into the park of this wonderful house and you will be met by the owners and shown to your superb room. Spent five peaceful nights here, strolled in the park, tried to feed the carp in the moat, but they weren't nibbling. Great place for day trips into the forest and the ancient villages on the Loinge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were a family of 4 looking for an "old place to stay" on the way to the Loire Valley after a long flight from JFK. This Chateau was 1 1/2 hours south of Paris by rental car (with traffic). The entrance to the chateau is breathtaking, and we were met by Guy de Cordon, the owner of the Chateau, who took us on a tour and assisted with baggage (thank God for the mini elevator).
We had two rooms on the top floor: Petit Roi de Rome and Vogue. These rooms are apparently the newest ones to be restored, are on the fourth floor, and are not mentioned on the website (and are also cheaper than the ones quotes on the website). No details were overlooked in these rooms! There were safes in each room, hidden built in closets in the eves, and shower stalls in each bathroom (which were heavenly). Vogue also had a clawfoot tub, perfect for bathing our child. Breakfast was a little pricey at 15 euros with our US dollar conversion rate at the time, but it added to the ambience of the trip. The china was handpainted Limoges for the Chateau! The chateau has wifi, and you are given a key with keyfob to enter through the gates at anytime throughout your stay. It was such a relief to find a beautiful historic chateau to stay in that doesn't discourage children, and where the owner spoke English!
During our stay, we traveled 10 minutes to the Chateau of Fontainebleau the first day, and ate in La Taverna (on the main street in town). The next day we traveled about 1 hour to Vaux-Le-Vicomte. On our final day we went to the town of Provins (a medieval city that has many activities on the weekends like jousting and falconry in season), as well as the town of Moret sur Loing (a medieval walled city with gates and half timbered houses crossed by a river; simply gorgeous; try the barley sugar candies!). I can't recommend the locations we visited, as well as Chateau de Bourron more highly. We hope that if we ever have the opportunity to return to France, that we'll be able to return!

Room Tip: Don't get discouraged by only seeing select rooms on the website; inquire via the website like w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in May and we loved it. The chateau has been painstakingly and lovingly restored to retain its original character and the room was tastefully decorated with fabulous views of the grounds. However, what really made the stay special for us was the genuine hospitality of Guy and Estrella who instantly made you feel welcome at their beautiful home. The only thing we were disappointed by is that we didn't have time to sample the private wine collection which is available for guests to order from their rooms -- so we will definitely be back! The chateau is ideally located for any of the Fontainebleau attractions and is within easy striking distance of Paris. A lovely place to unwind.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineGrl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Lovely chateau and grounds in the charming village of Bourron. 
We had a pleasant 2-night stay here on the tail end of a recent trip to France during which we stayed at other similar venues. At Bourron, our en suite bathroom with giant tub and separate shower and bedroom were both exquisitely decorated, spotless and comfortable. The details didn't go unnoticed by me, such as the fluffy Yves Delormes bath linens, and personalized Limoges china with the stairway of the chateau painted on, for example. The owner spoke English, was friendly and accommodating - bringing us ice in a champagne bucket right away (sounds silly, but sometimes ice can be hard to come by in Europe) and recommending dinner options, including a local Bistrot which served a delicious dinner and desert. The Chateau also has its own restaurant on the grounds which was fully booked. We made our room reservation literally 1 hour before we arrived, so missing out on their dinner was our own fault. The location of the chateau is in a somewhat quiet, country and village setting, about an hour from Paris by car.

Room Tip: Newest room on the 3rd floor has a great view, and an Internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SityCatTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Nyack NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Thouroughly enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely moated 16th-17tth cent. chateau. Beautiful grounds , spacious rooms with high ceilings and period furnishings. If you are looking for ambience- this is the place to step back in time. The proprieteurs, who are fluent in English were most helpful. On our first evening, when the excellent "Les Premises" was closed the owner drove us to a lovely restaurant in Bourron "Bistrot Du Broc" and picked us up after our meal. (We generally taxi through Europe and it was late to get a taxi.)

Room Tip: Very quiet- you will only hear the birds chirping
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllenUpperNyackNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourron-Marlotte
4.4 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
707 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
118 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Chateau d'Augerville
Chateau d'Augerville
#1 of 1 in Augerville-la-Riviere
314 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
515 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bourron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bourron

Property: Chateau de Bourron
Address: 16 avenue Blaise de Montesquiou, 77780 Bourron-Marlotte, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau > Bourron-Marlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourron-Marlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau de Bourron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château de Bourron offers luxury weekend breaks. This luxury bed and breakfast is opened all year round in this elegant, family-owned castle. Within close vicinity of Paris and 7 kilometers from Fontainebleau, this magnificent and elegant private property was built in the early XVIIth century on the location of a feudal fortress. It is a true architectural example of traditional brick and stone style, and flanked by two small pavilions. Nestled in a private 40 hectare estate, it is surrounded by spring-fed moats. Experience the magic of a stay in this charming French historically classified monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Bourron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing