We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chateau de Chillon
from $15.00
More Info
from $138.90
More Info
from $368.30
More Info
from $213.35
More Info
Reviews (4,027)
Filter reviews
4,027 results
Traveler rating
2,758
1,104
142
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,758
1,104
142
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide the bus medieval castle swiss travel pass nice castle lord byron entrance fee own pace two hours chateau rooms lake switzerland stairs tower shore poem
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 4,027 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2019 via mobile

This 1000-years castle is really unique and worth visiting if you are in the area. They provide a very good audio guide in various languages for 6 CHF per person, so for a family of 3 you will pay 18 franks. However, you can buy exactly the same audio guide in Appstore for 3 CHF and share it with the family, so your total costs will be 3 franks only. Just don’t forget your headphones! Enjoy!

2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

Looks small from outside but plenty of rooms/places to explore and you might get lost :) We are on Swiss Travel Pass, so, the entrance is free. A 2km walking distance from our hotel but worth it. Plenty of views for photo taking and learned the history. Don't forget to get some souvenirs as you might not be able to get it elsewhere later.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

We loved it, it was an amazing experience and we learned a lot. Audioguides were clear and really informative.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Martind3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

Took the train from Lausanne, got off at Montreaux and walked the 40 minutes along the lake to the chateau - what a lovely start on a beautiful day! The views of the mountains across the lake, the colorful landscapes along the path - really a treat to set your expectations. It's all flat - an easy, beautiful walk. We caught the train right outside Chillon for the return trip. The chateau is so much bigger than it looks from the outside, and so well restored. We were glad we got the audio guides, as it took us through in the right direction, and I know we saw rooms and places we would have missed if we were just walking through. There were good written guides throughout; the audio guides had bonus info. We went through in early November right after opening on a Monday, and it was pretty slow. I don't think it would be nearly as enjoyable if it was crowded. Plus there are several narrow passages (and the steps to the top of the Keep for amazing views!). We only spent two hours - there are lots of steps and it can be a bit hard on the knees if that's an issue for you. Had no idea that Lord Byron had written a poem The Prisoner of Chillon - his "autograph" is even carved near where the prisoner was kept. Highly recommend coming out here to see Chillon.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info C, Front Office Manager at Chateau de Chillon, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2019

Thank you for your so kind message.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed visiting Chillon!
Kind regards,

Chillon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our trip! It takes between 2-3 hours to see it all and the town of Montreux nearby is lovely

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Cammar2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews