We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great return visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cacabelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa de Cacabelos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cacabelos
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A great return visit”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for a second visit in April for four nights. The only place to stay in on near Cacabelos. Our stay as previously was made all the more special by the wonderfully friendly and attentive staff. Looking forward to a return visit already.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueuap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
35
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. A very welcome respite after a hot day of walking. Very friendly staff, very spacious clean room. Close to restaurants, right on the trail out of town. Nice breakfast. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unckyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

While walking the Camino de Santiago we had no place to stay in Cacabelos. As we approached town we saw a large billboard for the Villa Cacabelos.".New..Accommodating...buffet breakfast..convenient location... etc". Took a risk and deviated from the Camino (the Hotel is actually about 100 meters from the Camino but one has to leave the Camino and follow some wandering diagonal streets to find the place when coming from the west) Very pilgrim friendly. German owned or at least managed.. little English spoken, I have little Spanish but the Desk Clerk and I could converse in German. Large, very modern rooms (think Danish modern). Small lobby cafe/bar. Short walk to some of the world class restaurants in Cacabelos (Desk clerk recommended the Apostel which was very good and reasonably priced). We evidently had shared the hotel with a German hiking club on tour but did not notice them until the breakfast the next day. Breakfast was Northern European...lots of meat and cheese as well as eggs, pastry, and specialty coffees and teas. Probably the best breakfast on our entire Camino experience.This was also one of the best values for what one got for what one paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vulch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Trout Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are modern, roomy and clean. The tub was what my sore muscles needed. The included Breakfast was extensive, fresh, and tastey...
It offered a variety of ham, bread, boiled eggs, juice, and coffee.
It fueled me for the day.
This is what a tired Pilgrim needs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed there for nearly two weeks on a family visit. A very comfortable modern well appointed hotel with excellent bedrooms.The very friendly helpful and considerate staff made our stay even more pleasing. Hotel is very well located at the centre of this very attractive small town. If you are in the area this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueuap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is our third visit in three years and not the last, we will be back!
Luis, the owner and manager, Marga and Henera, the receptionists, are the first contacts when you walk into the foyer and the welcome is always friendly, whoever you talk to. Where do you start? - the greetings, the booking-in, the room or the grand buffet breakfast?
We stay there because my husband worked in Ponferrada about twenty years ago and we visit friends that he made whilst working there and Cacabelos is handy for the bus, around 1.50 Euros each way (Cacabelos to Ponferrada) and the Bodegas, Cafes & Restaurants are good - a bonus is that the village/town (expanding all the time) is on the Camino de Santiago (French path). This hotel ticks all the boxes for us - any problems are sorted immediately. There is a small bar - crowded on televised football nights but cosy for a drink or two. The bedrooms are decently sized and the showers are just the job in the morning for invigorating the blood circulation. The buffet breakfast is sufficient for the heartiest of appetites - even for vegetarians.
If you arrive by car or motorcycle, there is outside parking or underground parking available - with a lift which accesses the u/g park.
At times there are coach parties, so you may want to book ahead - you will not be disappointed, believe me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
296 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good restaurant -- ooh, tender beef. Rooms need better light. And refrigerator needs to be vented so the heat is not trapped inside the box. But all in all a pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cacabelos
4.5 mi away
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
Parador de Villafranca del Bierz...
#1 of 2 in Villafranca del Bierzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.0 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#2 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Celuisma Ponferrada
Hotel Celuisma Ponferrada
#6 of 15 in Ponferrada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
El Tiempo Recobrado
El Tiempo Recobrado
#1 of 1 in Carracedelo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Mencia
Villa Mencia
#1 of 1 in Corullon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Siglo XIX
Hostal Siglo XIX
#1 of 1 in Cacabelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de Cacabelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de Cacabelos

Property: Hotel Villa de Cacabelos
Address: Avenida Constitucion n 012 | Cacabelos, 24540 Cacabelos, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Cacabelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cacabelos
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing