We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borrell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Borrell
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Olot
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Olot, and no matter how small this town may seem, it is nice to be within a two minutes' walk from great dining choices. The room was standard, but impeccably clean - spotless! - and the staff was friendly and helpful (gave us hot water to make our own tea, patiently spoke Spanish to us, allowed us to borrow umbrellas as it was pouring rain). I also liked our big big window in the room. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
17
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my first night in a hotel outside of one of Spain's big cities, and it just shows what good value things are outside of big cities.

The hotel rooms were comfortable with a large bath, the breakfast was great value with lots of variety (even cakes and chocolate), and all of the staff spoke good English and were very friendly. The hotel is just off the main road into town, but it is quiet. We didn't use the hotel car park (owing to stories read about it being a tight squeeze getting into it, and it is indeed rather a strange arrangement), instead there are spaces on the back street to use which are free.

Would go again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Borrell for two nights (4th to 6th May) though I had messed our booking up - I had booked 3rd to 5th of May by mistake through Booking.com. The hotel staff were very understanding and we ended up only paying for the two nights we stayed

The hotel was extremely nice with a very clean and modern room and although we did not take breakfast there we found the facilities and parking to be very good. the car park is next to the hotel down a steep bank but very accessible. There was traffic noise on the Monday morning but hey! you're in a town centre! And you're very close to many restaurants and bars. We particularly enjoyed the walk up to the volcano and the hotel staff were once again very helpful with information about where to go. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Olot

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here one night before touring the volcanoes near Olot. Found the reception friendly and efficient, room was recently renovated and spotless. WiFi good.

Located close to the old town for restaurants and for the hike up Montsacopa volcano.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SixContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

5 minutes away from Plaça Catalunya, 10 minutes from the church and pedestrian streets. Nice, clean and comfy rooms. Good value for money. The staff was very helpful. There is a little private car park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nice place to stay if you need to sleep in Olot. Right in the center of town. Rooms are clean, good beds and nice staff. Our room was stuffy though because air didn't work. Fixing it in the morning wasn't a good solution as we are leaving, but I'd still recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just cannot agree with the previous review, that is NOT my experience of Borrell and this is my third stay. Accordingly, you would be well advised to rely on my review.
I have never had any problems here at all.
They have: very good off street parking, great staff, and very good service:
They: know the local area and answered all our questions.
asked if we wanted additional serves or something else at breakfast.
they called cabs on at least 3 occasions ( nada/free)
they have bus timetable info on tap.
room spotless, cleaned every day....
There is also a very nice/ efficient ( English Speaking) Catalan lady (young) on reception.
It is an excellent place to stay. I have been to Spain 15 times I know a BIT.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalanvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olot
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Olot
Hotel Riu Olot
#3 of 6 in Olot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 6 in Olot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Can Blanc
Can Blanc
#2 of 6 in Olot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Els Amolls Habitacions
1.4 mi away
Les Cols Pavellons
4.2 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borrell

Property: Hotel Borrell
Address: Notari Nonet Escubos 8, 17800, Olot, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Olot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Olot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borrell 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Borrell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borrell Spain/Olot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing