We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Joan Despi
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Ferriby
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in quiet area”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose the hotel based on value for money and its quiet surroundings. We stayed as a family of 3 for 4 nights flying from East Midlands. Got the bus from the airport L77 for 6 euros virtually to the door of the hotel. Check in was smooth and the staff spoke English. Our room was a queen bed & single bed with ample room, the air con was very good as the temperature was 90 degrees for much of our stay. The tv had BBC1 & ITV which was handy as there is not much to do at night. There is a big screen in the bar for football matches. We travelled into Barca by tram & metro using T10 cards. It took between 45 mins and an hour to get to The Ramblas which is a good starting point each day.
We had a City break deal which included breakfast which was very filling with a good choice of hot food and continental options. Their are two hot drink machines, take your own tea bags!
We asked for a kettle in our room and this was provided and there is a supermarket 10 mins walk from the hotel.
The room was pretty quiet until one night when the room above had noisy guests but a bang on the ceiling stopped the noise.
Choose this hotel if on a budget its a good standard without breaking the bank just be prepared really to go out & stay out and come back after your evening meal. We always felt safe using the metro & tram even when coming back late from the Magic Fountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferribytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    423
    171
    43
    20
See reviews for
452
148
34
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The global service was adequate. I was sorry that the price of overnight parking was not included. As such a location, travellers generally come by car.
Also, service was extremely slow at the restaurant, and when I commented on it, the manager said that it was due to lack of staff.
The hotel manager and staff were very courteous, and beyond that, the hotel was very adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel itself is very established and rooms are comfortable but it is very far from the city center and it would take a minimum of 35 minutes to travel from the hotel to the center. The hotel's website says that its 8km away from the city center but it was way more and the traveling made our holiday less enjoyable. The breakfast was really good but to our surprise it isn't part of the holiday package. Also the swimming pool wasn't to a 4 star quality as it is very small. Overall if you don't mind traveling quite a bit to the center, the hotel is comfortable and satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_0pini0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we stayed here in july 2010. service was great. they smile alot!! very informative and helpful. the receptionist told us the 'go-to' spots in barcelona. the metro is jus 5 minutes walk and it took us straight into cataluna. u definitely can't get lost. we had a really nice time. i would stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the hill to the north gives a view of the city if you're on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A bit too far away from the city centre but good tramline & tube connection make up for this. Taxi from La Rambla back to the hotel cost less than 20 EUR. Indoor parking with locked doors will keep your precious motor untouchable. As always, Novotel provides value for money, even though I have seen better 4 star hotels. If travelling on a budget again, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is a good half an hour from the city centre on public transport, but the transport is easy to use, cheap and regular. There is no difficulty in getting back from the city until well after midnight. The rooms are to a good standard, as expected for a Novotel, and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful and speak English and French to a good standard. Bar and restaurant staff are also helpful and pleasant. The pool was working fine whilst we were there - no complaints. The buffet breakfast is fresh,comprehensive and good value for 15 euros per head.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This Novotel is a lovely hotel, it's only downside being the distance from the city centre.
The pool was open when we were there (18th-21st June) but unfortunately we didn't have time to have a splash. We only ate at the hotel the night we arrived and the caesar salad is highly recommended. The girl on reception the night we arrived was lovely, I think her name was Minar.
We found all the staff, from reception to restaurant to bar staff and the cleaners very pleasant.
The bible for getting around is the review written by 'Justmekev'! The L77 is highly recommended for getting to and from the airport (if on an Easyjet flight note that you depart from Terminal 2!)
Barcelona is a beautiful city with so much to see & do .......St Joseph's market for freshly cooked seafood & fruit!! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Joan Despi
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Poblenou
Hesperia Sant Joan
Hesperia Sant Joan
#201 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#158 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Porta Barcelona
#2 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Sercotel Barcelona Gate Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sant Joan Despi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi

Property: Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi
Address: Carrer de la TV3, 2, 08970 Sant Joan Despi, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Joan Despi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Joan Despi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 161 airconditioned and soundproofed rooms. Located next to the AP2 B23 motorway, 3 km outside of Barcelona and the Avenida Diagonal, it is easily accessible on the T3 tram line (at Sant Marti de l Erm) and on bus routes 78 and 157 as well being just 15 km from the airport. The hotel features the Claravia restaurant, a bar, meeting rooms, play area for children, outdoor swimming pool, a terrace area, private parking and WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi Hotel Sant Joan Despi
Novotel Sant Joan Despi
Sant Joan Despi Novotel
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing