We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best hotel near airport”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Room clean--but small-- with nice size bathroom---average amenities. Hotel restaurant had a nice menu and the food was good. --Breakfast buffet was average---Free shuttle to the airport a plus---
Ask for a room on a high floor in a quiet location-

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for you kind comments about our hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    494
    240
    85
    40
See reviews for
162
522
114
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed there on the night of June 9th. The hotel is situated in a residential area close to the airport. There are plenty of warnings about security and illegal parking. My read is that they do not have any sort of security. The hotel is poorly staffed. There were long lines to check-in and check-out and they make no effort to accommodate you in any way. This hotel is a cash cow for whomever owns the hotel. They put little or no effort into properly trained staff, adequate staffing levels, room maintenance and food services. The room are okay but they smell strongly of smoke. The promised shuttle service is on a first come-first serve basis. If your time slot is filled you have to either book thirty minutes earlier or later. Breakfast is lousy and the orange juice is not even real.

Here is the dishonest part. During check-out they quoted me a bill in euros. When I paid with my credit card they charged me in dollars. I asked the woman at the front desk why the dollar amount did not coincide with the current exchange rate and she said" that rate is the rate quoted by your credit card company." Being that I was in hurry, I reluctantly signed my receipt. Well, upon closer inspection, the receipt indicates that I have a choice in the currency by which I can pay my bill. Therefore, should I have known better and been given the choice, I could have paid for my bill in euros and saved over 5 euros. So this is what the hotel is doing, in essence they have two businesses, One is the hotel business and the other is the currency exchange business. This hotel either trains staff to charge in a different currency or the staff is so poorly trained that they believe my bank set the exchange rate. I believe the staff is required to charge in a different currency to make extra money. I have traveled to over sixty countries and stayed at many hotels and I have never encountered this problem. This hotel is STEALING from people under the guise of giving people a choice. There was never a choice offered and when I questioned the staff they intentionally mislead me. They know exactly what they are doing.

I suggest that you avoid this hotel. Dishonesty should not be rewarded and if they are ready to steal from you on an exchange rate, what else are they willing to do. As I indicated earlier, I do not think this is a very safe hotel and that should be enough to keep you away. You have been warned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_C58120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not feel at home in our hotel.

Obviously we do not try to mislead our customers.

All our invoices are quoted in euros. It is the bank which charge the commisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here a night before a cruise from Barcelona. They have a pick up from the airport and a shuttle to the cruise terminal. The hotel is very well located is clean modern and has everything you need for a very comfortable stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and there are sufficient local amenities nearby in terms of shops eating places and things to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments !

Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us !

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a find!!! We arranged a booking, whereby the Hotel picked us up at Barcelona Airport, and, the following morning, dropped us off at our cruise ship - with a fine buffet breakfast in between. Everything was excellent. If you get a chance, go for a walk in the pleasant neighbourhood, where amongst other things, you will find many Korean souvenir shops (who knew!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buznog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Nice to hear that you found everything perfect !

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here one nioghr before an early morning flight to the US. Good corner room on the 6ht (top) floor - room was immaculate, well maintained, and very quite. Heavy dity shades and drapes for room darkening.
Front desk staff was very helpful and waived the parking charge.
Less than 10 minutes to the airport if there is no traffic, and a 20 ro 25 euto cab ride into central Barcelona on a Saturday night. Excellent vaule for a one night stay efore a flight..
Only negatives were (1) hotel is somewhat hard to find as few of the streets in the neioghborhood have road street signs and the name on the top of the hotel is not quite the current name (but their vans were parked in fornt) and (2) the parking garage in the basement is very tight for a suv or larger vehicle, was largely in darkness, and the door to the elevator was not well marked. Poses some safety issues.

Room Tip: High floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcellomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thano you very much for your kind comments about our hotel and staff members !

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night. We travelled around Spain for a few weeks and had one last day to spend in Barcelona before heading back to Canada. We arrived around noon from Malaga. Phoned the hotel. The free shuttle arrived at the airport a few minutes later and we are at the hotel within 20 minutes of calling the hotel (I think it runs every 30 minutes). We had no problem getting an early check-in at around noon. The room was clean, with flat screen TV and comfortable beds. We walked less than 10 minutes to the train station and the train took about 15 minutes to get right into the heart of all the action in Barcelona.

They serve a full hot breakfast buffet with a solid selection of everything from pastries to fruits and various quiches and eggs, bacon etc. The price was $12 euros. Not a bargain, but there aren't really any alternatives near by the hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay closer to the airport. But if you have a few days to spend in Barcelona, stay in the city closer to Plaza Catulunya & The Ramblas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our propertry and staff members.

Hope to see you soon back in Barcelona !

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clichy, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

In theory this hotel offers a good value on their rates with breakfast and airport shuttle!

We tried to contact the hotel in advance with our flight details, but never recieved an answer and therefore had to take a taxi from the airport. We mentioned this for the front desk, but little to no interest in handling the issue! Only reason I'm mentioning this in my post is because I've seen its been a issue and travelers should be aware of this!

Lobby and bar area rather depressive and the guests sitting around seemed to have been influenced by the atmosphere!

The rooms have seen better days as furniture have had some good use and matress quite hard! No duvets in room!

Breakfast was not impressive and probably been out a while: do not pay extra and if you need a snack there is a supermarket on the other side of the street!

Transfer back to the airport worked out well.

In my honest opinion I believe this might have been a good hotel back in the time, but because of location have a steady stream of guests and therefore is not willing to or don't need to upgrade rooms or service!

We will book another hotel next time we need an airport hotel in Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank espengc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel

It is not necessary to contact the hotel in advance to book the shuttle service, as it is mentioned in your reservation. Custumers must call us at +34 93 378 83 33 upon arrival at Barcelona Airport.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Prat de Llobregat
0.8 mi away
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
#2 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
2,070 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
1.3 mi away
Tryp Barcelona Aeropuerto Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Aeropuerto Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Air Rooms Barcelona Airport by Premium Traveller
Air Rooms Barcelona Airport by P...
#4 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
184 reviews
2.0 mi away
FrontAir Congress
FrontAir Congress
#3 of 3 in Sant Boi de Llobregat
1,103 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat

Property: Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Address: Av. Remolar, 46, 08820 El Prat de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > El Prat de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Prat de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel offers a free shuttle to Barcelona's El Prat Airport, located 4 km away. It offers a sauna, gym, indoor pool and rooms with free Wi-Fi, kettle and satellite TV. The stylish, air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Ciutat del Prat feature modern decor and a flat-screen TV.The hotel's classic-style Sinfonia Restaurant offers fresh Mediterranean food. There is also a cafe-bar where you can get a snack or a drink. Barcelona's Fira Congress Centre is only 4 Subway Stops away from the hotel. El Prat de Llobregat Train Station and Subway is just 800 metres walk from the hotel, connecting you also with central Barcelona in under 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Ciutat Del Prat Barcelona
Salles Hotel Ciutat Del Prat Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing