We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from dowtown Barcelona and on a steep hill”
Review of Abba Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abba Garden Hotel
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is decent to look at, with a few extra ammentities such as swimming pool, toiletries, but the location isn't good for two reasons. One it is far away from town, and two it's a walk up a steep hill either from the bus dropoff or the metro. If you decide to stay, take the metro into town and back to the hotel as the bus can be an hour ride, which is hot and for much of the distance, you'll be standing. The metro is faster, and more comfortable. To get to the hotel by public transport, you will have a long steep walk up the hill. While the rooms are fairly decent in size and are fairly well decorated, it's not worth the price to stay there. Food is ok, but not great - this includes breakfast. There is internet access, and if you don't have your own computer, you can use theirs for a price. The refrigerator is well stocked, there are lots of small sample soaps, shampoos, shower caps, From what I can see the hotel is clean with some qualitity materials used to build this. My suggestion, if staying in downtown Barcelona doesn't appeal due to the inflated price and smaller size of the hotel rooms - take your time and check out the options. This hotel is too far from the city center for the average traveler. I have no desire to spend most of my day traveling from and back to the hotel. Check out your options before deciding to book this hotel. There are many fine hotels and bed and breakfasts at reasonable rates if you look for them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cana1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Abba Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 436 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is far away from the city. taxis are not cheap ~ 43 Euros per round trip. The guy at the reception was very unfriendly and make fun of me when I asked a question. The recepcionist was untrained with regard to customer service. Don't go to that hotel find a hotel near the center. you will save money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pzela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We've just got back from a two night stay at this hotel which we booked through Secret Escapes and included tickets to the football. The hotel was really clean and comfortable, the people on Reception were very helpful on several occasions and gave us some tips on where to go and how to get there which proved to be useful. The breakfast was exceptionally good with lots of choice. One downside was possibly the location as it's outside the city and an uphill walk from the nearest metro station. This was not a problem for us but for someone less mobile it could prove difficult. It was however close to the football stadium which was good. One negative for me was that we got back from the football at 11.30 and it was fairly cold and had rained for most of the game so we were in desperate need of a coffee, however the bar was closed so I asked at Reception but was told there was no way I could get a cup of coffee. I really think a hotel of this standard could at least supply a hot drink. Despite that I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAT190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lovely, comfortable hotel. Didn't eat there so cannot comment on the menu.
Spacious rooms, with a mini bar and balcony. I was over looking the swimming pool which was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwards81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

If you want to visit Barcelona, mind that this hotel is up on the hills, a bit far out, but I think they have shuttle buses to city centre and other locations (I never asked about that service because I had to stay at the hotel, as I had a close relative having a procedure in nearby hospital (St. Joan de Deu))

Otherwise, hotel was perfect, spotless, room was huge as a school yard, and staff was friendly and helpful. Top notch!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichAndAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

we stayed at the Abba Garden hotel in barcelona for 3 days, the hotel looked nice and we were waiting for the stay.
when we arrived the guy at the reception (which was there for the whole 3 days) was very unfriendly and looked pissed off that we were asking questions.
the hotel is very far away from the city, it takes 30 mins by metro - but the way to the metro took 15 mins walk, up and down hills in the heat. when we asked if theres a supermarket or a kiosk or a place to buy cigarettes we found out that the closest place is 40 mins walk.

when we wanted to get towels for the pool - it costs 1 euro per towel. the jaccuzi wasnt hot, and the reception were very rood and unfriendly.
if you want internet in the room it costs 10.50 euros for 24 hours.

would never go back to this hotel - people are rood and the location is very bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noacodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here to attend a business event at a nearby university. As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is poor in that it is a haul to the nearest metro to permit transportation to tourist sites. If you are coming to Barcelona purely for pleasure, this is definitely not a good choice. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. The staff is hit or miss. A shuttle provided transportation to the university and the driver was clearly overwhelmed and untrained with regard to customer service. The front desk staff seemed uninspired. Some attention to staffing and setting up a stronger and more reliable shuttle system (include trips to the metro stop) would greatly improve the quality of stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
4  Thank berryme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esplugues de Llobregat
Les Corts
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
#267 of 513 in Barcelona
1,400 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,828 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
909 reviews
Abba Sants Hotel
#324 of 513 in Barcelona
595 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#331 of 513 in Barcelona
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Garden Hotel

Address: C/ Santa Rosa 33-37, 08950 Esplugues de Llobregat, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Esplugues de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esplugues de Llobregat
Price Range: $102 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated on the northern edge of the city of Barcelona, near Avinguda Diagonal and Barcelona FC's famous stadium, Camp Nou. It is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break in tranquil and pretty surroundings. Stroll around the gardens of the Abba Garden Hotel, where you can lie back and soak up the sun during the day, and admire the sunsets in the evening. There is also an outdoor swimming pool, where you can enjoy a relaxing swim. Get more active in the hotels gym and then unwind in the on-site spa equipped with sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath. There is also a racquetball court, so you can play a quick game. Wi-Fi internet access is available throughout the hotel, so you can connect to the internet at any time, check your emails or simply surf the web. Grab a bite to eat in the snack bar in the evening - complete with terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abba Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Garden Barcelona
Hotel Abba Garden
Abba Garden Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing