We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wedding venue”
Review of Chartridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chartridge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice wedding venue”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Chartridge conference centre whilst attending a friends wedding, the food at the reception was good considering the numbers, about 60 guests, the staff where very attentive as was the restaurant manager, our only complaint would be that our room was very small and specifically the bathroom, it was tiny!, but I suppose it is a conference centre after all.

Room Tip: Can't help you on that one, maybe the honeymoon suite would be bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Wedding Breakfast. Sorry that you got our smallest room. Unlike competitors 95% of our rooms are of a reasonable standard and size but I do understand your comment. Once again thanks.

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    86
    50
    29
See reviews for
38
87
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better venue for our wedding a few weeks ago! The grounds are beautiful for the photos and look amazing. The staff are excellent and do anything to help you, extra special thanks to Lisa and to Helen. Lots of our guests complimented the food and also how helpful the staff were. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for completing your review for Chartridge Lodge. I have particularly thanked both Lisa and Helen but also of course the entire team. I am so pleased that everthing was "perfect" and you took the time to let us know.

Many thanks and Best Wishes

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

While there was no wedding in the hotel during our Saturday night stay, it was being used to accommodate guests from a wedding down the road. Thankfully we were only woken up once by returning guests, but the next morning breakfast was like a scrum. The young waitresses were unable to cope with the number of guests, and the quality of food was mediocre and served buffet style.

Our “superior” room was in the newer block. The shower room had recently been refurbished and was very attractive, but the room itself was very basic and reminiscent of rooms in a student hall of residence. The bed was short – just six feet, so not ideal for tall people.

The main problem we encountered was a radiator, which would not shut off, so the room was hot all night. We had mentioned this to the very pleasant receptionist. While we were out at dinner, she had apparently gone up and turned the control the other way, but had not thought to check it again and then inform maintenance.

We were told that the hotel is being sold. Hopefully the new owners will spend money on the rooms, bringing them up to the standard of the grounds, which are lovely. The hotel also boasts an excellent, quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetotravelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We have indeed been sold which my team are delighted about. We have invested considerably in the short period under our new ownership. In the interim before a full refurbishment we have repainted and tiled some 20 bedrooms and bathrooms. We are replacing radiators in a further 20 rooms at the end of April. I do understand that because of numbers we had to serve a buffet breakfast while you were with us but typically all guests come down later at the weekend and with the numbers involved a buffet breakfast is the most practical. I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guest but pleased that you enjoyed our lovely grounds.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of Welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I normally have travelodges...and this place has made a super change.

Good size room...shower was a little dated but again..hot water and super pressure.

Lovely breakfast this morning too.

The big let down was the 45 minute wait for a really average evening meal.

Staff lovely though and very polite

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest.

I am pleased that generally things were to your satisfaction. Changes are afoot at Chartridge Lodge. We are soon to introduce a new menu. We were under the auspices of a different company but now we are able to progress many aspects of both the food product and I am pleased to say that we have started a refurbishment programme within the building and grounds. Thank you very much for submitting your review.

Kind regards

Stephen


Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were staying as a group with friends, using 3 rooms. The rooms had been booked well ahead and adjacent rooms had been requested. Even so, my wife and I were allocated an 'upgraded' room (£10 extra) in a different building. So things didn't start well.

The room itself was modern and standard 'Travelodge' style. However:
- the bed was only 4'6" wide (though it was comfortable, this apart)
- the over-bath shower was the worst we have experienced in a long time. It was a domestic electric shower and the water flow was so weak we had difficulty in even using it.
- the room was tired and in need of a makeover. For example none of the taps had tops on.

Breakfast was OK-ish despite mildly chaotic service (I suspect they were under-staffed).

The staff were polite and helpful, though some seemed a bit inexperienced.

The best feature of this place is the large and beautiful grounds. Strolling around them helped to calm me down after some of the travails summarised above.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for submitting your review. We have now started works on improving Chartridge as we are under the auspices of new owners. We are replacing beds and mattresses. At the moment we are undertaking back of house works to the heating system. we are updating the restaurant area. I have also agreed to the addition of a new Catering Supervisor. Thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Kind regards

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

For my our birthdays we booked a 3 course meal and overnight at this lovely old hotel. Following a warm welcome we relaxed in our ensuite room before enjoying a lovely 3 course meals with the other group on guests that night. Comfortable nights sleep followed by a full english breakfast completed the treat. I thoroughly recommend the hotel for any one needing a spot of R and R!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2750Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and your meal in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back and taking care of you once again.

Kind regards

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a superior room booked but when we got to our room we thought we had been given the wrong room. Apparently not! I hate to think what the standard rooms are like as the room was smallish and very tired. However, it was scrupulously clean and actually very comfortable and perfect temperature. The food was another story, I've eaten in some top restaurants and am picky over food but it was superb. Cannot fault it at all. I even had two deserts! Breakfast was equally good- the sausage was lovely, egg poached to perfection and I loved that the beans were seperate. Great pastries on offer too. The service and staff were fantastic and can't be faulted. The gentleman serving in the dining room deserves a special mention. The place as a whole was a little odd but I would definitely go back, even if just for the meal - I want another creme brûlée! The shower was big and powerful too and we enjoyed the free pool. I can see it would be lovely for a wedding and ideal for conferences. The grounds are lovely too.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Even I find the Creme Brullee hard to resist! I am pleased that in general your really enjoyed your stay and your meal. We have now started a programme of refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
730 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
749 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
673 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
730 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartridge Lodge

Property: Chartridge Lodge
Address: Chartridge Lane, Chesham HP5 2TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chartridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chartridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartridge Conference Centre Hotel Chesham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing