We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good price,”
Review of Chartridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chartridge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Good hotel, good price,”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was on a course in Aylesbury and stayed here for the week. Staff were friendly and helpful, the place was clean and there's free wifi in the rooms. The exercise room is very basic with an elliptical trainer, running machine and weights machine but then it's not advertised as a gym.
The only problem I had was the distance from Aylesbury which is probably my fault. Once off the main road there are a few miles on a poorly surfaced B road.
Price was very reasonable so would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monty1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Chartridge. I am pleased that the team were friendly and helpful and that in general you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we have the opportunity of taking care of you again on your next visit to the area.

Kind regards
Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    88
    51
    29
See reviews for
43
88
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here after attending a wedding. From the moment we arrived we liked the place. We were given a very warm smile and welcome from the receptionist and the various rooms we had use of for the celebrations were well furnished and comfortable.

The wedding went very well, the staff were all very pleasant, helpful and polite. The wedding breakfast was excellent quality and we were given extremely generous portions.

Breakfast the following morning was good too, there were only a handful of us staying at the hotel so our breakfasts were all cooked to order, and as we were leaving they asked if we'd like to take away the left over (but still fresh) danish pastries with us - we thought that was very generous.

The only thing that let it down for me was our bedroom in the old part of the building ; it was clean and had completely adequate facilities with the usual hairdryer, coffee, tea, kettle etc but it was in need of a makeover - the bed was a bit lumpy and the fixtures and fittings were tired and tatty.

In summary, I would stay again as I think customer service is more important to an enjoyable stay than a brand new bathroom suite, but if you care more about trendy boutique fixtures and fittings you'd be disappointed.

Room Tip: I didn't see the garden rooms or rooms in the newer extension, but those I spoke to that did ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelliePhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us at Chartridge. I am pleased that the team took good care of you and that you would stay with us again despite the distance to Aylesbury. In the spring when the weather gets warmer there are spacious grounds to enhance your exercise routine.

Kind regards

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Found the place through Laterooms.com. The room i had was very well laid out and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was enjoyable and the staff very warm and welcoming. Will definitely try there agin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putney_Boy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,.

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your recent stay at Chartridge. I have of course passed your feedback to the team who were very pleased.

Kind regards

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a difficult review as we have just visited here for my Lady's daughter's wedding and in this respect all went very well and for their budget it was a good choice.

The grounds even in winter make for an ideal setting, the room in which the reception was held was roomy, nicely decked out and atmospheric, the food was more than acceptable and the staff very polite, curteous and charming.

But it's not by any means romantic, cute or cosy, and if you stay as we did in the main building it's pretty horrible.

Our room on the first floor was ghastly, drab furnishings, austere bathroom, stiff bed with single thin pillows (there are spares on the wardrobe shelf we were told, well our wardrobe didn't even have a shelf) and inadequate bed covers that didn't fit, rubbish shower that had more water coming out of the hose than the shower head, NO face flannels, a single hand towel, and one tub of shower gel/shampoo.

Bar staff very very young, enthusiastic but hopelessly inexpereinced and it's unacceptable to have only a SINGLE BRAND on offer for all of Gin, Vodka and Scotch.

I'm always going to dock marks when Breakfast at the weekend is served until only 10.00 am and when you have a Wedding party this is just plain stupid !!!

Surprise suprise everybody turned up at 9.45 am, so the fruit juice ran out, the milk ran out, the coffee ran out, and the staff were hovering at elbows ready to clear away plates as soon as the cutlery went down.

Cooked items of course ran out as well, and I don't know if this is always served buffett style but if so that's not what I want either, I want a choice of how my eggs are cooked, and fresh bacon etc etc.

We don't want to stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm told it's nicer in the cottages but I doubt that it's a whole lot better, go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your review of Chartridge on trip advisor. I am sorry that an adeguete amount of pillows and soaps were not put in your room. On a more positive note I have taken the following action following your comments. I have asked for the restaurant to be open for breakfast until 10.30 am and a sign placed offering alternative cooked eggs. Sometimes it is necessary to offer a buffet breakfast because guests arrive at the restaurant together however their is no excuse for running out of cooked items although these were replenished. We are at present looking at how we can redecorate some of our bedrooms. I have also ordered additional drinks for the bar. I am of course pleased that you enjoyed the occassion of the Wedding and once again thank you for your comments

Stephen Quigley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chesham hotels

southampton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Set in beautiful grounds with a "pitch and put"available the hotel has a lovely setting. the staff were very friendly and helpful whilst the rooms (we were in a cottage acommodation in grounds) were clean and warm . the shower was a bit dated but hot water was always available and it did work ok.
We ate a bar snack the first night and was not very impressed with it at all so we ate in Chesham the second night, which is a short drive away. Breakfast was good with a choice of English menu or Continental, again staff always very polite, attentive and helpful. We would definitely stay there againbut probably have main meal out.

Room Tip: many rooms are located in the grounds of the hotel and just a short walk to the main building, proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed here whilst on business,

Hotel location is great if you want to be in country side short drive approximately 10 minutes in to the town centre,
I stayed in the cottage which was very tired old smelt damp. The room itself was clean which is always a positive, Quality of sleep wasn’t the greatest as you could hear the gut in the room above walking around the room before bed and in the morning also hear his phone go off as well as the conversation he was having. The shower could do with being replaced and beware of the window in the toilet room it hasn’t got any blocked visibility so people on the car park could always catch you in the shower if the blinds are open! Breakfast was fine service from staff no problem and the car park is secure. If I was to stay here again I would request the hotel room not the cottage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollieboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Semi-regular business stays means that I've sampled various rooms over the years. Standards vary, so don't be afraid to ask for a change of room/ to view another. All the rooms have been adequate and clean, but showing heir age.

Staff are really helpful and always available. Food has always been great, with a nice home-cooked style. I never leave this place hungry or wanting for more.

They've got the conference / business market sorted, but unsure about using it as a hotel or wedding venue, so seek other reviews.

The grounds / area of the Hertfordshire countryside are enchanting.

Room Tip: Ask to check out another room, as they do vary a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
766 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
493 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
740 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartridge Lodge

Property: Chartridge Lodge
Address: Chartridge Lane, Chesham HP5 2TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chartridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chartridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartridge Conference Centre Hotel Chesham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing