We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Latimer Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Reviewed April 30, 2014

As a conference venue, this is the type of place I avoid using as they don't tend to cater well to hotel guests. However, it has proven me wrong.

Beautiful setting, well appointed rooms, great staff and very good food. The view from the room was amazing and I loved the place,

The only issues I had at all was the noise from conference guests over night, but you cant blame the staff for that and finally seating in the bar, very few places to sit and eat if you get a few guests not wishing to use the restaurant.

Will definitely use again

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a quiet area
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arobajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, Front Office Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your recent review, I am so glad that you chose to stay with us. We are lucky to be in an area of outstanding beauty and I do hope that you had time to enjoy the grounds.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Latimer Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 802 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel to attend a seminar. It's one of the most relaxing places I've ever seen. I plan to stay again, but this time with my wife for a relaxing weekend. You can breath the fresh air, hear the birds singing, watch the river flow, see the squirrels running around and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akinarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

I hope that your seminar at Latimer Place was a success. We are indeed in a most idyllic setting and I hope that you do manage to visit again for a relaxing stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed after a wedding reception, good room rate, room was on the small side and some redecoration required. Superb setting. Serving staff at breakfast were sullen and I'm still waiting for a coffee refill!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatsitallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

I do hope that the Wedding was a lovely day and enjoyed by everyone. I take your point on board with regard to the breakfast team and I am sorry that you did not receive the correct level of service. Your feedback will be communicated and addressed with the team.

Kind regards

Tessa Win
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just back from a short one night stay here and it was a real treat for myself and my wife. Found it through the latest De Vere "£20 room only" deals and have to say, it was great value and a memorable experience. The whole place is very impressive, particularly the old house, where we had a drink and ate dinner. From the moment we arrived, the staff were v.welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The leisure facilities were really good. Would like to visit again during better weather and sit on the terrace overlooking the Chess valley and admire the lovely views.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank happycoupleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I love this hotel. I go on business a few times a year and it's just wonderful. Ideal for someone with a busy life to give relaxation before business activities. It's in the middle of nowhere but only 2 miles from Chalfont where there are pubs and restaurants. It's just outside a chocolate box type village - lovely for walks and there's a lovely riverside walk. The bar has tables outside overlooking the river - it's glorious.
Staff are lovely and very helpful. The food is fine. I've given it a 4* because I find the bedrooms in the mews small and dark. I prefer staying in the hotel.
It's busy, has a mix of business and families as guests so I wouldn't be put off coming with my family.
Great for exploring between Buckinghamshire and London. It's 50 minutes from kings cross to Chalfont and latimer station on the Metropolitan line. Gilbert's taxis are great very reliable £6 to the hotel.
Great for a spa weekend too.
If you read older reviews you might find people saying its a mobile signal blackspot - when I started going last year it was, however, this has been resolved and it's fine. Free wifi all round the hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main hotel building unless you're not going to be in your room long.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as a six year anniversary stay for Me and my girlfriend, to have a romantic weekend round London, 2 days prior (thurs) to the stay I rang the hotel and arranged for a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of rose wine to be in the room on arrival, and told that it would be. On arrival (sat) when we was checking in the receptionist asked if we ordered the rose wine, which completely ruined the surprise for girlfriend. I was hoping the flowers would still surprise her, but surprised me more because they weren't in the room, but thought we did check in at 2pm that they might not had chance to put into the room yet, so we gor changed n went into London for a few hours, came back and still no rose wine and flowers, by the next Night (sunday) I'd had enough, complained to reception told them the situation and how dissatisfied I was, they asked did I still want the wine I said yeah, they brought it to the room, and said I didn't swipe a credit card they would add it to the room charge, I said I weren't paying for the wine because it was supposed to be here on arrival yesterday, he said he would talk to the manager and let me know, 15 minutes later I rang reception for a response, they sent a man to my room, who said it was there fault there was a mix up and weren't sure if I still wanted the wine, and they had been trying to contact my room (yet we was in the room from 7pm onwards each day and only left at 11)n he also said he'd knock 30% of the price of the wine, told him take it back, which he seemed happy to do.

Overall disappointing stay, and very poor customer service, if I knew the wine and flowers would of been a problem, I would of made alternate arrangements but was assured it was all taken care off, very disappointed

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, Front Office Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Latimer Place. I am sorry that on this occassion we have not delivered your requests and apologise about the way we have dealt with you during your stay. I do hope that you enjoyed your time in London, we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future in order to make ammends.

Kind regards

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just got back from a quick one night stay for my husband's birthday. Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before and it is absolutely gorgeous. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and the food, as always, very nice and very well presented. The breakfast buffet choice was amazing. The location is so peaceful and we only paid £20 for the room! Many other groups of hotels could learn a lot from a stay at this hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacks0n2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
426 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
332 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
504 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,785 reviews
11.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Latimer Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Latimer Estate

Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England (Formerly De Vere Latimer Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range: $88 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Latimer Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Latimer Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing