We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Latimer Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good night's sleep”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First impression upon driving up to the old house: Wow!

The grounds are beautiful, but the inside of the old house is massively in need of renovating. Most of the rooms are dim and dingy, and the floors are treading the line between rustic creaking and life-threateningly brittle.

This venue is an old country house with additional wings designed to cater for small or large groups. We stayed in the modern style wing attached to the main house but which lacked any real character. Rooms are small, but the bathroom was modern and clean with a bath with shower overhead.

Breakfast was ok, with plenty of variety. You could choose from cooked breakfast or continental options such as croissants and toast. Breakfast is self service too. As varied as breakfast was I felt it lacked any real substance or flavours.

Wi-fi is free and coverage is decent throughout the venue, but there were some spotty patches.

The bed was incredibly comfortable, did have to ask for an extra pillow though due to them being quite thin.
Overall a great place to stay for a work conference or a large wedding party. Great night's sleep too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessTheSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great nights sleep here at Latimer Place. We certainly are a busy and popular conference and events venue. I am sorry that you felf the house needed refurbishment, the last refurbishment was just two years ago and is always ongoing at DeVere properties.

I do hope that we see you again at Latimer soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    254
    166
    72
    32
See reviews for
108
277
20
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

2 night leisure break. Excellent staff/service food good quality. Hotel will sort taxi to station takes a few minutes overground tube (most of way) or train run on same line so if you are tourist better to buy a 1day travel card. Complimentary coffees in lounge nice touch stayed at a sister hotel later in week and they also added biscuits. Well done would stay again. Thank you

Room Tip: Try and get in main house but still long trip to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkWhiskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback on Latimer Place which has been shared with the tea,.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked a night away at this hotel when De Vere had a room sale, and so did not pay full price. I was well aware that De Vere own a number of smaller properties like this one, where the main house is used for the restaurant and weddings etc, and the bedrooms are in conference blocks. We stayed at one for a wedding not that long ago. However, what we weren't prepared for was that the lovely public rooms in the hotel would be completely off limits because of functions, and our time in the hotel would be spent in other areas. In this particular hotel, these areas are pretty soulless, designed for conference type use, and the two bars are small dark areas off other rooms which have tired decor. It was a huge shame to stay in this lovely property, but not see the lovely Victorian rooms and the view from the front other than from the front lawn. There was also a complex schedule of which bar was available at what time, and where we had to have breakfast due to functions, and a crib sheet was provided on arrival.

I have to qualify this by saying that when we booked for this date, the person I spoke to did advise that the restaurant would not be open when we stayed, and took trouble to send me a list of local pubs where we could eat. However, nearer the time of our stay, when checking the check in time, they confirmed that the restaurant was now going to be open, but we could also eat in the bar if we wanted. So we didn't book anything offsite. Unfortunately, the restaurant is not inspiring, and does look like a conference dining area, and I've already mentioned the bars being small dark rooms. So we ended up phoning a few of the local pubs on the Saturday, but everywhere was full, necessitating a drive into Amersham. Others may find the restaurant more to their taste, it just wasn't what we expected from a De Vere.

If you are staying here for a conference or wedding, you will find the hotel to be very nice. The public areas are modern and clean, and the Victorian part of the building would provide a lovely wedding backdrop. The grounds are stunning, with a fantastic view of the valley. Our room was as expected, a conference style room, quite basic, but with all the things we needed, a good bed and a clean and efficient bathroom, and big fluffy towels. We had to have breakfast in a different building to the one where our room was, due to the conferences and retreats they were holding that weekend, and that was a conference building, so the breakfast style was very conference oriented, but everything was efficient, and the food was very nice, great selection, freshly cooked, and no queues.

The one thing I have to commend in this hotel is the staff. They are all buzzing around with a huge list of what meeting is doing what and in what room, and they are constantly setting rooms up and moving things about. However, they took great trouble to explain what was going on where and how that would affect us, and they would break off what they were doing to show us to a bar which was open and get us a drink, or ask if they could order us food or anything. The front desk staff were similarly helpful, and the breakfast team were many and very accomodating.I would think that if you had a wedding or conference here they would look after you very well and everything would run smoothly.

To summarise, sorry, very big review, this is a nice hotel to stay in because the service is good and the room was fine, but if you are expecting to have a romantic weekend away in a country house hotel, do check what activities they are holding that weekend and what will be available to you before you book, or you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room got very noisy when the people upstairs came back to their room in the early h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about Latimer Place following a recent stay with us. It is true to say that we do have three restaurants at our venue and different restaurants are available dependant on groups and events that we have staying with us. On rare ocasions all our restaurants are fully booked and we do try to make our customers aware or open last minute if we receive changes.

I do hope that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a lovely weekend stay.Views beautiful.All staff contact excellent. Will definitely be returning.An amazing wedding venue.Even though parties and preparation for a wedding fayre at the venue we were looked after.Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your posting on trip advisor. It is true to say that we are a very popular Wedding and conference venue and do sit exceptionally well with large events. I am pleased that you found the staff were great and I do share this with the team.

Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a stunning venue for a wedding. A whole suite of rooms in the old building was at the disposal of 130 guests from the reception for the 11.30 am ceremony to the final dance at the evening reception. The wedding meal was good and the service excellent.

The only drawback was that the room in the north wing did not have air conditioning and as our stay was during a very hot weekend (despite the rain) the provided fan was not really adequate.
Overall our two-night stay was very enjoyable and we would love to stay again as we were not able to enjoy the wonderful grounds due to the rain.

Room Tip: Be sure to have an explanation of where rooms and lifts are when booking. The very stylish and mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOLLYMIX690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great wedding here at Latimer and I appreciate that it was a very hot weekend. I do hope that you may come back for a break in the future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Latimer Place for 2 nights recently for a training course. I stayed in the red brick mews building which was through the car park in a building opposite the main reception area. My double room was cosy, nicely furnished and perfectly adequate for a short business trip. The en-suite had a shower rather than a bath but it was quite a big shower and again, perfectly adequate. The room had a flat screen tv on the wall and room service was prompt, but very 'take-away' in style, arriving in a brown paper bag. It is clearly stated as such on the menu, so if you prefer eating in a little more style, just remember to ask for a plate and real cutlery. Breakfast was a buffet affair with good choice. The grounds are lovely and well worth a stroll, but I personally found the rest of the place a little souless. It was fine for a business trip, but really felt more like a conference centre with rooms, than a fine hotel. If you are after a romantic get away, I can't say as I would personally recommend it, despite its beautiful location and lovely main house. Fine for business trips.

Room Tip: The rooms are situated across three different buildings so just check which building you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Latimer Place folllowing your break with us earlier in the month. I hope you did have time to enhoy the house and the wonderful scenery despite the Wedding event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got the room for two nights in the de-vere summer sale.It was extremely good value.The grounds are stunning and the food was good.Our room was in Latimer mews and despite being quite a trek it was a pleasant room and en suite.Some carpets in the main building could do with replacing but otherwise everything was mainly well looked after.
The maintenance man was especially prompt and helpful.The only downside was when a couple of weddings were taking place we couldn't use the main building and felt a bit in the way and struggled to find where we had to go to eat and drink.The pool does have some restrictions Friday and Saturday.

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto lounge areas which could be noisy if a group sat there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I hope that the training course that you attended went well. It is great to hear from delegates that visit Latimer for a course or for an event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
312 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
739 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
363 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,718 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Latimer Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Latimer Estate

Property: De Vere Latimer Estate
Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England (Formerly De Vere Latimer Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Latimer Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Latimer Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing