We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Latimer Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a lovely weekend stay.Views beautiful.All staff contact excellent. Will definitely be returning.An amazing wedding venue.Even though parties and preparation for a wedding fayre at the venue we were looked after.Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your posting on trip advisor. It is true to say that we are a very popular Wedding and conference venue and do sit exceptionally well with large events. I am pleased that you found the staff were great and I do share this with the team.

Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    248
    164
    70
    30
See reviews for
104
270
19
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a stunning venue for a wedding. A whole suite of rooms in the old building was at the disposal of 130 guests from the reception for the 11.30 am ceremony to the final dance at the evening reception. The wedding meal was good and the service excellent.

The only drawback was that the room in the north wing did not have air conditioning and as our stay was during a very hot weekend (despite the rain) the provided fan was not really adequate.
Overall our two-night stay was very enjoyable and we would love to stay again as we were not able to enjoy the wonderful grounds due to the rain.

Room Tip: Be sure to have an explanation of where rooms and lifts are when booking. The very stylish and mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOLLYMIX690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great wedding here at Latimer and I appreciate that it was a very hot weekend. I do hope that you may come back for a break in the future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Latimer Place for 2 nights recently for a training course. I stayed in the red brick mews building which was through the car park in a building opposite the main reception area. My double room was cosy, nicely furnished and perfectly adequate for a short business trip. The en-suite had a shower rather than a bath but it was quite a big shower and again, perfectly adequate. The room had a flat screen tv on the wall and room service was prompt, but very 'take-away' in style, arriving in a brown paper bag. It is clearly stated as such on the menu, so if you prefer eating in a little more style, just remember to ask for a plate and real cutlery. Breakfast was a buffet affair with good choice. The grounds are lovely and well worth a stroll, but I personally found the rest of the place a little souless. It was fine for a business trip, but really felt more like a conference centre with rooms, than a fine hotel. If you are after a romantic get away, I can't say as I would personally recommend it, despite its beautiful location and lovely main house. Fine for business trips.

Room Tip: The rooms are situated across three different buildings so just check which building you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Latimer Place folllowing your break with us earlier in the month. I hope you did have time to enhoy the house and the wonderful scenery despite the Wedding event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got the room for two nights in the de-vere summer sale.It was extremely good value.The grounds are stunning and the food was good.Our room was in Latimer mews and despite being quite a trek it was a pleasant room and en suite.Some carpets in the main building could do with replacing but otherwise everything was mainly well looked after.
The maintenance man was especially prompt and helpful.The only downside was when a couple of weddings were taking place we couldn't use the main building and felt a bit in the way and struggled to find where we had to go to eat and drink.The pool does have some restrictions Friday and Saturday.

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto lounge areas which could be noisy if a group sat there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I hope that the training course that you attended went well. It is great to hear from delegates that visit Latimer for a course or for an event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed here on a de vere offer. it is in the village of latimer.and is so peaceful. the hotel comprises of numerous buildings, (spa, conference and hotel)
The old part of the building has the bar, library, restaurant and some bedrooms. However, the reception is in a newer building which is connected to the old part.if you have problems with steps then you would have to go outside and walk round. There are numerous steps to the main building.
The spa was the same as other de vere's but was disappointed when we went as the Jacuzzi was not working.
The bedrooms are clean but a little on the small side.
Overall good value for money and plenty to see in the area. would go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueanddave0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your great reveiw on Latimer Place, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortuantely we no longer have a jacuzzi in our swimming pool area, due to updated legislation, which hopefully will get resolved in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed at Latimer Place to celebrate our recent engagment. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, the reception staff were very friendly. We checked into a beautiful, clean bedroom and we woke up the next morning to lovely veiws over fields and a river. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and the food and service were great. We'd like to thank you all for making our celebrations so special. :) I have reconmended this hotel to anyone I have spoke to since and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind recommendation, we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted somewhere close to an appointment on the following day. We use the various De Vere's a lot because we are trainers and they cater for us very well. Latimer Place has a beautiful situation in the Chiltern hills and yet is very accessible for the M40 and the M25. It's not swanky in any way but the rooms are clean and comfortable with king size beds. We had a really good meal in the restaurant - tasty, fresh and well cooked and the service was smiley and attentive. It's great value for money and we'll stay there again (but not for a romantic break!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we achieved our values of offering great value for money. We hope that you take the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Latimer Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Latimer Estate

Property: De Vere Latimer Estate
Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England (Formerly De Vere Latimer Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Latimer Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Latimer Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing