We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, History and Sculptures”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hof Ter Doest

Hof Ter Doest
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Lissewege
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Food, History and Sculptures”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

What an interesting place, not only does it have food but a large grassed area housing an old Monastery from the 1100s. What a beautiful old building, (the timbers are just lovely), in very good condition. The lawn has a number of very well made and realistic large bronze nudes as well as other smaller bronze statues of various subjects.
We ate at this restaurant as our lunch stop on a Quasimodo day coach tour from Brugge. Our lunch consisted of a healthy sized sandwich (freshly made bread with choice of fillings - mine ham and salad), and a famous Belgian waffle, which was very light and very scrumptious. This probably isn't this restaurant's normal fare but I enjoyed my prepared lunch enormously.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 35yrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    42
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cazals, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Save up your cash and don't eat all day”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A wide ranging menu of huge portions. Most people go for the steaks; I am awaiting the company of my rugby player son to help me with one of these. There is plenty of fish and game too.

We had had a large lunch before we arrived, but they were quite happy for us to have just one thing. Even so, we couldn't manage the chips and these were willingly boxed up for the dogs to enjoy, which they did!

The atmosphere is better than average and the steaks are cooked in the chimney. English is not great (nor is French) so make sure you understand each other - they are very willing and cheerful.

Although the whole package is a bit expensive, it's worth staying the night to enjoy the breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookiebirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not one vegetarian plate”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is eating as it was in the middle ages, a bit pricey but a must for the real meat eater who can manage it's one pound cote a l'os. Don't bother to ask for a doggy bag.
Don't expect a children menu neither and don't eat during the day before going here.
Authentic surroundings, very beautiful.
Very crowded but well worth a visit. All of the above comments are true, but don't star complaining if you have to wait a bit longer for the grilled steak on the fire. The staff is managing the hectic cuisine very well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DM72_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a lot of everything”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is impressive... not just the place but the amount of food they serve as well!. You can still feel the monks working, praying, putting away their harvest... and plenty of it! And that is the way we would categorise the food as well. Rustic, good food and plenty of it. If you want a large steack, a plate of eal that you can hardly finish because there is so much of it... this is the place. Nice atmosphere, nice people... it's all nice. Not really great... but really nice! If you want to spend an afternoon with a bunch of friends... this is the place. Maybe we missed the refinement and etiquette of fine dining.... but we had a good time eating and drinking like the Flemish do... and have been doing since the "Middle Ages".

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBL882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bad idea for groups”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant on my own, long time ago, and then liked it very much. The recent visit with a large group of colleagues was disappointing. Our main course was excellent in taste, but almost everything around it was disappointing. We had to beg for attention of the waiters, they looked as if you disturbed them, and even when they took the order, they forgot half of the time to execute it. The dessert was a piece of cake in the size of a thick French frie. We paid a lot p.p.and had little value for it
I still believe this is a superb restaurant for couples and families, but they were not able to handle our group.

Helpful?
Thank Mapengobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hof Ter Doest also viewed

Lissewege, West Flanders Province
Lissewege, West Flanders Province
 
Vlissegem, West Flanders Province
Lissewege, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hof Ter Doest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing