We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous Hotel. Paid to leave early, do not take the risk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Horrendous Hotel. Paid to leave early, do not take the risk.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is English 2-3 stars. If this is what you expect then your stay may be enjoyable. However to say this is 4 star is a complete joke. The hotel is falling apart and in dire need of vast improvements.

Appalling standards of food hygiene, we were ill everyday, just watch the staff washing used plates and anyone from the western world will understand why people were poorly.

We have travelled all over Africa and the Caribbean and rarely suffered from illness due to hygiene.

Thankfully we upgraded to the superb Paradisus next door and we were not poorly once.

If you expect a Spain 2-3 star hotel then this may be for you but for anyone that was expecting 4 star standards then you will pay to leave or go home early as many people were doing.

The staff are very nice but are let down by a complete lack of management systems, a particular nightlight was being served wine in martini glasses one night and tumblers the next. This doesn't even happen in hostels.

The only good things this hotel has to offer are the gift of nature, lovely beach and sea. This is nearly spoilt by the hard plastic sun loungers.

Do not take the risk of staying in such a run down and desperate hotel. There are many good hotels in cuba and this is easily the worst.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank WSJREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Afternoon,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays and for writing your experience with us in Tripadvisor.

It is a pity we could not meet your expectations even when we try. The Paradisus next door is an indeed superb only adults 5 star hotel.

Regarding food hygiene, our standards have been proved to all International Standards to Cuban Government and to International Agencies. The used plates are being washed in a dish washer with high temperature, as in any other countries.
People could be ill as you are saying, but it could be for different reasons, not for any of the ones you are saying.

We can understand that you were expecting something different but, please, saying that so many guest were doing so is go too far as we do not have any records of it.

We take note of the glasses standard side and we are definitely looking it up urgently to make sure that not happened again.

Your comments make us improve. Please, if you decide to come back to Cuba and to our hotel, do not hesitate to get hold of us so we will have everything ready for you.

Receive our best regards

Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,614
    2,056
    670
    213
    127
See reviews for
1,449
2,762
211
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I returned to this beautiful resort for the 5th time (march 8 - 15) The weather as usual was beautiful. We took all of 3 minutes to get checked in and were taken to our room on the first floor of the mares side which we request each year. Breakfast the next morning was like a home coming. We were greeted with hugs and kisses by many of the staff that recognised us from previous years The service throughout the resort is excellent. The returning guest meal was once again excellent. One thing that I believe would add to this evening would be to have the guests acknowledge who and where they are from and how many years have they been returning to the sol rio de luna y mares. Hats off to the management and staff for helping to make another great vacation so memorable. Make sure you meet Roger cooking at the grill and Jennie at the swim up bar.
Dale and Brenda Porter

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room with a good location close to the main restaurant, bar, bank and pool try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleandBrendaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear DaleandBrendaP,
Thank you ever so much for your preference! Thank you for your suggestions and for recommending us!
Warmest regards,
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Really liked this hotel but it's a tale of two halves. We were staying in nares but in a quiet room 3rd floor away from the bar and this really suited us. Found the mares bar to big and noisy. Really liked the quiter bar on the lunes side. Food was lovely don't know why anyone would complain there was everything you could want, lovely soup, meat fish seafood cooked in front of you. Lots of veg salad pasta everything you could want. And then an endless supply of ice cream and desserts. Fantastic beach lovely clear water and very calm. Overall had a great time would def come back. This resort does not deserve any negative reviews

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear chrislondon61,
We are very happy that you enjoyed a great time with us, liked the food and the beach.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Thank you,
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent sandy beach overlooking the warm Caribbean waters, lovely weather, friendly staff, good sized rooms, what more do you want? Unfortunately let down by the food in the Colon (buffet restaurant). They have a several al a carte restaurants (you can only use 2 a week) the French is clearly the best and the Mediterranean the worst, but the Colon buffet restaurant food, especially the vegetables was cool at best when we usually dined at 8.30. A couple of nice touches, one was the shapes/animals each day with the towels by Elaine the housekeeper and the second when the manager and some staff came to the coach to see us off.

Room Tip: Room in the Luna side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js-sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear js-sb from Pudsey,
It is very nice that you had a good holiday. It is a pity that you did not enjoy the food in the Buffet restaurant. We always try to give more a la cartes bookings to the guests who request it. Each day (around 2:45pm) before closing the restaurant booking desk we give all remaining spaces to guests who like the A la cartes better than the Buffet. If you ever return to the resort, please do not hesistate to contact us.
Warm regards,
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I think people who write a negative review of this hotel should continue to book the hilton!

We are just back from a fantastic couple holiday for my partners 30th birthday. We had an amazing time from start to finish. It is obvious that Ricardo and his staff work hard to please everyone. You see the gardners and pool maintenance men working ALL DAY. As well as every other person. The hotel os great and u are NEVER hungry, thirsty or bored. Will be back next year. Thanks to all the staff

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Vicky124,
Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate your review and preference!
We hope to see you soon,
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm @ meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

In few words: just book your holidays and go there!

If you are afraid about bad reviews - forgot them. There are always malcontents and they will never be satisfied. But consider that you are going to visit Cuba, where not everything is easily available.
All staff works hard to make your days. Much, much appreciated.

We were so happy there that we will return. Definitely.

Dear Ricardo: Muchas gracias! And please pass our thanks to everyone of your staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrPeterM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear MrPeterM100 from Gorebridge,
For sure! We always pass on all reviews to the staff! Good reviews like yours are our best reward and all the staff appreciates them a lot! Thank you!
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back! Muchas gracias!
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm @ meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Me and my boyfriend we visited this place late February - early March, we stayed there for two weeks in Mares side. It was an amazing experience. Most of the time we spent at the beach, I think only one day, not even full day we spent at the pool, it is more amazing by the beach white sand, palm trees and snorkeling. :) The hotel itself need a little renovation, but to be honest who goes on holidays to stay inside the room??! Definitely not us! Room itself is clean, a little renovation would not mind bathroom!! There are two nice beach bars, both of them turn into restaurants at the evening time! Beach view is amazing, you do not have to go far for snorkeling either.
Definitely take trips, that way you will be able to find out and learn more about Cuban culture and people and about the country itself.
Souvenirs - you mostly expect to get ripped when buying them at the hotel, but not in there, marketers by the pool and on the way to beach will have the same prices as in the Guradalavaca Market. And yes, that is true, if you like something buy it straight away, you will not have the same good every day.
If you need anything just ask, they will be happy to help you. Lisandro (Food and beverages manager) was very helpful, as my boyfriend is not much of a fun of a still water, most of the time he only drinks sparkling water, he sorted out that we had sparkling water in our room rather than still!! He was always happy to see us, and always asked if we are alright and did not need any help and if we are enjoying our holidays. :))

Our trip was amazing, we were really happy and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rituliite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Rituliite from Bradford,
We also hope that you will return in the future for another amazing holiday!
Thank you for posting your experience!
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm @ meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
3.8 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4,360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

Property: Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Address: Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Rio de Luna y Mares 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four -Star All Inclusive Resort with 464 rooms. Located beachfront in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province, where visitors will be amazed by the dazzling superposition of blues and greens from the sea, sky and costal shrubbery. This hotel complex is surrounded by extensive green areas and offers a wide variety of services and attractions. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons and tourist groups.Guest Rooms464 rooms: 308 Standard, 108 Standard Ocean View, 30 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 Junior Suite, 4 Suite, 8 Family Suite Ocean ViewDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 6 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Rio de Luna y Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Hotel Guardalavaca
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Resort
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Guardalavaca, Cuba - Holguin Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing