We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Diving”

Eagle Ray Scuba Diving Center
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant Diving”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughter and I did 4 dives with Alex in June and early July - we found that the staff are excellent with no problems picking up from the Sol Luna y Mares by taxi. There is a good atmosphere with plenty of friendly humour.
Equipment was pretty good with reasonable Scubapro regs and BCD's - we had our own suit, mask & fins - but their ones looked OK as well. We paid 120CUC for 4 dives - and this included the equipment. I used the optional (but still free) steel 15litre tank - my daughter had the standard aluminium (and always had loads more air left)
The boat is fast & functional - not comfotable - but you aren't on it long - it's a free speedboat ride to the dive sites. The ladder is a bit of a pig - it moves around and doesn't reach far into the water.
Kit has to be carried down the beach before the dive - and back up afterwards - pretty hot work.

The dive sites have suffered from hurricanes etc - and there are very few pretty corals - everything is very brown with a hint of yellow - there are a few blue fans and pipes - but outnumbered by the brown. Having said that there is a lot of fish life with many species and lots of activity - we saw Morays and loads of lion fish along with the angels, butterflies, etc - also a really close encounter with a big grouper was great. Hence the title pleasant - this wasn't world class reef diving - but was a good experience and enjoyable - just don't expect red sea.

We did a 30M dive around 9.30 and a 20M dive around 11.30 each day we dived.

Some of the others we dived with were definite proof of confidence exceeding competence! - but some of the guys were really good. Probably a lottery that stems from nobody checking qualifications or log books - just filled the details in ourselves on a form.

Certainly I would recommend Eagle Ray as being a skilled & professional bunch - just set your expectations at great viz and lots of fish .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Spinicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    34
    4
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What fabulous and friendly people at Eagle Ray dive center, very knowledgeable ( as you would expect ) and very professional.
i only managed 5 dives as couldn't leave the hubby to many times ( he doesn't dive ) but the dives i completed were mind blowing. so sorry i never took an underwater camera but will next time for sure.
All the guys are great but massive thanks to Jorge ( George ) and Alex for looking after me as twice i was the only person diving but that was NO PROBLEM !!!
Highly recommended and will go again on my next ( which will be number 5 ) visit to Cuba'
Thanks guys, love you all

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank henrietta e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Scuba diving centre on North East of Cuba”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very helpful staff.
Dive centre is on a lovely caribbean beach. You have to carry the kit across the beach to the dive boat. Cold showers.
The dive boat is an open GRP planing hull with a ladder up the side which is a little difficult to climb.
Dive sites are fairly close with lovely clear, warm water and no current when I was there in April.. Very impressive corals.
Good equipment. 60 pesos for two boat dives.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent ten days in March in guardalavaca. Our previous holidays were only one week but wanted more time to ensure more diving. The dive masters are very good and the cave dive was very cool. What was so disappointing was only five dives in ten days. We were told that the coast guard was cancelling the dives but later found out that that was true only one day and the rest of the cancellations was the boat captain who didn't want to go out...........lazy. When we tried to schedule a night dive we where told that the jeep and driver was in Havana getting supplies until the end of our week......two days later we noticed the dive jeep parked at our hotel and later discovered the driver was staying with his family on a holiday. Why all the lies? This was our third trip to Cuba and the first time we found people to lie and be so lazy and try to find any excuse not to work. People deserve a holiday but why lie about it and if your captain doesn't want to go out then possibly the dive shop needs to look into making other arrangements to ensure they can service their customers..........next time we will take our money elsewhere seeing they were not to interested in having us spend it with them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just back from there....Awesome!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I are juste back from a 1 week trip to Cuba (Playa Costa Verde) and went on 8 dives with Eagle Ray. We dived twice a day, one deep and one shallow. Only one word: Awesome!

Good divemasters that KNOWS the area (Ask Alexander to show you the tank and artillery...he will find it by heart!) Going at the pace of the slower... very good equipement, even for Cuba (we had Luxfer (aluminium) tank instead of steel). We plan to go again within months!

Ask Jorge (or say George) about the cave or the night trip.... We did night dive!

Thanks again and I hope will see you again soon!

Jo and Sylvain

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank PingouinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Ray Scuba Diving Center also viewed

Guardalavaca, Holguin Province
Guardalavaca, Holguin Province
 
Holguin, Holguin Province
 

Been to Eagle Ray Scuba Diving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing