We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Enfield, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wheelchair accessible”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just returned from Brisas on Sunday morning. There were 6 adults and 4 children (ages 1,4,4,& 9) in our party. It was the first time at this resort for all of us and we were not disappointed. My son is in a wheelchair and I was so impressed with the easy access that he had at this resort. Ramps everywhere. Even the beach had a very "wide" cement walkway from one end to the other. The sand is not very deep so he was able to get close to the sun huts and loungers. He also had a "villa" room (#1107) that was designed for a wheelchair. Absolutely perfect. The resort is very nice. The food was good. A new chicken rottisorie has been added to the bigger buffet. Fresh chicken every night. I was impressed with their mashed, baked and roasted potatoes every night. You don't always find potatoes at Cuban buffets. It made it easy to feed the children with this staple.The rate to convert our Cdn $ to tourist pesos was 1.1567 ...Therefore we lost around $15.00 per hundred. "Roberto's Pizzeria" was good but I recommend that you take oregano , basil or Italian seasonings from the Dollarama store. Someone had given Roberto some and what a difference in the taste by adding a few spices. A great gift for him when you leave. Also take some Heinz ketchup packets and jam. There is none to be found at this resort. You will be glad you did. They do have maple syrup. The ice cream bar was a hit for the little ones. The nightly entertainment was ok. We had a midnight flight home. We paid 5 pesos an hour to keep our room until 6pm. The bus picked us up at 7pm.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1107,1102 & 2105. Easy access to the pool, main lobby and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greta001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,747
    590
    252
    123
See reviews for
1,200
1,576
116
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I were at this resort from March 21-28, this is our second time at this resort, we vacationed here 7 years ago. This time we found the resort much more busier than last time. We booked with Air Canada Vacations and paid extra for a superior ocean view room, upon our arrival we were given our room, which was room 204, the room was musty and wow, 2 twin bids, no ocean view, just a palm tree and the 24 hour bar. This was a very bad start to our vacation. I immediately approached the front desk to advise them that we had paid for a superior ocean view room and not the room we were just given, we were advised that the hotel was over-booked and that we would have to speak with the manager the next morning. Well, with all the noise from the bar, we got no sleep and not to mention the beds. Upon speaking with the manager the next morning and explaining our situation to her, she did move us to an ocean view room on the 4th floor, but we could not check into that room until 6 p.m. the next day, so waiting all day to unpack our luggage and settle into our room was a total waste of a day of our vacation. The staff are very friendly and helpful, except for most of the staff at the front receptionist desk, who would not deal with your concerns but pass you off to the manager or guest services. They were very rude and really should take a refresher course in customer service, or better yet, replace them with the staff who worked in the bar, the cleaning staff, the gardeners, etc. these are the people who should be in customer service. Especially one woman at the front desk, whom I did not get her name, found her extremely rude and unprofessional, and after speaking with other guests, found that they were of the same opinion. Every morning my husband and I would go to the beach to find chairs and put our towels down like so many other people on the resort did. 4 days into our vacation when we went down to the beach to find 2 people sitting in our chairs that we had reserved by putting our towels down early that morning. Not only did these people take our chairs but they felt they could also steal our towels. Then we had to call guest services who came to the beach to speak with these people and of course they denied everything, so my husband and I had to have our towels replaced so we would not be charged for the towels. I have been at many resorts over the past 10 years and have never had to deal with someone taking your beach chairs, not to mention your towels. We had to be out of our room on the 28th at 12:00 noon. We had requested late check out for 4 p.m. as our bus to the airport would not be until 6 p.m. Upon enquiring about this late check out, we were advised that there would be a charge of 5 pesos for every hour. We were totally in agreement with this, but were advised that we would have to request late check out on the day of our departure and no sooner. On the morning of the 28th, we attended at the customer service desk at 7:30 a.m. and were advised that we would have to come back at 9:30 and speak with the manager. When we returned at 9:30 a.m., the same person who told us to come back at 9:30, gave us late check out and charged us 20 peso's. Such a total lack of communication to have your guests waiting around for no reason. This is totally unacceptable. The food this time was 100% percent better than our first visit here. The weather was beautiful the whole week, a little windy the last 2 days. I found this time that there were a lot of locals on the resort and beach, while these people are very warm and friendly, it was a bit over-crowded. When my husband and I were on the beach on the Sunday after our arrival, it was quite busy. We had a local woman with her young daughter approach us and ask if we could get her some shampoo. We felt bad that we had to ignore her. The maid, Neidra who did our room was extremely friendly and did a very good job, always smiling. Our first experience at this resort 7 years ago was extremely positive that we would return, our only dislike at that time was the food, which has improved greatly the second time around. I would definitely return to Cuba, not so sure I would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our third visit to Brisas (March 7 - 21) and we were not disappointed. It was great to re-acquaint with staff and returning friends. Once again, we were located in the villas, our preference. The room had recently been refurbished - newly painted and also new bedspread and drapes, The food, refreshments and entertainment? Great! The weather? Perfect . . . it rained once during the night.

I think the highlight of our vacation would probably be our trip to Holguin to take in an evening baseball game. Thanks to Jorge, Westjet rep., for recommending it! The stadium was at capacity with over 23,000 fans. Great atmosphere and the noise was deafening! We also did the Cuban Life tour which was very enjoyable. The tour took us into the beautiful countryside, to a small village, a plantation and the Indian Village where we enjoyed a very nice lunch. We left the hotel about 9:15 a.m. and were back about 1:30 p.m. so still had the afternoon left to enjoy the beach/pool. We also walked to El Ancla one day and enjoyed a lovely lunch. The view was fantastic!

We also took advantage of booking the VIP area at the airport for our return flight - no standing in line to check in, moved quickly through immigration and were in the VIP lounge within a very short time of arriving at the airport! Well worth the money in our opinion.

Will we return? I'm sure we will!

Room Tip: Prefer the villas. Have been in Villa 1, 3 and 7. No problems with any of the locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Me and my now husband chose this hotel to get married and have our honeymoon, it was great, everything was organised for us! Really stress free! We got married in the gardens and the setting was gorgeous! They decorated everything lovely and the band, staff and organiser were great.
The complex itself is really big, definitely the biggest all inclusive I have stayed in, so many restaurant and bar options, we never had any trouble getting in any of them.
I really liked the Italian restaurant the best.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, always smiling
I'm a really fussy eater but always managed to find something I really liked, we loved the cappuchino bar the cocktails there were fab!
We went on one of the catamaran trips to paradise island, the whole day was lovely and relaxing, would def recommend.
We stayed in the villas section which was perfect for us as it's a lot quieter there and on the beach, there's also another pool there which is quieter with another bar right by, the entertainment is by the main pool which runs most of the day.
Def check out the water ballet if it's on while your there, it's fab!
We would definitely return to this hotel, it was fantastic!

Room Tip: Definitely book the villas if your not an early riser like us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our first trip to Brisas Guardalavaca after numerous visits to other parts of Cuba. On the whole the experience was fantastic The staff were really friendly and very helpful. Food was fantastic and the beach was beautiful (as long as you were there to stake your "comfy chair claim" before 6.30 am !!!) The only downside to the whole trip was the front reception staff. They were rude, ignorant and generally very unhelpful. Everything seemed to be too much trouble for them. That's of course if you could get them to acknowledge you as they were usually talking to each other or would answer the phone in front of you and then carry on a conversation for a couple of minutes. I could understand if they were rushed off their feet but usually there were four people on the front t desk. I really think they could do with a refresher course on customer relations !! On the whole the place is really great and would recommend it as long as you stand your ground with the front desk crew.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I just got back from a week at the Brisas with my family. It was my first time to this resort and it was amazing! We stayed on the villa side which was much quieter then the hotel side. The pools were always clean and we had no problems finding a chair by the pool. If you are going to hit the beach and want some chairs under the umbrellas your gonna need to be up before the sun. The beach was clean, some seaweed but thats expected it is the ocean.

The entire staff was more then helpful and so friendly. We met some great people Falco at the villa side bar, he always made sure we had a cold drink and a few shots. Frank at the omelet station and of course Roberto who makes the best pizza. PIZZA PIZZA PIZZA!! A great selection of food which to my surprise very tasty and had lots of flavour. We had 4 of the a la carte restaurants : seafood, international, Italian and the beach dinner (which cost extra, but totally worth it for the fresh lobster tail). To all the people who complained about the food you must be extremely picky. There is more then enough food to choose from at the a la carte and buffet.

The entertainment was outstanding!! The bands they have come in are extremely talented and play a variety of music. They got everyone up dancing and singing. Not your typical resort entertainment with the silly games. Make sure you watch the water ballet on Thursday night.

Our room on the villa side was very large always kept clean. We had a beautiful view of the beach/ocean.

I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurenhill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We returned last thursday from a 2 week stay celebrating our wedding anniversary and our friends 50th birthday. We had a fabulous time, we stayed in the villas, which were very spacious and quiet. The hotel and grounds are very well kept and clean. The staff are amongst the nicest people I have ever met, they were all happy and friendly and always had a smile on their faces.

We went snorkelling on the beach and also on the Paradise Island trip, both times we saw some beautiful colourful fish. The trip was on a catamaran and I can highly recommend the rum punch!

We caught the tourist train outside the hotel which took us to the Indian village, the trip was just over 2 hours and cost approx £7, we stopped enroute to give small gifts of sweets, pencils, toiletries etc to the local children, who were very appreciative.

The food in the buffet restaurant was very good, and a special mention to the lovely lady who cooks pancakes and flambe bananas, look forward to those again next year. The bars were all superb, from the Havana rum club, Martini bar, lobby bar etc, we didn't have any bad experiences.

There are always plenty of sunbeds at the pools but not enough shade, the beach is better but the beds do get reserved very early in the day. There are also very comfortable hammocks a available all over the complex.

Although this is a large complex, nowhere was ever packed so you could always find somewhere to sit without a problem. We met some wonderful people during the holiday, from all over the world, there are lots of Canadian people at this hotel, and we spent many hours enjoying a chat over a rum or pina colada. It is a very sociable friendly hotel, and one of the best holidays we've had. In fact we are booking again for next March and hopefully another couple from this year will be joining us.

Thank you to all of the staff at Brisas, look forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janeyh1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
84.0 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,586 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
4.4 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

Property: Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Address: Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Hotel Guardalavaca
Guardalavaca Brisas Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel Cuba - Holguin Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing