We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great resort, would go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great resort, would go again!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and i went for a week vacation at brisas guardalavaca, the first week in april. i wasn't sure what to expect, as I have been to varadero twice before, and this was my first visit to holguin. the resort itself was great - we were on the 5th floor of the main building, with a great view of the ocean. i definitely recommend spending a bit more on an oceanview, (even if you're not in your room often, it just is quite nice and offers a nice breeze). the room was larger than i thought it would be, and was clean and comfortable. the bed was a bit hard, but that really wasn't a problem. lots of closet space (if you're like me and like to have your clothes hanging up, instead of crumpled in a suitcase for a week :).. the maid Mirya was fantastic, as I'm sure most others are.

The food was fine, and i found something every meal to eat. There was a huge breakfast buffet and dinner buffet - and I recommend bringing some CUC down to tip the people. Roberto's pizza, next to the pool, was fantastic.

The a la carte's were fine, nothing too fancy, but are spread out throughout the resort, so it was a nice change of scenery to "go out" for dinner. We didn't spend much time at the pool, but mainly at the beach. The beach was gorgeous! The only downside is that there were not a lot of shaded areas, and you need to go down early to get chairs. They seemed to be making a lot of the thatched umbrellas while we were there, so there may be more in the near future.

All in all, I really enjoyed this resort, and I'd go back here over any of the places I've been in Varadero. I felt the people were very friendly and helpful, and I loved the little promenade that you can take all the way to the market. Met some wonderful people there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    1,747
    590
    251
    123
See reviews for
1,200
1,574
116
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brisas is about an hour away from holguin airport by coach. Nice hotel, nice rooms in the villas and great beach. I would recommend the villas as the rooms in the hotel are small, well at least in comparison to the villas. The beach is amazing and plenty to do. Id say try the small catamaran on the beach, its free, all you need to do is offer a tip if you enjoy it for about 5pesos. The theme in cuba is TIP, unlike anywhere ive ever been everyone in cuba wants a tip, even in toilets. Not in the hotel, the staff are lovely and dont expect which makes you want to give more but outside is very different. The market is a must and is a 10 min walk along the beach, if your lucky a cuban band might be playing who are usually great however again need tipping.
Havana! Absolutely amazing trip, flew from holguin, picked up a few people in cayo coco but got there within 2hrs. DO NOT carry lighters if you take hand luggage as they will be confiscated! Ask your rep what you can take as its totally different from the UK. The trip was called havana by night and wow was it an eye opener. Our guide was Chris, and all i can say is thank you. So we were meant to fly home and sadly there were only russian aircrafts in havana so we had to take a coach! The journey is approx 16hrs so is not great. Make sure you have extra money in havana just incase this happens.
Whilst in havana the Tropicana show is a MUST its the best in the world and sure anyone would love it!
Holguin by night is also a great trip, small version of tropicana but still good. I felt a bit scared in certain places in holguin and havana as many people do approach you, but now i realised i shouldnt have been, its safe and all you have to say is no gracias.
Back to brisas, daytime entertainment is hit n miss, some days loads some days not much. Evening shows are nice! One thing i believe the animation team did do was interact with new guests, they are very good at looking after canadians and people who spend most of their lives there but for new guests they were rubbish!!!this will not entice people to come back and for the animation team attitude this is why my party will not return!!!! A shame as the bar staff, waitress's are all very pleasant. Id like to say a massive thank you to Nacho, Idi, Roger, Jesus and sandra from housekeeping. I dont know the lifeguard that is usually at the hotel pool but this man was like lightening, saved a child and adult when i was there and he deserves a huge thanks!
The above staff were lovely people, happy and a great asset to your team again a big shame that returning guests get special treatment (of which i have never seen in my life anywhere in the world) everyone should be treated the same.
Had a ride in a chevy and they are worth every penny, if they were in england someone quite rightfully said they would be a millionaires toy!!
Dont believe every story you get told, not everyone is on the breadline and its quite the opposite, cubans do get looked after in many ways so use informed common sense when thinking of any substantial donations.
Oh i almost forgot about the food, its a joke! But not just in the hotel, anywhere we ate in cuba was bland and pretty bad and i eat anything, the pizzas and chips were nice.

So in conclusion cuba will teach you alot if you leave the hotel and use common sense, their culture community and lifestyles are amazing to see and people are very welcoming.
Brisas can improve if they employ new animation teams and chefs who are chefs and not doctors.
Any questions give me a shout

Room Tip: I stayed in a villa which is about double the size of a hotel room. Great views of the gardens and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkyskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

just come back from a 2 week trip and what can I say we were a group of 4 girls and we had best time the weather was perfect the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful rooms were spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble The paradise island day trip is a must and dolphin trip Nacho our favourite waiter never seen us with an empty glass a small tip is really appreciated but not expected def will be returning next year. Def recommend the Italian restaurant

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cathem08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fabulous resort in Cuba, we can say nothing bad about the room,staff,food,drinks or atmosphere.
We stayed in the main building, Oceanview 504,very nice and quiet (except one night). Great chambermaid, Mirya.
If you are looking for dead quiet (in May) go to the Villa's. If you want to be handy everything and have a great view, book Oceanview main building.
Book it and you won't regret the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room 504 in the main building, excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HalifaxBluenoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we went to brisas atleast 15 times and every time it gets better, the manager , public relations are great they will help you with many request,the staff are excellent at all area of the resort ,the food was also very good , we loved staying in the villas ocean view , we will be back

Room Tip: villas are the best area nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in Villa #7205 on April 14-28th . Great central location - 1 min. from hotel pool, villa pool
and beautiful beach .

ROOM : Large mini-suite . Clean and comfortable with huge bed and views of ocean and tennis courts .

POOLS: Villa was more laid back than Hotel pool , but was our choice due to Dani and Aymara the bartender and waitress . Had some great talks . Hotel pool was more active with the entertainment staff getting people involved in daily activities .

BARS : All 9 bars were great as far as service and drink selection . Coffee bar in hotel had a nice ambience as well as international drinks and great Spanish and Irish coffee . Hotel lobby bar - (Daniel- keep smiling) was especially popular during the early evening entertainment which was of high caliber .Havana bar was always busy but had no shade .Villa Lobby Bar was always cool due to constant breezes , great place to relax and sip a few cold ones .

FOOD : We liked the food 13 years ago and it has only gotten better . Great selection in the hotel buffet and the Pasta and Grill areas will cook to order . 24 Hour Bar serves pizza, burgers , hot dogs and there is a salad and fruit bar. We found all were good .Did not frequent the A'la Cartes except for lunch , we were more than happy with the Buffet for breakfast and dinner .

GROUNDS: The gardeners and grounds crews kept all of the resort ,including the beautiful beach , in pristine condition . The walk along the Boardwalk to the Market is absollutely stunning.

BEACH: great sand ,shade , loungers and Ocean .

STAFF: From front desk , to maids, waiters , bartenders and ground crews , we have never encountered staff that are so kind and genuinely happy to have you visit their resort .
Thank you again Julio (Villa Reception) for all your help and assistance, it was very much appreciated .

MARKET : Great place to pick up souvenirs and cool off with a drink at one of the 2 bars while enjoying the daily entertainment . You can take a horse and buggy (Jose) or your choice of a vintage car back to the hotel for 3 CUCs .

MISC: double decker bus was a fun way to see the countryside and the horse and buggy tours around the complex helped you get a taste of cuban life .
The atmosphere at Brisas is family friendly and allows you to be as active or as laid back as you want. Only48 more weeks to go .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrsboro Nova Scotia canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Travelled to this resort April 17-May 2.with my wife.We stayed in the villa section which is quiter than the hotel section.We stayed in room 8304 third floor room over looking the water it was beautiful.The rooms are somewhat dated but they are very clean.The maids to a great job.the beds are comfortable no complaints besides only in the room to sleep and clean up.
the beach is great but white sandy beaches with warm water are.they are clean and it is a private beach for this resort.Lots of places to get in the shade.There is a resturant next to the beach where you can get something to eat and have a chance to relax.
The food at this resort is the best I have had.The alcartes are great especially good
the Buccano and International these were the best.that we tried.
The front desk was always helpful with any problems we had and things were looked after promptley and always with a smile.
This was our third trip to Cuba and this is the best resort so far the number of bars especially the Hanava Bar and all the different resturants make it the perfect size.You can walk from one end to the other in five minutes or less.
the entertainment goes from great to soso but but mostly it is good if we didn't like the act that was on stage we walked on the beach back to our room.
The staff at this resort are great and warm up to you very quickley
especially after they get to know you,
I will be going back to Brisas and hopefully next year.I will be looking forword to it I can.t wait .

Room Tip: if you want quiet stay in the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
84.0 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,581 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
4.4 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

Property: Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Address: Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Hotel Guardalavaca
Guardalavaca Brisas Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel Cuba - Holguin Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing