We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting- but don't come in the dark!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Huge Comfortable rooms,. Delightful beach location with beautifully laid out gardens and pools + many facilities. The layout is very confusing, and finding the apartment blocks in the dark is extremely difficult, particularly Apartment Block 3 which is hidden behind 2, and signposting leaves somewhat to be desired. Food in specialist restaurants in this "all inclusive" resort is better than main Buffet Restaurant.

Room Tip: Apartment rooms very pleasant and close to sea but don't arrive in the dark unless you know the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,142)
There are newer reviews for Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,282 - 2,288 of 4,142 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

good food and staff, funny show at the night club.
good doughnut stand behind the main pool.
vendors along the ocean boardwalk, they do not harass you though :D
AMAZING BEACH!! Trust me!
If you go to the seafood restaurant you will see a rock point. go snorkeling off it about 300 ft!
It's pretty good, not world class or anything, but lots of fish

the dolphin excursion is worth your money! you catamaran, visit 2 snorkeling spots (the guides
give you bread so the fish swarm you... IT IS AMAZING
the dolphins are very cool, you can even stand on there noses

defenatly a top spot in Holguin area

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank alex-asdfghjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

brisas hotel was lovely the staff all great very cheerful,only thing was there is a need for more sun shades around pool.also the music being played all day was so loud,they was no quite time if you wanted to sleep.food not that great but loads to choose,beach great.trips we took were really good.would go back to cuba,but would go nearer havana.

Room Tip: we had room in front very quite
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was my 10th trip to Brisas. From the moment I arrived it was a great experience. The check-in was quick and easy. They have me as a repeat guest so got my bottle of rum. I was in room 370 which has a huge balcony. It has two sun chairs. I never used them since I wanted to spend my time of the beach. It has a great ocean view. You are a 2 min walk at most to the beach. Does not get any better than that. It has plenty of bars all over the resort. So you never more than 2-3 min walk to any bar. The bar service was already great. Being repeat guest I know most of the staff. They ever serve you on the beach if your close to the beach bar. Getting your drinks brought to you on the beach is perfect. Oscar at the beach bar does a great job. Jose at the swim-up bar is very funny and makes sure your having a good time. The buffet restaurant was really good. Lot's to chose from. For Breakfast they have a lady making fresh pancakes and a man making eggs. For lunch and dinner they had pasta station. The shows at night are pretty good. The water ballet show is incredible and should not be missed. The Disco was pretty quiet, but you could always go to the 24 hour bar. Overall I had a great time. Any questions feel free to email me

Room Tip: Room 370 has a great ocean view and a huge balcony
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Sim0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

What a lovely hotel, what lovely people, yes they painting the outsides of the buildings, but you wouldn't know unless you happen to be walking by. The fact that they are doing the painting now is re assuring that they look after the place, the hotel cannot look pristeen all the time and this is their quite time.
My partner i have to say were allocated a room on the ground floor next to the pool and entertainment, we went to reception asked could we move, they moved us to the top floor over looking the roof and right next to the esculator. The following morn we asked if we could up grade to one of the shalets in the grounds again no problem we over looked the tennis court and sea wonderful well worth it if you can afford it. Do it at the hotel not through the travel company its cheaper as the travel company stick on their percent.
The two day trip to Havana is a must for everyone the rum factory tour is not to be missed the guide is so funny and the seven year old rum is to die for trust me.
The staff could not be any friendlier, especially the waiting staff in the main resturant, if you go to the international resturant ask for a spanish coffee its wonderful you will wonder why you didn't have one before.
I will say that when it rains it rains but an hour later its dry again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank blueboytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Not a huge property and never more than a 5 minute walk from the beach or a restaurant or bar. What it may lack in luxury and finish it makes up for with functionality and cleanliness. The rooms and furnishings were a little tired but everything worked fine, including hot water and decent pressure in the bathroom. Oceanview rooms have excellent, unobstructed ocean views.

Staff were friendly & efficient and kept the property & beach clean. All spoke some English.

The buffet food was flavourful and they never ran out. A little repititous but tasty. There were some shortages of the dishes listed on the menus at the a l carte restaurants, but still the best food I've had in several trips to Cuba. 24 hour snack bar (burgers, sandwiches & fries type food) and also a 24 hour bar by the main pool. Swim up bar and lots of chairs around the pools and the beach. The beach had white sand and palm trees and even some hammocks & swings. No stray garbage or peddlers.

Tips: There's an open air - very cozy little bar called the Havana Club at the west end of the 4th floor of the main building. It's open from 4 to 10PM. The 2 lit tennis courts are in good shape. Guests can borrow books from the towel shack on the beach: Leave one/ take one. All good. The music IS a little overbearing in the evenings from the stage at the main pool. Choose a villa or gardenview room if you prefer quiet. There's really nothing in the area to walk to or see, sadly. It's about a 50 minute drive from Holguin airport. The lock & key for the in-room safe costs 14 covertable pesos per week.

I paid less than $800 for a week including flights, all-in from Toronto. For that price, this place had outstanding value for the facilities it had. Like I said, it's not luxury but is great if you are just looking for sun, sand, decent food and good service for a good price in Cuba.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just back from two brilliant weeks at The Brisas. The hotel is clean but a little dated. What do you want, this is Cuba. Grab a bottle of Havana Club and relax. The food was good, varied and plentiful. All the staff, ie, waiters, pool bar and swim-up bar staff, snack bar staff and the cleaners were wonderful. The pool was clean and the beach was too. My daughter was married on the beach and it was a wonderful afternoon. The hotel wedding coordinator could not do enough for us. If you are getting married there, I advise a carriage trip from the Hotel front to the beach. Walk on the beach side path to the craft market and take a carriage or American car taxi back. For 3 Peso, you can't go wrong. If you want an English breakfast every day, chips with everything and a British pub, GO TO BENIDORM.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and pool bar area are sometimes noisy late at night.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Graham6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
6.7 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
84.0 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,489 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Veste Plus AI
4.4 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,696 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

Address: Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range: $95 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Hotel Guardalavaca
Guardalavaca Brisas Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel Cuba - Holguin Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing