We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation spot in Cuba”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rafael Freyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Awesome! We have been travelling to Cuba since 1998 and LOVE Cuba. Holguin is our favourite area of Cuba--fabulous scenery, great snorkeling and beaches, friendly locals!
Playa Costa Verde is our FAVOURITE resort. Comfortable surroundings, delicious fresh food, clean accommodations and friendly, helpful staff! We truly can relax and enjoy a stress free vacation at this resort. Special thanks goes out to Ricardo for helping us get seats with our new
British friends at the specialty restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiesandyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear jamiesandyOntario, Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding Playa Costa Verde. We will be very honoured to host you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us again.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 4,482 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Well all in all, apart from a few things it was a fantastic holiday!!, so i will start from beginning to end.,
Booking.

Me and my partner booked this holiday through Thomas Cook in store and the staff were fantastic, couldnt do enough for us, they sorted out the visas and had them sent out to us at home.

The Flight

At the airport Thomas Cook are strict on weight, and they did weigh our hand luggage which is no more than 5KG each, but its more than enough, as working as cabin crew anything much over 5kg wont fit in the lockers!!. Anyway normal airport stuff as expected however when we got to the gate and got onboard the aircraft, the aircraft was a Boeing 767 and not an Airbus A330 with the brand new cabin, as we had been told when booking the holiday. We were told by the captain that the aircraft we should have been on had a technical problem so they put us on a standby aircraft, not ideal but we had no delay and who wants to fly on a plane thats broken!!! so Thomas cook did a fantastic job!!.

Once we got off in Holguin we had to clear immigration which can take quite some time, so take a drink off the aircraft, once you have passed immigration you have to que up and go through a metal detector and have your hand luggage scanned, why i dont know but you have to do it. once through there its time to pick up the bags however when you go to walk out of the airport your bags get sort of ticked off, on the plane the crew will bring round like a landing card, just keep that with you and you give it to the person stood at the exit to the airport, a little confusing but itll make sence.

The Hotel
When you get to the Hotel, the waiters come round and offer you cocktails, which is just what you need after traveling believe me!!, once checked in just walk to the front with your cases and a buggie will come, pick you up and take you to your room, or you can choose to walk if you do so wish. the complex is quite big but not too big, your never more than 5 minutes away from anything. The pool is pretty big, not too deep im only 5'9 and i could always touch the bottom, the pool bar is fantastic and the drinks through the hotel are fantastic, not too strong and a BIG TIP!!, take a thermos flask and have your drinks made in them by the pool, you get more and they stay cold!!!. The snack bar is pretty good for food its hot and fresh, but dont bother waiting for a drink there, you might die of dehydration before you get one. i stood at the bar and the barman said to me "i wont be a moment", and then some more people came and stood at the bar, and when he came back, preceded to serve these people first, when i questioned him he said "Ladies first" which is all very nice, but when youve been stood there 10 maybe 15 minutes (no exaggeration) waiting for a drink and other people just walk up and get served!!!.

The Rooms
The rooms are pretty good, quite big, with an en-suit bathroom wardrobe free safe, the decor is a bit dated but you only sleep and get ready in your room so you dont notice it. The beds well there massive, but not very comfortable, but im not grumbling. the rooms are in blocks 4 rooms upstairs 4 rooms downstairs which is all very well, however we had some drunken canadians one night banging doors, however once we had shouted at them they kept quiet.

The Beach

The beach is AMAZING, theres not much more to say!!, you can walk to either end past all the other hotels, and it is some coral as you walk out into the sea, but if you pick a path through to the soft sand behind its lovely, and the sea is like bathwater!!! also to get the the beach you have to walk over a nature reserve which is fantastic

The Food

In the snackbar the food is hot and fresh, you can order at the bar (which if you have been reading, dont!!) or just sit at a table and someone will come over with a menu and take your order. The A'la carte restaurants are pretty good, the Cuban is very nice all open air all in all a nice experience, and the food is lovely, Lobster all included, the Japanese is a fantastic experience, 8 people sit around a hot plane with a chef who cooks right in front of you!!, we didnt eat in the Italian, people we had met said it wasnt very good. The buffet..... Rite well here goes. All in all not brilliant. at breakfast if you want a table, get there at 7 - 7;30 is you want a table and fresh food, anything after that and you wont be able to get a table easily, the waiters walk round with coffee in pots however one day we had to share a table with some french canadians, the waiters came over and set there side of the table and gave them coffee, and then walked off and left us, until i shouted her back, to which we then finally got coffee, so the service isnt brilliant. the food its self, mehh its alright its just a buffet breakfast, what more do you expect, there are 3 stations in which you can get omelets and pancakes, however if you wish to stand waiting for 20 minutes for pancakes it isnt worth it. And its the same story at Dinner / Tea, very busy, there were no where near enough tables!!!.

The Staff

99 percent of the staff are fantastic they cant do enough for you however we did have a few issues, one was as i mentioned before about waiting for years at the snack bar for a drink, and the other was guest relations, quite a tall skinny lady with glasses and always wears high heals, on the second to last day me and my boyfriend were just swimming in the pool, doing what normal people do, and she came over and asked could we get out so she could have a "word" with us, so she took us into a quiet part of the snack bar and sat us down, however she had brought along a security guard, which we found very partitioning!! so we brought one of our friends we had made, because he was quite a burly bloke, thats how we felt, However the guest relations woman told us to tone down at being a gay couple and that its a family resort, well i nearly hit the roof, i was not happy at all, in my eyes it brought the hotel right down, and its a good job it happened on the last full day because after that i just wanted to leave that hotel and come home!!!, and even though they say its a family resort, anywhere you look there are women sunbathing with there breasts out, not very family ish but they didnt get told, nor did any other normal couple, but all the same sex couples got told to "tone it down". it all annoyed me because every other hotel we have stayed in, it hasnt been an issue however here is a different story, its a shame because we have said we wont return to this hotel again because of that.

and finally the Canadians

The english speaking canadians were lovely!!, very chattly and lovely to be around, the French canadians, they were just rude!!.


Also there is a 25 Peso airport tax charge to leave the country, so when you get there, put 25 pasos in your passport ready for the way home.


And thats it, I hope this review has been a help in helping you to decide on where to stay, Have a good holiday!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gmonk757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear gmonk757,
First of all we want to thank you for posting your very detailed comments regarding Playa Costa Verde on Tripadvisor. We are very concern about the impression you had for the incident you mentioned with our guest relation lady. We want to say that any discrimination including for sexual orientation is against the law in Cuba. On the other hand, as family resort with more than 100 kids at the hotel, is our responsibility to avoid any behaviour that could be understood as sexual, mainly if it is a complain of other guests. It is in our standard to talk to the couple in a discrete place, explaining the situation and ask them to accomplish the hotel rules in this regard. All this was done in a very respectful manner. We also need to say that we do this when it is needed with any couple not matter their sexual orientation. We are really sorry you misunderstood our intention so we apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our resort visiting us again. If so, please fill free to contact me directly.
Pedro Otero
Guest Service and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our 2nd time to this hotel, as returning guests we had rum in the room, late check out, discount on massage and vip lobster meal which was amazing. Note ppl say the 6th/7th visit is free, this is only for canadians, they also got a safari included on paradise island trip which was amazing also, very good value, uk get a bottle of rum but can pay €9 for the safari. We did not enjoy the hotel as much as before, it was alot busier and hard to get served in the lobby bar and not always a table, also had to wait a few times for a table in the buffet, the buffet food was very good always something to choose from, sometimes there was a wait for the stations but not too long.
most staff were friendly the odd few were a bit rude (can get that anywhere tho)
There were 3 ala carte, the cuban which was ok, bit hit and miss but worth doing, the italian, dont bother awful, and the japanese, amazing!! They also had a grill €10 for fish of the day €15 for steak and €20 for lobster, all very tasty and worth doing.
there is kayaks, hobbi cat, pedlo available at the beach included, also different markets in the hotel every day, have a walk to the blau for a change of scene and markets.
trips... there was 2 dolphin trips, some people in our group did dinner with them andloved it. Paradise island amazing and beautiful, lots of lizards and iguana.
Jeep safari which takes you to a farm and many more.

tips... yes there is coral, you can get in without shoes in parts, I would recommend them tho.
not as many fish this time for snorkeling but still a few different ones.
There is a bus at 930am that takes you into holguin €15 return, try and do on a cooler day tho, very hot, its a poor country and a real eye opener, i wouldnt say they hastle you but they do ask for money, people on the markets tell them to leave us alone tho.
there is a train every day 930am to guardlavaca? It takes you to a market and beach, there is a few ppl selling peanut butter, worth a try yummy!
You dont need to tip much but is appreciated if you do.
take a bubba keg.
rum no cheaper at airport.
we did a taxi for the day €40 and the driver stay with you all day we went to the cigar factory and cigars cheaper here than the hotel,
yes I would stay here again for a good price, hope this helps.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank jamesabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear jamessabi, Thank you very much for your comments regarding our resort. It a real pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us and you are considering returning and joining to the huge Playa Costa Verde repeat guest family. I want to say that in our Repeat Program it is included a free week stay (land portion) after 5 paid stays of at least seven nights. It is valid for all nationalities. We want to say that we are working on improving the Italian restaurant so we bought new furniture and crockery. We are changing the menu so we are confident to get a real improvement in this area. We need to say we feel proud to have very friendly and polite staffs that perform professionally, who consider their best award the complete satisfaction of our guests. Your comment to have somebody rude pushes us to keep our work in this direction. Please feel free to contact me directly for any request and you can be sure we will do our utmost to accomplish it. We hope to have you back very soon.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 28th march. After a long flight we were greeted with a nice cold drink and given our room keys and told to come back the next day with our passports. As the resort is not to big we didn't wait for the bell boy we took our cases and found the room quite easily. The room was a little shabby but the bed was comfortable and the air con was really good and it was clean. The food was good and even better if you go to the cooking stations. We tried the cuban restaurant but the food and service was terrible but the Japanese was really good.
They do have a problem with birds landing on the food in the buffet which I think they need to sort out.
The beach is amazing but bring beach shoes. We went on the 4x4 challenge it was really good value, speed boat, horse riding and driving up a mountain also a visit to a farm which was nice. Be warned the drinks are really strong!
All the staff and the cuban people I met were really nice and friendly and I would return the Cuba in a heart beat but may be try a different area next time but I would recommend costa verde to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 12jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear 12jane,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our hotel. We are really sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay in our hotel and be sure we will analyze every detail to avoid it happen again. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in Playa Costa Verde soon.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have just come back from one week all inclusive at this hotel.
We had a fantastic time, I can highly recommend it.
The food at the buffet restaurant was excellent and had lots of choice. If you wish to book any of the other restaurants on site, I would suggest you do it as soon as you arrive as we were unable to get in to the Japanese, which came highly recommended.
The apartments block themselves we a bit dated but very clean and came equipped with everything you need.
The beach was a two minute walk towards the back of the complex, the beach itself was breathtaking. We had to go early to reserve our spaces but there was a group of 12 so can understand that.
I would love to go back to Cuba, but next time would stay for two weeks :-)

Room Tip: All i would recommend would be to ask for a room on the first floor and not on the ground floor. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZJames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear ZJames2014,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding Playa Costa Verde. It is very glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays. It will be a real pleasure to host you again if you decide to return and then please feel free to contact directly with us to help you with your requests always pending on the availability.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had 15 days at the hotel complex and was greeted with such warmth which continued all through our amazing holiday there. We took our little grandson who is nearly 2 years old who so enjoyed the mini disco, especially when the amazing Lia was running it who was such fun and a lovely lady. we would like to see her running most of the youngsters events as no one compared with her!! If you go to the zoo and they suggest you hold a very large hawk, no leather glove offered, Do Not accept as I ended up with talons through my arm and a very bloody mess with a tear in my eye. The Cubans are such friendly and warm people and the facilites on offer for the price was very good! If we want another holiday with guaranteed sunshine offering an inexpensive holiday we would return. A good holiday and great friends made.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid land crabs an upstairs room is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Janet S,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding Playa Costa Verde. It is very glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays. It will be a real pleasure to host you again if you decide to return and then please feel free to contact directly with us to help you with your requests always pending on the availability.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

wheelchair adapted room 5419 was very good
grab bar at both sides of toilet and right to left transfer to toilet also room for front transfer. shower chair a bit high for me to use so borrowed a plastic chair, grab bar around wheel in shower and easy use sink with wheel chair access, could even put clothes in wardrobe from wheelchair!! door to balcony; barrier free and bed nice and firm ;approx.. 2 foot in height.
Beach was not too wide and was lovely , with help got down to water as I cannot walk in water floated out to deep enough water to swim, be mindful of the coral though.
ramps to pool area and restaurants, mainly friendly helpful people in hotel.
did one trip out to Santiago de Cuba in a taxi, visited toilet at the Melia hotel , went to the casa Grande hotel side entrance two steps people helped lift me in also visited the grave yard where some famous Cubans were buried you can get a guided tour there,unfortunately most museums looked like they had a number of steps in . Landscape interesting on route.
Food at hotel just passable glad only had one week there as I probably wouldn't enjoy another week of same food. Over all we had an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mesmoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear mesmoria,
Thank you very much for your kind and nice comments regarding our hotel. We are happy you spent a wonderful vacation in our hotel. Be sure it is our goal to increase the level of service we provide to all our guests. Hoping to have you back soon.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
6.2 mi away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
78.7 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,506 reviews
6.6 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Villa La Roca
Villa La Roca
#2 of 41 in Holguin
202 reviews
365.2 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
6,942 reviews
403 mi away
Memories Jibacoa
Memories Jibacoa
#1 of 3 in Jibacoa
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range: $80 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El Bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing