We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“playa costa verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“playa costa verde”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have just returned from the Playa Costa Verda, The hotel complex is about a hour from Holgien Airport. On arrival at the hotel I found that the reception was friendly and professional. The rooms were clean, large and well equipped. In the middle of the complex is the pool area. the pool is large with a pool bar if you want to take your drinks in water.
Access to the beach is via a bridge. By the bridge is the hut where you can get your beach towel. The breach is clean with plenty of sun loungers. From 10 am you can get your drinks and food from the beach bar. How ever, Hurricane Sandy stripped some sand from below the water line, this left dead coral exposed, so it is advised that you ware sand shoes if you want to walk out into deep water.
The staff are polite and friendly, even the bar staff smile when under pressure. Be very careful of the cocktails, they are lethal. Remember that if you have an accident while under the influence this will invalid your travel insurance.
There is entertainment each night, but the amplifiers are turn up to full volume. This can be very tiring after about ten minutes. If you want a quite drink then use the beer corner.
On the whole a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joffre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear joffre t,
Thank you very much for your kind and objective comments regarding our hotel. We are happy you spent a wonderful vacation in our hotel. Be sure it is our goal to increase the level of service we provide to all our guests. Hoping to have you back soon.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    1,697
    497
    212
    138
See reviews for
1,215
1,756
167
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I booked the first time to Playa Costa Verde 3 years ago for my husbands birthday. It was GREAT!! From the beginning when we arrived, the staff was friendly, polite , just wonderful. The food, for almost any Caribbean country, was wonderful. Fresh fish everyday, always something to enjoy. The second time we went, two years ago, we both got sick. NOT THE RESORTS FAULT. The staff bent over backwards to help us get better. They would bring anything to our to our room to try and make us comfortable. Last year we made the mistake of going to the Dominican Republic. Not this year. We are heading back next week to enjoy the friendship, warm welcomes and beautiful people that help to make this the best resort in Cuba!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Arlene T,
Thank you very much for such kind comments. We will be waiting for you and your husband trying to do our upmost to make unforgettable this new stay in our resort. Please feel free to contact us directly to set the details and try to fulfil your requests according our availability as we do with all our guests.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We travelled for one week December 2013 to January 2014 to celebrate New Year's Eve, and are a family of four, 2 adults and 4 year old twins (1 child with special needs). Excellent customer service from front desk staff. Food was good. Beach was beautiful, very natural, not bulldozed so expect some rocks that add to the pleasant natural experience. Would say very family friendly.

Room Tip: Second floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttoronto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Toronto22,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our resort. We are really glad you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us and expect to have you back soon.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Booked this holiday through Thomas Cook back in July, Travelling from 27/12/13 - 03/01/14. After being in this hotel less than an hour we realised we had made a huge mistake. The food in the main restaurant was, bland cold and virtually unedible. We tried to make other restaurant reservations, but were told they were all booked, so 3 times a day we ahd to endure this restaurant. The service throughout the stay was awful, often waiting at the bar whilst other customers were served who had clearly just arrived, it seemed the staff had a very clever way of ignoring you, by not making eye contact, or simply walking into the back room. We tried food from the snack bar by the pool. but we found the burgers always seemed undercooked, or again cold!!
While in the restaurants we also had the staff only serving who they wanted, and most meal times, we had no drinks on the table, so simply ate what we could and leave.
At the airport on the day of departure we also noticed that money had dissappeared from my partners wallet, and after speaking to other passengers it seems the maids may have had sticky fingers, couldn't report this as we were about to board the plane.
If you are booked to go to this hotel. GOOD LUCK.........you will need it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear kerry h,
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our resort. As usual we take into consideration all the comments that our guests post in tripadvisor and mainly when the guests are not satisfied with the level of our service provided. We, staff and management, put a lot of our effort to make all our guests enjoy their holidays with us. We fully understand and respect that everyone has his own approach and point of view regarding the hotel services. On the other hand it is really complicated for us to explain to our staff a situation where, one after other, different people has a radical difference in their evaluation about a same thing. We, of course, understand how you can feel if someone stole your wallet and you think it was our maid. In any case your comments will help us to recheck our procedures regarding food and beverage and to increase the friendliness and kindness of our staff
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This will be my 5th time to Costa Verde 10th time to Cuba!
Costa Verde is without a doubt my sister and my second home .
Pedro and Vivian and ALL the staff greet us like " Welcome home family" They are very accommodating if any problem arises and quick to rectify it. I have my own Inn near London Ont. not the size of this place but I understand the stress and accommodating involved in dealing with vacationers and customer service .
These employees and Management continually take it in stride and ALWAYS have a smile and a hug! They CERTAINLY deserve a holiday!
Cant wait to see you ALL again :)
KUDOS to you and congrats for staying No.1 for so many years! Mary & LL Craig

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llcc2457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear friends,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our hotel and its staff. You are also considered part of Playa Costa Verde hug family. We fell very honoured to have you back soon.
Warm regards
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not only was the staff all completely polite and qualified, but the service surpassed my expectations greatly. There was always hot, fresh food available at the 24 snack bar, and the wait for drinks was never excessively long. The food was not horrible by any means, and all 3 restaurants were delicious. We went as a group of 4 girls in our early 20's, and we all found the resort clean, the staff courteous and helpful, and we really felt we lacked nothing whatsoever at the resort. Despite going after Christmas and during New Year's, they did not run out of anything, nor did we feel the service suffered either. Overall, we cannot wait to go again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Kayla B,
Thank you very much for your kind words. When we hear opinions like your, we feel we got our goal and give us more strength in our work. We will be very honoured to have you back in Playa Costa Verde.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent 7 days with wife and two adult children. between Dec 29-jan 5 2014.. Great weather. Beach is bad. Impossible to book a la carte restaurant because they were supposely all full. When we checked and complained because some tables were free a place became available!!!
Many many bugs bite, Had to get some medication upon return to Canada. Never had that in more than 20 trips in the sun Cuba, Mexico, Panama, Venezuela St Marteens and Dominican Rep.

Toilet were not working in lobby. Not hand paper and hand drier did not work all week even if I reported it every day

Bath would not drain properly Toilet would run continously
Ran out of electricity in our room for full night
Spa never worked

First time I write a comment on trip advisor, That how bad I think this resort is..

Room Tip: Avois or expect a 2 star at max
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reg511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.1 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,564 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,638 reviews
6.6 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,045 reviews
4.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing