We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACK FOR A FREE WEEK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Cambridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“BACK FOR A FREE WEEK”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were in PCV the week of Dec. 3-10. This was our 12th time here. You might tell from that fact that we really love it here. The only reason I gave this a 4 star instead of a 5 was because of power problems and bar supplies this time. The food was fantastic, the room was clean and bright, the staff was fabulous, the pool was refreshing and clean, the a la carte restaurants had good food with great service, the front desk was staffed by wonderful ladies and the grounds were beautiful. The power issue had to do with the fact that it went out a lot. We used a flashlight we always bring along to help the cook in the Japanese do his job. Why there aren't some candles around is a mystery. I use a CPAP machine as I have sleep apnea. I had to continually get up to re-insert the card in the electrial slot to re-start the machine each time there was an outage. This happened many times. In the past, power outages occurred infrequently if at all. This really needs to be dealt with. The other issue at the bar was a lack of Scotch and mint. I don't use them together but in separate drinks and there was a shortage on a regular basis.
This was our second free week and we we had a wonderful time as usual. We are already planning to return in Feb./14 for our lucky 13th time. If you have never been to PCV you will surely enjoy it. HOLA

Room Tip: We always ask for a second floor corner room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CANADIAN_IN_CUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear CANADIAN_IN_CUBA,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Playa Costa Verde. We can see you are a very loyal guest of our resort as you have enjoyed for two times the free complimentary week we offer every 5 paid stays with a minimum of 7 days each. As you know, we follow all the opinions posted in Tripadvisor trying to find the proper solution in every case. As you are part of Playa Costa Verde family we will do it with all our pleasure. Regarding the electric supply, Playa costa Verde has not only a main electric supply system but a backup system working without problems. Occasionally, it takes a little time when the main system fails. Of course a problem can occur and we have a technician 24 hours to solve it. It is a shame we never knew about the situation you were having as we can organize an individual back up. Regarding the variety at the bars, it is really important for us to achieve our goal of keeping a continuous improvement of quality to have the better quality / price rate in the area. We are sorry about what punctually could happen. In this moment we have three different brands of scotch and also mint. We are really happy you are coming back in February. Please feel free to contact us directly if you need anything. We wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    1,703
    502
    215
    140
See reviews for
1,220
1,772
167
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here from the 5th of November 2013 for two weeks. Having read reports before we came here, we knew that the Hotel rooms needed updating, and they do. But saying that they are clean and tidy and very large.the bed wasn't to comfy but you can get that in many Hotels. had a pool room view in the 1st floor and it was a great view and we didn't see any bugs in our room. the Food in the restaurant was ok, and the food in the Japanese restaurant was superb. also tried the Italian twice but on each occasion thought the food was poor. Although speaking with other people who stayed, they loved it. All the staff are friendly,and the Hotel grounds are spotless and lovely to wander around.The entertainment was poor in my opinion but that's just my opinion not everybody's. the pool bar was fine although a little noisy at times in the Afternoon. and all the Bar staff try to serve you as quickly as they can, Didn't see any favoritism to other members of the public. the beach is to die for, and you can use some of the facilities that's on the beach for free. the beach bar is great and the Hot dogs are amazing from there. i wouldn't stay here again because there is not much to do at night,although had a great laugh with some people we met there. and the food wasn't as good as i thought it would be. The Cuban people are amazing and always have a smile on their face,and willing to help you. having read some reports on here, you would think it was the pits. well i can assure you it's not. It's just some small things could go along way to get many more coming back again. i spoke with some who had been 4/5 times and they said they wouldn't go back, because it's not as good as it used to be. all in all great time, just would have been greater for better food and entertainment...

Room Tip: Top floor corner room. iron supplied was rubbish, so would take one and Hairdryer wasn't up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
On behalf of Playa Costa Verde Hotel staff and Management team, we want express our apologies for the inconveniences you are stating. As usual, we will be following the issues you pointed trying to find the proper solution in every case. When you decide to It would be our pleasure to host you again in our resort.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were a group of 14 adults and stayed here for 7 days in November. Check in was slow for our whole bus. One suggestion would be to give patrons their keys right on the bus as I have experienced with the Melia in Santa Maria. It just makes your arrival that much more enjoyable.

It is a nice resort, the grounds are clean, the beach is nice. You definitely need water shoes to go into the water: lots of reef on the edge of the beach with sea urchins sticking out of the rocks. However this also makes it a great place to snorkel, even five feet away from the beach when the tide is high. Lots of chairs on the beach too, just ask. We really enjoyed Junior at the beach bar. Always happy to see us! Another suggestion to the resort would be to have Havana Club Rum available at all the bars. The beach and pool bars only have Mulata rum which not great.

The rooms were a little disappointing. However they were very clean and quite large. We needed to ask for our mattress to be changed as one side was OK but the other literally had springs sticking out of it. When I asked our maid Clara, she instantly picked up the phone and requested a new mattress. We slept better that same night (it wasn't our ZedBed or anything but it was better than what we started out with). The decor is dated, 80s style furniture and tiles in the bathroom. A/C worked very well, was not noisy at all and there was no moldy smell in the room.

The buffet is very big and has a lot of different food. Of course after a week, it does get repetitive, that's just normal. One thing I would have preferred is if it would have been closed in. Birds and bugs do get in and it can be a little annoying. Also, I don't think I could handle it in the summer when the temperature is really high. In November it was fine. They have many different grilling stations for chicken, pork, beef and lots of different fish. On any night you could have a choice of 6-7 fish, shrimp, muscles, clams and even baby octopus if you're into that... There is a pasta and pizza station as well. Besides the buffet deserts, you can get flambé bananas...very good. Breakfast was good too. Omelet and egg station and pancakes too. If you crave bacon however, theirs is a little weird. Not what a Canadian would call bacon. Our breakfast and lunch waitress was Zonia. She was so attentive to us, our glass was never empty and we never wanted for anything. She was great!

A la carte restaurants were good too. In order I suggest the Japanese (hi Leo Tremblay!!!), the Cuban and then the Italian.

The pool snack bar was very good too. Fish and chips was great as well as the fried calamari. Hamburgers were Cuban style but they did the job!

We went on 4 excursions:
The first was a 1.5 hour catamaran tour that was complimentary with Caribe Sol Tours. If you go on this, do not let it dissuade you from the full day catamaran trip. This short trip was on a smaller catamaran and we really felt all the wave and the nausea. We litterally got soaked and thrown around the waves on the net.
The whole day catamaran trip was smooth sailing. Snorkeling was beautiful but you can almost see as many fish right off the beach. Dolphin encounter was nice. It was our first time actually in the water with them. Lobster lunch was great as well.
The village tour was really interesting. You get to see a school, a clinic and a 'farm'. Different view of Cuba.
My husband also went to Holguin city and he enjoyed that as well.

The show were so-so. But the aquatic ballet is a must see!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
On behalf of the staff and Management team of Playa Costa Verde Hotel, I want to thank you for your comments. We will be checking all your suggestions trying to find the proper solution in every case. We hope it will be useful for the all the travelers. It would be our pleasure to host you again in our resort.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a three-time visitor to this resort I can attest to the wonderful vacation experience offered by Playa Costa Verde. Cuba is a fascinating country that welcomes visitors to enjoy the fantastic climate and culture.

Playa Costa Verde delivers on both providing a relaxing as well as enlightening travel experience - especially for those who wish to engage with the staff or townspeople who are always willing to share insights about life in Cuba. I believe it is one of the safest destinations to travel in terms of personal and property safety. That in itself makes it a place to easily relax. Furthermore, unlike many other 'resort getaway' destinations, one is not pestered to buy trinkets, T-Shirts, hair braiding, drinks, etc. etc while sitting on the beach or elsewhere. Occasionally, one is lucky enough to have musicians performing along the beach or in some of the restaurants. It's an incredible treat to hear such excellent live music and I am happy to contribute a few pesos for the experience.

The beach is lovely and very accessible with a few entry points that are 100% sand, if one does not wish to step over some of the reef that is a few metres from shore.

The pool is beautifully maintained and offers many areas for sunbathers as well as those preferring to retreat to the shade. It is massive and provides lots of space for all swimming abilities. It would be even more ideal if a pool-side non-smoking area was allocated to ensure a smoke-free environment for those of us who desire it.

I would describe myself as a 'picky' eater, yet found that I always had more than enough selection at every meal. Freshly grilled fish/seafood/chicken was available at every lunch/dinner at the buffet grill stations as well as fresh salads, vegetables and fruit. The a la carte restaurants are all worth experiencing and each has their own unique ambience accented by attentive service. We especially enjoyed a cappuccino each morning in the lobby bar, followed by a delicious breakfast in the Barijay Buffet. We had a favourite area to sit in the open-air environment overlooking the pool and our servers were always friendly and welcoming.

On the very rare occasion an issue or concern arose, it was dealt with immediately and professionally by the front desk staff. If they could not help, it was referred to someone who could resolve the issue promptly. The rooms are clean and spacious. We are always amazed at the plentiful supply of hot water and great water pressure for the shower as well as a personal bidet in the bathroom!

Of note, the entire resort is accessible and ideal for persons with special needs or mobility issues.

Because Cuba places so much value on literacy and education, you will likely find that many of the staff you encounter are highly educated and are often bilingual if not multi-lingual. While Cuba faces challenges regarding the acquisition of material things, they are rich in music, visual arts, dance and athletics. We have found that in addition to relaxing in the sunshine, the Holguin area offers a wonderful chance to get to know more about the culture and people of Cuba as well.

We are already planning to return to Playa Costa Verde again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MiniVaycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for all your good comments of our resort. Playa Costa Verde Management and Staff. You can be sure we wil share this comments with all our personal. We will feel honoured to host you once again in the next future.
Pedro Otero
Quality and guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with friends in October and I was blown away by how much holiday I got for my dollar. It was the slow season so we pretty much had the resort to ourselves and we didn't have to wake up early to reserve beach/pool chairs. The à la carte restaurants were great and I'd definitely recommend the traditional Cuban one for anyone looking for an authentic Cuban experience. The only cons of the trip were that the rooms are kind of out dated and the "bacon product" was questionable. Despite the cons I would stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Daffodileleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you very much for all your good comments of our resort. Playa Costa Verde Management and Staff will feel honoured to host you once again in the next future.
Pedro Otero
Quality and guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyongyang, North Korea
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

it was my 7th time in 3 year at the playa costa verde. its not a chic place but every thing was fine again. good food, good staff and good rhum!!!!!

go with a open mind, a good price and you wont be disapointed.

Thanks to all the staff for another great week.

Alex

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alextherieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
On behalf of the staff and Management team of Playa Costa Verde Hotel, I want to thank you for your comments. We will be checking all your suggestions trying to find the proper solution in every case. We hope it will be useful for the all the travelers. It would be our pleasure to host you again in our resort.
Pedro Otero
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Bhí mé féin agus mo bhean chéile ansin ar feadh coicíse i mí na Samhna... myself and my wife went here for a fortnight in November 2013. We had a lovely lovely time. Our room was very spacious (3222) and Laritza did an excellent job on refreshing the room every day, and was very cairdiúil agus cuidiúil, friendly and helpful. The pool was cleaned regularly. The garden workers were meticulous in keeping the place clean and tidy. The staff driving around about their business in the wee site trucks were always friendly with a greeting and always gave priority to a walking resident. Even though there were no bicycles to hire (a great disappointment to us) our Thomas Cook holiday rep and the locals came to the rescue and we managed to get two family bikes from a lovely wee woman called Odalis about a kilometre down the road. On our cycle to the various villages nearby we were greeted by Cuban people along the entire route with a degree of friendliness I have never received in any other nation I have visited, not even in my own!!! Initially I thought the stony entrance to the sea was a nuisance, but eventually you work out the clear paths in, and then the fish swimming around the rocky bottom really add to the whole experience and is ideal for the lazy snorkeller. The pools are good, and the staff organising activities are so friendly and welcoming. Nice to see the ceiling of the main foyer getting an uplift, although my heart was in my mouth at the workers on top of the light shakey scaffolding (them boys could work in a circus!). The a la carte nights were a treat, and we went to each of them twice: just loved the service in the Japanese, the Cuban, the Venician and the Steakhouse. The Japanese was a special experience both in terms of food and entertainment, and the steak I got in the steakhouse was one of the most perfect I've ever eaten. Was great to meet so many friends from other nations inclusing Canada, Britain, Bavaria etc and sorry for any noise pollution we inflicted with our Irish Céilí in the bar one night! The buffet food was of good quality, but I would advise Irishmen and Irish women and West Europeans against just diving into the meat in the first two days.... stick to the veg and pasta and identifiable foods, and maybe introduce one single small portion of meat that you might not be familiar with. You have to get acclimatised to it. I have been to Varadero in the past, and I also enjoyed that immensely. The main difference I noticed between Varadero and this resort is that Varadero is a part of a very active peninsula so there might be more options outside the resort and it's more 'urban', whereas this resort was more quiet and rural in its location. However, in Varadero it was hard to sit at a table without a band of musicians circling you and you felt obliged to constantly hand out funds you might not have budgeted for, whereas here there was a lot less of that, and indeed, I was pleased to call over the musicians in the Cuban a la carte and they played some lovely music for us... there was no pressure, more a personal choice of ours, and there's a lot more respect and discretion shown to guests in Playa Costa Verde. On our second last day we went to the market in Guardalavaca and bought some amazing wee pieces of handicraft... and we got hit with torrential rain on the way home but myself and about 8 others stayed up on the open top of the bus because it's not often in our own country that we have the pleasure of getting beat up and soaked with warm rain: it was a mad but great experience!! The wee snack bar was a great facility in a hungry hour of need. Recommended changes? Try and arrange some bicycle hire, folks, sin an dóigh is fearr leis an tír agus na daoine a fheiceáil. I'd recommend to new tourists to try and sit at the same place each day in the buffet.... that way you get to build up a relationship with staff.... we moved about too much at the start and it was difficult for a small number of staff to look after us.... this only happened in the last 5 days when we finally realised to try and hover around the same location. Efforts should be made too to try and improve internet speed... it's not that we want to go to Cuba to sit on a computer, but our two young daughters were back in Ireland and regular contact was important to us. But Loved our holiday. Loved the resort. Love the Cuban people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sean_Mor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.1 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,615 reviews
2.3 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
6.6 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,078 reviews
4.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Gaviota Hotels and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing