We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, wonderful service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our first time to Cuba and will NOT be our last. An amazing country. The resort was perfect for us, smaller than some of the others in the area, which kind of encouraged you to get out and see the country( which you should, because....WOW!)

Resort wise, very clean, perhaps the food isn't to everyone's standard, but personally i thought it was fine, being a buffet you really should know what your in for. The Japanese is fantastic and my wife and I are fans of the local food so we enjoyed the creole restaurant.

Beer and rum never ran out, and the staff in the lobby were happy to put the world to right at 5am on our second night....it was the jet-lag I swear. Staff were fantastic, nothing was too much to ask for, always smiling, always having fun. The entertainment team, you guys are fabulous, really enjoyed the beach party, and beach after party with you.

All in all, loved it! If you are going to Cuba for a couple of weeks, don't waste it by lying around a pool, a more fascinating, wonderful, welcoming country you will not find. Pay a local taxi 30 peso to drive you around for half a day, go to a local bar, experience this country and everything it has to offer. GET OFF THE RESORT!

Room Tip: Be nice to your maid, tip a little, she will create creatures and people from your towels(and underw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank unshackledaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
On behalf of the staff and Management team of Playa Costa Verde Hotel, I want to thank you for your comments. We hope it will be useful for the all the travelers. It would be a really pleasure to host you again in our resort. Please feel free to contact us.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    1,697
    497
    212
    138
See reviews for
1,215
1,757
167
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shawinigan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Positive
A la carte restaurant : Japanese is one of the best I ever tried! Other were also very good.
Beautiful beach : Nice place for snorkeling, but there is also some rock. Very calm sea.
Snack bar : Very good place to eat, much better than the buffet (much more choice).
Piano music in the lobby almost everyday.

Negative
Buffet restaurant : Very few choice of dishes for lunch and diner. Be prepared to do the lineup for pasta or meat everyday since you won't have it in the buffet most of the time. Food is hot, but tasteless for much of it. Dessert are excellent, much better that what I was used to in Cuba.
Room : 2 of my friend had cockroach problem. Ask for a room on the second floor. We had much trouble with conditioned air in 2 of our room to the point it completely stopped working for the last 3 days. Seems to be a known problem and not much is done to solve it. Ask for another room immediately.it this happen to be your case.
Guest room : There is no guest room available the day you leave. You have to take your shower to the gym or pays 30 pesos to keep your room till 16hr.
Entertainement : When there is rain, the show will be held in the lobby. Prepare to be deafened if you're sitting in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. If there is trouble with conditionned air, ask for another room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We really appreciate the time you use pointing us our problems and you can be sure we use this information in our work. We are sharing your comments with our cook and maid staff in order to improve our standard of service in those areas. Hoping to host you again
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The resort was good but far from perfect (not sure if we were comparing our trip to the Maldives 6 months ago) We didn't get off to the best of starts when we were given a room room (3119) that absolutely stank of tobacco, had no hot water and was on the ground floor (we requested a 1st floor room). We called reception and was told that we would have to wait until 3pm the next day for a 1st floor room to become available. Our new room (3227) was very good with a sea view and no smell, although as you would expect in Cuba a little dated.
A good tip for the management, would to give out a paper plan and info of the site for newbies as it is a bit difficult to work out whats what on arrival.

The pool was cleaned daily and there was always plenty of sunbeds and shades.

Food was was the biggest let down as it was very bland. Don't leave your food unattended on the table, as it will be pecked at by the many birds. that get in the restaurant. Service was also very slow.
The best À la carte restaurant was the Japanese. Don't even bother with the Italian.--- Tesco's value lasagne is better!!

We went on 2 Thomas Cook excursions. Full day trips to Santiago and Cuba inside and both were good value for money.

Beach was clean. Water warm but take coral shoes.
Make sure you take thermos flasks with you (90% of people do) as the cups you get on the beach are tiny and your drinks will soon warm up in the 30+ heat.

We enjoyed the holiday but probably would not return.

Room Tip: Go 1st floor. 3227 has good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. The feedback from our guests is really appreciated for our management. We are sharing your comments with our cook and maid staff in order to improve our standard of service in those areas. Hoping to host you again
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel and really enjoyed the snorkeling off the beach, the food was actually very good for Cuba and there was a great variety of dishes - the Japanese restaurant was excellent. The staff was so nice and helpful. Our rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. We really liked the music played during breakfast and evening meals and of course at the piano bar in the evening. Unfortunately the so-called entertainment after that was terrible. We had choir music one night and even worse, chamber music the next! We have never had such boring evenings on holidays! We had to leave since we were all falling asleep. That kind of music appeals to very few people - we travel to the islands to enjoy their culture and lively music. We would have enjoyed dancing to Cuban music and I am sure most of the tourists there felt the same.

Unfortunately, because of that, we will be staying at a different hotel when we go back to Pesquero beach in Holgin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LISETTE155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Playa Costa Verde. We are checking all the issues you pointed regarding the evening entertainment with our entertainment manager in order to improve this important service in our resort. Thank you once again and we hope you change your mind and give us the opportunity to host you once again in Playa Costa Verede.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned home from a 2 week stay ,the hotel is very nice with some lovely staff, we stayed in room 3111 near the cuban restaurant and 2 mins from the fab beach , having read some previous reviews I was dreading it a little, well ok the food is not 5 star but you will find something to eat I did, and I am the fussiest person ever , the hotel had suckling pig on twice and it was fab, the restaurants on site were very nice although the japanese was great fun and my favourite, Jill was amazing and made you feel very welcome ,it was our 10th wedding anniversary and my birthday during our stay there , and the hotel management sent me a bottle of champagne on both occasions, the room was spotless our maids were great and even though it was boiling you never heard them complain , I would like to see hotel staff have access to a drink when working, hotel management please take note, I would visit this hotel again without a doubt . everyone works so hard too many too mention well done guys . the beach well WOW I never go in the sea but this beach was just too beautiful not to take advantage of, honestly unless you have paid 5 star prices, then don't moan you get what you pay for, and you have to make the most of your holiday cuba is such a beautiful country with beautiful people.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a pool view if you love the pool .also if you dont want to be on the ground th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M14mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Playa Costa Verde. Be sure we took note regarding the issues you pointed. Yes they have full lunch and dinner while working and the management staff are instructed to bring water when need and even snack for hard works. It will be a real pleasure to host you again in Playa Costa Verde.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having statyed ay the Playa Costa Verde 6 years ago, we were keen to return when a friend wanted to plan a surprise 25th wedding anniversary trip. We were a party of six all with an age range of 46 to 53 and had all visited Cuba before, we stayed from 26th Sept to 10th Oct.
Upon arriving we were met with a welcome drink and checked in promptly, we were then taken by buggy with our case to our rooms, but had to carry our own cases to our rooms when there.
The rooms, grounds and lobby are all kept very clean with all of the staff constantly keeping up the good standard. The bar staff were all polite and at times seemed to be under staffed, especially in the evenings at the lobby bar when the bar gets busy. As mentioned in other reviews the resort does look tired and is in need of refurbishment, the rooms though very clean look dated and some repairs that have been carried out could have been done to a better standard.
There were a number of small details that could be very easily addressed that would have made things a lot better, these were -
Having enough glasses in the lobby bar for the number of customers (one evening we had beer in margherita glasses!)
Having enough crockery and cutterly in the buffet - Most breakfast servings there were no cereal bowls and every service there was a servere lack of spoons.
Ensuring the bars had enough stock to last the day - On many occassions the pool bar ran out of mixers and beer as did the lobby bar in the evenings.
As previously stated these were small details that could make a big difference.
The buffet does get a bit repetitive, but then again after 2 weeks I am yet to find a buffet that doesn't! The food was good and no one in our group ever complained of being hungry.
The Japanese was very good as was the steak grill well worth the 10 pesos, the Italian was again good but the food needed to be hotter, the Cuban was okay but I think some reviews give this an unfair review as it is Cuban food and not a posh a la carte menu.
The holiday and resort is definately made by the the staff, all of whom are friendly and welcoming, a special mention has to go the the tripadvisor star Jesus who runs the pool bar, he has a great sense of humour and is always good fun. Our maid kept our room spotless and we always had something on the bed made from the towels and flowers in the bathroom.
As my tilte suggests this is not a 5 star resort if you look at the structure of the building and qualtity of the food and fixings, but if you look at the staff they are are all 5 star plus.
The beach is excellent and the water unbelievable with snorkelling that will be hard to beat.
We encountered Cubans staying while we were there and they can be a little brash and over eager with the all-inclusive nature, but that is their culture, we also saw escorts with older men but saw no behaviour that made them offensive or lewd just younger Cuban girls with older men but clearly not couples.
Our say at the Playa Costa Verde was as relaxed as could be and we all came home with our batteries re-charged and our bellies full.
I would recommend the Playa Coste Verde for a relaxed, welcoming and friendly holiday, but if you are looking for an all-inclusive, all singing and dancing luxury all the way holiday this is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are an advantage in the bug seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLO127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our resort. As usual we will bring this into our management staff attentions in order to improve the service our customers deserve. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were on a organised tour through Cuba and stayed at this hotel for 3 days. It is one of the best all inclusive hotels which I have stayed. Very clean, large very comfortable rooms, bath room and towels spot less. Very large buffet, meat and fish prepared and cooked while you wait.
Several A La Carte restaurants we had grilled lobster at the Cuban grill and an excellent meal at the Japanese restaurant. The house red and white wine both palatable. Havana Club No. 7
rum excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jomerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro O, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Resort. It will be a real pleasure to have agin in our resort.
Pedro Otero
Quality and Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.1 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,571 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,641 reviews
6.6 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,052 reviews
4.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing