We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to Rest and Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a lovely week here after a hectic tour in the mountain regions. We arrived early for our check in which was very quick and as our rooms weren't quite ready we put our cases in the left luggage area and had some cocktails. The rooms were clean and in a quiet postion near the beach, we had requested a 2 rooms together (as our daughter was with use) and this was done. On the second day when my husband went back to our room at lunchtime, there had been a water problem (causing an electrical fault) so we had to be moved, this was done effortlessly and they up graded us to a suite (they also moved our daughter, without being asked, to the room next door with an interconnecting door which was very thoughtful. The restaurant was kept clean and tidy and there was plenty of choice of food and the service was brilliant. We tried all the special restaurants and the Japanese was our favourite.
We stayed on the beach each day, there were plenty of sunbeds and canopies. We used the free kayaks and Pedlos, the ONLY staff on the resort that are unhelpful can be found here!!!
The best snorkelling is found to the right of the beach and the water is quite calm. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the staff work hard to make your stay a good one. Dont forget your thermos mugs for your drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DevonDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,751 - 1,757 of 4,433 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from PCV, and were very happy with our choice of destination. The resort, though in need of some TLC in certain areas, was very clean. The buffet restaurant was good, quite a variety of self serve stations plus three or four "made to order" locations. The a-la-carte restaurants were amazing, especially the Japanese restaurant. We had read some poor reviews about the Italian restaurant, but must say we were quite impressed. Beautiful pool, and absolutely amazing Cuban hospitality (which is no surprise).

If I had any complaints it would be this...

The rooms could use a little TLC. Our mattress was not very comfortable and our room wasn't really set up for a faimly of four. We had one king size bed, so they had to bring in a cot and a fold out bed for our kids. My only other complaint would be the ashtrays in the room, indicating that they allow smoking in the rooms. We couldn't smell it, however we would prefer a total non-smoking hotel.

If you are used to five star ratings like the RIU properties, this may not be the hotel for you. However, if you are looking for a reliable, simple, economical and clean family destination, we would certainly recommend Playa Coste Verde in Hoguin Cuba.

Room Tip: Suites are nice, however they are all closest to the beach, but furthest away from the pool and buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were at PCV over Christmas. This is the "sister" resort to Playa Pasquero. We liked the smaller size of this resort. The staff are great....friendly, and very helpful. Food in Cuba is not like other places....this resort has good variety, and good food, for Cuban resort. Our daughter with Celiacs had plenty to eat.
Pool was nice, (especially the pool bar and Jesus the bartender) beach is lovely.
Only complaint.....beds are terrible!!

Room Tip: Depends what you like. I was travelling with an injured knee so I appreciated being close to main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelTime1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Check in at the resort was easy and an electric golf cart will take you and your bags to your room. We emailed the resort a week before and asked for a corner room on the second level an got it! We were centrally located between the pool and the beach. Our room was large and the AC worked well. There are lots of english channels on the TV ( Although the remote control did not work) The fridge was stocked on arrival with water and pop. Everyday following we received a large bottle of water but the fridge was never restocked. No biggy!! Not going to sweat these things since I'm on vacation. Had a king sized bed which was comfy enough. We nerver ran out of hot water and the pressure was good. The safe in the room is free of charge. There is a 110 v outlet in the bathroom but this will operate a razor only. We brought a 6 ft extension chord (which we always do ) and we were happy we did. My wife was able to use her curling iron in the bathroom. Don't think that would have been possible without it.

Restaurants......... My personal opinion of course.
Buffet- No complaints re: food quality- standard all inclusive grub and yes, it does become very repetitive by the end of the week. The good thing about the buffet is that they have 2 omlette stations in the morning. We usually ate breakfast at around 8:00am and didn't have any problems finding a table. We went at 9:00am a couple days and had a hard time. Just saying...

Alacartes:
Cuban...... I hate to say it but it was bad... Not sure if it was the cook but the meat was VERY overdone dry, and difficult to chew.
Italian.... Was good. Both of us had the Lasagna and we enjoyed it
Japanese.... Fabulous.. Just go, you'll understand.

Beach... VERY rocky entry but does clear up to nothing but sand. Water shoes are a neccessity.

Staff.... Very friendly. They were amongst the friendliest we have encountered.

The lobby bar tended to get very busy around dinner time and later in the evening. There isn't really any place else to hang out in the evening. The problem with the lobby bar is that it is very difficult to get a table later in the evening and it becomes smoke filled from all the smokers. Othger than that, they make a WICKED Spanish Coffee in the lobby bar.

All in all, not a bad place to spend a week to unwind..

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ctheworldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for two weeks at the Playa Costa Verde near Guardalavaca. Hotel staff really friendly and always helpful. Nice restaurant - fish cooked in front of you especially excellent and generous proportions. Bar service great and good humoured, No pressure to tip but glad to do so. Generally food was good but it would be nice to have a little more variation over two week stay.

Staff struggle bravely well with shortages of dishes, glasses and general hotel maintenance. Room extras poor - a bottle of water a day but had to use coffee percolator to make tea, other hotels of similar price in the Caribbean have stocked free minibar in room but I guess we must have been spoiled. Packs of sugar/milk in room all well out of date and stale - but of course you can get drinks anytime outside your room.

We took a couple of tours and bus trips. We found the coach trip to Holguin long and tiring, doubling back from Holguin without stopping to get to the restaurant for lunch, then back to Holguin, but interesting as it was our chance to get out and see some of the local area. However, the visit to the cigar factory was obviously a staged thing - not many workers - one guy selling under the counter to tourists at huge personal profit for himself (not surprised they insisted on no cameras!!) - I know this sort of thing goes on but upsetting that you see individuals exploiting the system in such a poor country. Train ride an old diesel, not steam as advertised. Dance show in Holguin good but asked what we wanted to drink, assuming it was included, then charged a lot - a bit cheeky. Compulsory "tip" collection afterwards was intimidating. Overall a good holiday experience. I can understand why many Canadians go back time again as the hotel staff are really easy to make friends with from year to year - Lots of hugs all round between friends. Nice beach. Would go back for the people and the sun.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank paulatepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After travelling to Mexico, Cuba is a far difference. I know I cannot compare the two. If you are traveling to Cuba for your first ever vacation you will love the resort.

We had gone in December. I do not recommend travel Dec Jan as that is there Winter. We had a day that was only 3 degrees! The weather wasn't the great until our last day there.

Food was ok, a great variety. I deinatly recommend going to the Sushi a la carte! WE LOVED IT!

Beach was beautiful! Rooms where clean however our shower head broke and no one ever fixed it.

We did have some trouble with the maid not restocking our fridge however it was finally resolved with front desk.

We went into the little villages. I brought toothbrushes and pencils and gave them to the kids and they loved it!

Overall a good hotel for a first time traveller, and experienced traveller would be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShebaKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I would definitely come back sometime in the future. We read the reviews before we booked and they were right on. The beach is beautiful and it does have coral and water shoes do make a difference. However there are spots that you can get into the water without them. I wore mine all but once and I caught my little toe on coral when a wave hit me as I went in..ouch!! You do have to cross a walkway to get to the bathroom. There is none at the beach but it is not very far really and attached to a great lunchtime restaurant. The rooms were very nice and cleaned well every day. None of them are far away from anything. The resort is set up like the spokes of a wheel with everything in the center. We were in the 4400 building next to the Cuban restaurant, beer corner and ice cream stand. We only had to walk a short way to get to the lobby and buffet restaurant and were a little further from the beach. We ate at the buffet all week and the food was always good with lots of choice. I usually stick to safe well cooked choices. The omelets, pizza and pasta were great every day as well as the stir fry stations. The grounds are very green and have lots of mature trees and quite a variety of palms. It rained one afternoon while we were there and gave them some well needed moisture. The pool was really well kept and clean. We never had a problem getting a chair there or at the beach though to get a palapa right on the water we went down before breakfast. We only went by taxi to the public beach in Guardalavaca but our friends went on excursions to the dolphins, catamaran, and loved it. We snorkeled and there are lots of fish to see. Someone said to bring a banana and they go crazy for it. The lobby was a nice place to hang out in the evening. We didn't take in any shows but they were well attended and we could hear and see them from the lobby though we usually turned in for the night before they were over. The staff was very pleasant and remembered you when you saw them again. I am sure that tipping them helped of course but they made sure we had everything we wanted.The all night restaurant came in handy as we got there late at night and were hungry and thirsty. Air Canada gave us a glass of pop. The hour long drive to and from the airport is inescapable so we just relaxed and enjoyed it. We did a late checkout as our flight left in the evening and paid 30 pesos for it. Four of us shared it and we're able to shower before we had supper. Our friends ate at the a la cartes and enjoyed them all especially the Japanese. The vendors that set up daily did not bother us and had lots of nice things and quite a variety. There were lots of activities at the pool and some at the beach too if you are into that as well as lots of boats to take out. We didn't do any of this but enjoyed the sight of the people who did. We vacation for the beach and to relax without a schedule while someone else cooks and cleans. We read, met some nice people, swam and enjoyed the food, beer and Spanish coffee.This place met all of our expectations and I would go here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Eleven58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.1 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,791 reviews
2.3 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,716 reviews
6.6 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El Bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Gaviota Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing