We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

For my first time in the Caribbean, I thought this was a superb holiday and was everything I imagined. The hotel lobby was very grand and early evening was accompanied by a pianist entertaining us on the grand piano. All the staff were very welcoming and could speak English and nothing seemed too much trouble for them, especially Jesus who is located at the swim up bar, he was a real character and entertained us throughout our stay, he seemed to be able to remember everyone's drink after the first time of asking and tended to play little practical jokes on us (all good natured). The animation team were engaging with the majority of the people - however they did seem to have their favourites! The food was very good with a lot of it being prepared freshly for you, look out for the pancakes in the morning delicious. The Cuban restaurant was lovely and the service was of a high standard. Although I think my favourite restaurant of them all was the Japanese it was a brilliant interactive evening and the food was very good and tasty mmm.....
On the downside, I think the bathrooms could have been refurbished and maybe the whole room could do with a lick of paint. Take plenty of mosquito repellent as they are abundant here even though they 'fog' in the early evening, definitely a plug in for your room is essential. We tried out the night club on several occasions and were extremely pleased to find that it was air conditioned.
However the negativity aside this was a lovely place to stay with champagne on tap and jacuzzi's dotted around the complex it was a perfect place for me to take my daughter for her 21st birthday, it had everything she wanted including a good supply of sun loungers (watch out for the normal 7 o clockers saving their beds for later in the day - although there was never a problem getting one).
Would advise everyone to do the dine with the dolphin trip as not only was the experience of swimming with dolphins brilliant but after dinner we were entertained by Afro - Cuban dancers who were brilliant, to say the least.

Would defintitely recommend this hotel and would consider it again if I ever decide to go back to Cooba (as the locals say Cuba)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hazelmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram_Holguin, General Manager at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest:

It's so nice to read your review. On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you so much for the wonderful words and for choosing us for your holidays. We really appreciate your comments and we will be so happy to welcome you again in the future.
Please, keep in touch with us and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

HIram Valle Simón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    1,703
    502
    215
    140
See reviews for
1,220
1,772
167
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morin Heights, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This was our fourth time there and always feel welcome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We go there to relax and are never disappointed. We eat well and we love the beach particularly in our quiet little corner. Friends came to join us the last time and they simply loved the place. Thank you Playa Costa Verde for making us feel so welcome.
Lise & Jean-Yves

Room Tip: Midway between beach & central part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lyse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

One more time - we were pleased to find a nice and clean resort, smiley and helpful staff and an amazing beach. The food was good also. We will probably return to this resort. Thank you to all staff for this great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cricrimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Valley, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is great value for the money, We have been here 3 times now and are planning to return in October. Don't hesitate to book this vacation resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bballdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was my second time staying at the Playa Costa Verde in Holguin. I was there almost 3 years ago with some friends and had a fantastic time. I was expecting to have another wonderful vacation……..as the resort is very clean, organized and filled with the most amazing (friendly and helpful) staff you can imagine. However my holiday exceeded my expectations greatly. The food is wonderful and always available, the weather was fantastic and the people we meet were the best!!!............I have recommended this resort in the past and will continue doing so……..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseaker02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good hotel with very nice staff .Big rooms but don`t expect very fancy.
Food was good and the beer was a real 5star.We`ll be back,Holguin!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

what can i say food great and plenty to choose from, beautiful beach, animation team great with kids, hotel very clean and evertyhing close to hand so no walking to far. All staff very attentive and could not do enough to help you out. Recommend the island paradise trip. Weather very warm. Rep for Thomas Cook (Nancy) brillant could not be more helpful. Pool nice always sunbeds available.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookworm37SpaldingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.1 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,615 reviews
2.3 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
6.6 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,078 reviews
4.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing