We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soak up the calories”
Review of SoCal

SoCal
Ranked #9 of 144 Restaurants in Neutral Bay
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Soak up the calories”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We called for lunch and were soon seated at a window table by our keen and bright waitress. An interesting menu was presented to peruse with many tantalising options to contemplate...decisions decisions. Pulled beef sliders, tasty quesadillas with salsa and beautifully cooked salmon proved to be hits for all, though smallish serves with slightly bigger prices took the shine off a little, but not much. The premises are bright and airy with a modern industrial buzz...great bar and a sunny outdoor area, shame that the stair maker screwed the riser height on the topmost step...not so kind to my dicky back...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Something different”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Chilled easy going vibe. Tasty substantial tapas and shared plates. Overall a great shared meal over a few cocktails. I loved the raw menu for something different on a hot summery evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great outdoor patio, Mexican beers, small servings of food.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went here with friends for a girls night. Food was really quite good- nice menu, tight and focused so nothing is overlooked for the sake of variety. The beef carpaccio was spicy(!) but I loved it. Know that if you order it, it's got quite some heat. Drinks were expensive- $16 bucks for a margarita in a martini glass. Jugs were $35 and served 4, but tasted virginal- like maybe they forgot to add any spirits? All in all, it's a good place- superb location, the outdoor patio, the food and the Corona is nice and cold. Looking forward to some happy hour specials and to some updated Facebook posts to keep locals in the know.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and vibe”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went to this restaurant for dinner, it was great food and drinks, packed, but that could be because of the time of year (just before Christmas) - music was a bit loud to be able to chat to the whole table, but apart from that excellent restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brownefamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Tacolicious”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Best mex I have found outside of the USA! The tequila, the tacos and the ambience remind me of the best of the south west.
I am sure that as the management refine how and what they do that this place will become one of the best spots in Sydney.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mastermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoCal also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
 
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
 

Been to SoCal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing