We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still waiting for refund!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neutral Bay Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still waiting for refund!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Place looks promising and was booked in for a one night stay. Reception lady Alex said she would leave me the keys to get in. Arrived at agreed time and no keys to be found. Called manager numerous times and no answer. 30 minutes later I left and she called saying she left the keys on her dining room table and was at the gym so could not hear her mobile ringing. Promised a refund. This was early Feb 2013. I'm still waiting and have had to follow up on several occasions. Next step will be writing to office of fair trading...very unprofessional and not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
56
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This motel is in an old house with loads of character. The room was at the top of the house and was very clean and quiet. The only drawback to the room was that it needed a towel rail in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was clean and well maintained, the towels being changed daily.
The kitchen was on the ground floor and was well equipped. There is also a wash room with free use of washing machines and free washing powder.
A big advantage of this motel is that it is close to a ferry port, although it is down a steep hill, and the ferry runs approximately every 30 minutes and takes about 20 minutes to get to Circular Quay. The best ticket to buy for a week is a My Multi - this gives you access to all ferries, buses and trains and is cheaper than the new tourist ticket they are bringing out.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the house are quieter and are ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Now60something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is just excellent :
- Its location in the northern area seems not so close from down town, but there is a direct ferry to Circular Quay at 100m from the hotel !! And the "suburb" is just so nice, quiet, ...
- the rooms are so causy, bed is confortable, fridge in the room, locker, coffee/tea...Iron, TV, ... Actually you could live in the hotel, some people do !!
- the shared bathroom is just perfectly clean, I never saw anything !
- the hotel staff (very nice woman, don't remember your name sorry :-( ) is very kind and helpful,

You may find the price high, but
- in Australia (in Sydney at least), all prices are twice as expensive as in Paris for example
- all other hotel i found were more expensive and I'm not sure they would be as convenient as this one

It was just a very good week, and going in the hotel every evening was like going home after a working day :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renaud L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is somewhat old, but the rooms are good, and the common bathroom is very new and always perfectly clean. The kitchen is very practical, and the outside area is beautifully kept. The location is perfect to get to CBD quickly and close to Military road and all the restaurants and shops. Most important, Alex is a perfect hostess, always helpful, kind and welcoming! For us it was a great first ''home'' in Sydney, thanks Alex! :)

Room Tip: Our room at the top level was great, and the common bathroom is new and perfectly clean, so consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I found the staff to be great,unfortunately the hotel is bad. The hotel is in a superb location. The renovations are not complete. My first room continuously smelled musty. The second room we were moved to was a nightmare. This was on the basement level. It lacked basic requirements. It did not have a bedside cabinet or lamp. The room was right next door to the communal kitchen and you could hear every sound. The kitchen was continuously noisy and we had to ask guest to be quiet. We got no sleep. Even from the first room we could here the noise from that area below. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. This hotel is also not disable friendly,there are no ramps. Plenty of stairs, and trip hazards. As its a motor lodge the parking is bad. There isn't enough parking for the amount of rooms. Overall thumbs down for establishment.

Room Tip: There aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for just one night to attend my cousins mid week wedding. Nothing was too much trouble from early check in to the friendly Manager helping us to flag a cab! When we left the next morning we felt bad as we didn't get to say goodbye to her....that kind of small, friendly place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for the Sydney marathon weekend. The 1st night was in a room downstairs next to the communal kitchen & a shared bathroom. The kitchen had everything we needed & the bathroom was clean. The next night was in a room with an ensuite which was very comfortable. Great location to the ferry & a nice walk to the local supermarket. Alex, the manager, couldn't do enough for us. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neutral Bay
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
0.6 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.8 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neutral Bay Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neutral Bay Motor Lodge

Property: Neutral Bay Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Kurraba Rd, Neutral Bay, North Sydney, New South Wales 2089, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Neutral Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Neutral Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Neutral Bay Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neutral Bay Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutral Bay Motor Lodge North Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing