We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel Winchester Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oakley Hall Hotel Winchester Restaurant
Price range: $32 - $63
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our Head Chef Justin Mundy prides himself on using only the best local ingredients available to create a modern approach to his dishes leading to the Winchester restaurant being awarded two rosettes on its latest inspection.Naturally all dishes are prepared to order to ensure the utmost freshness.Whether enjoying a romantic dinner for two in the Winchester Restaurant, gathering with the family for a BBQ or just relaxing on the terrace for afternoon tea, Justin and his team will ensure your dining experience is ever more enjoyable for your every visit.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a lovely evening here, it felt very special as the surroundings and interior are lovely. But more importantly the food was the best we've tasted and seen in a long time. The wine we choose was a local English white and it was very good. The staff were also very attentive and pleasant. We can't wait to go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

a fantastic high class restaurant. all the food was exquisite, and the service utterly attentive. I'd happily eat there over & over again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuartJGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, well presented food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The food was perfectly cooked with much attention to detail. It was erring on the side of quality not quantity which to my mind is much more appetising.
I disliked the flies that were constantly hovering around the table; I was surprised that the restaurant manager did not register this and try to eliminate them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Special occasion diner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I hosted a special occasion diner here last week for 4 diners. From the moment we entered the hotel and until we left the staff made us feel special, especially our waiter Jennifer.
The food was better than I expected and truley 5 star, the chef is very good, as they say you taste first with your eyes, then two types of beef, cheek and fillet.
When I am in Basingstoke again I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon cream tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was given a voucher for an afternoon cream tea at this beautiful hotel and I went with three friends and had a wonderful tea. I could highly recommend this experience for yourself or even to give this as a present. As the weather was so hot we sat in the library for tea and then sat out on the terrace to take in the lovely surrounding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakley Hall Hotel Winchester Restaurant also viewed

Oakley, Basingstoke
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing