We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for an overnights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke
Ranked #2 of 2 Oakley B&B and Inns
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Ideal for an overnights stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time we had stayed over in an innkeepers so didnt know what to expect as some reveiws werent great but found it to be ok.
Good sized car park, Check in was a bit hit and miss, Nobody on reception but a sign directed you to the bar to find someone to check you in and the bar man that came didnt have the reception standards you would expect, (his shirt was hanging out, sleeves scruffingly rolled up) and he didnt know his way around the booking in system too well.
We were given our room and shown which way to go to find it.
Room was ok, nice and large with a good sized en suite bathroom, Tea and coffee, Wifi worked throughout,
We went to the bar which was part of a crown carvery (one of the reasons i booked the hotel actually) so dinner was nice and cheap and beer normal pub prices,
The only problem we found with the restaurant was that it wasnt very clean, Tables werent wiped down properly so was attracting a few flies and there was a few cobwebs knocking about.
The food was good and plentiful
The landlady was sociable enough and was also the compare for the quiz night which was a laugh,
Next morning we went into the restaurant for the continental breakfast which was inclusive but decided to have the cooked breakfast as there wasnt alot of choice.
We asked the waitress for plates for the buffet and she looked at us rather blank and asked ' have you paid for it' ? I replied not yet as we have only just decided to have it she then gave us 2 plates rather reluctantly, The landlord then appeared to be told by the chef 'thats them there'!! and we felt we were being watched as they thought we were gonna do a runner without paying the £3.99 for the breakfast.
I would use it again for an overnight stay but attention needs to be given to the cleaning of the bar/attention areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge, Basingstoke. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    31
    5
    13
See reviews for
25
31
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stop no problens.
Not the best inn keepers lodge but
Clean and tidy.
Excellent breakfast and evening meals
A strange dead garden in the centre of
Corridors was a bit off putting.
Wasnt easiest place to fnd .
Overall did what it was there for.
An overnight stop !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge, Basingstoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here as it was close to an event, and we found no other choices. Rang to tell them we would be arriving late (before midnight though, when they had warned us the staff would be leaving for the night). When we arrived there were three reluctant staff members there, who made it very clear they could not be bothered to check us in, could not cope with the fact the computer had been shut down etc. We did not feel welcome!

The room itself was big, and character-free (probably to be expected in a road-side place at £70 a night). All seemed clean at least, until we went to use a towel which had a dusty beer bottle top stuck to it when unfolded. Yuck. Decided to shower when we got home! Also no soap in dispenser.

The room price included continental breakfast which was quite a good selection (cereals, toast, pastries, orange juice, coffee) but finished PROMPTLY at 10am - and everything was cleared up before you even realised by 2 minutes past 10. Cooked breakfast available but not included in the room price.

Overall, this place pretty much did the job but was depressing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to Innkeepers Lodge, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Basingstoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakley hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a bit deceptive as the address initially makes one think that will be in a busy city/town and therefore possibly noisy. Far from it. This is situated just outside Basingstoke and in the country so nice and peaceful. there is a train line but the glazing prevents any noise disturbing a nice restful time in the room.!
One of the few hostelry's which Innkeeper kept and did not sell off to Travel Lodge for which we should all be thankful. Situated right next to a Crown Carvery Pub.

Rooms are clean and very comfortable with all normal expetced luxuries..Free View Television, tea and coffee making facilities and en suite. Hairdryers are available from reception. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Food is limited in the main to Carvery so if you fancy something different then you will have to venture out and transport is essential.

Really good though as is one of the few places we have found that accepts 3 adults in a single room!! The extra bed being a sofa bed so was far more comfortable than what one would get in Travel lodges etc.

Breakfast served in the carvery and was excellent

overall very comfortable stay and excellent value. Should add that the rooms are all in a single storey extension so no disturbances form movement above!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Basingstoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oester Alling, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Perhaps there are good reasons to visit Oakley, Basingstoke - but the Innkeeper's Lodge there is not one of them. After a nice visit to Highclere Castle (aka Downton Abbey) not far away, were were looking forward to our overnight stay at the Innkeeper's Lodge - until we got there, saw it, and said to ourselves "What the ...?". The poorest of the fictional Lord Grantham's fictional tenants on the fictional Downton Abbey estate would have lived better than you will if you have the misfortune to book a room at the Oakley Innkeeper's Lodge. When we arrived, there was no one on duty at the check-in, and the poor guy pulled in from the restaurant bar to check us in didn't seem familiar with the task. The carpets were worn, the place was shabby, the plate on the inside of the door handle of our room kept falling off, the room was dark and dingy, and what staff we ran into didn't seem to give much of a damn. We did have a nice enough server during dinner at the adjoining restaurant - the problem was the swill that the kitchen staff gave her to serve us. While having my very uninspiring continental breakfast the next morning, I could not find one clean bowl in which to put my muesli and yogurt - I checked all six or seven stacked there, and each had the grit and grime from a dishwasher that was either in disrepair or not used properly. It seemed that a fair amount of the restaurant and hotel staff was Eastern European or Russian. We did not begrudge them a chance to make a better living than perhaps they might have in their home countries - but what we did begrudge was service and food that seemed a throwback to the Iron Curtain/pre-"Fall of the Berlin Wall" days. Normally I don't like to complain, but I felt strongly enough about our poor experience there to share my thoughts. Fellow travelers, if you are like us, your pounds/dollars/Danish kroner/Euros/whatever are precious, and you should not waste them on the Innkeepers Lodge in Oakley, even if the price listed for a night's stay seems like a good deal. It might appear to be cheap - but, at the end of the stay, you would find the cost to be way too high for what you get.

Room Tip: don't choose one at this hotel - drive down the road a bit and find a better place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelS426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Basingstoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

As you pull up to the Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke , the building looks in need of some TLC the carpark is a mess and badly in need of a good tidy up ,fag buts and grass etc
very off putting ,also the paintwork is ready for redoing ,

The good news the room was spotless and the bathroom looked brand new ,
everything you could need , our room (9) overlooked open fields and had windows that really opened,
We had a cracking cavery in the on site pub really good vaule
the staff are very young but very good

we will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very clean room that was huge, cheaper than some of the other budget hotels. Only disappointment was low water pressure in the shower but otherwise well worth it. Didn't eat there so no comment on the pub/restaurant

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 535PeterS535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
0.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
9.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke West (Churchill Way) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke
Address: The Beach Arms | Church Oakley, Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in the quiet village of Oakley, this handsome Hampshire lodge provides some of the most welcoming budget accommodation in Basingstoke. It's just off the M3, and a few minutes from town - but feels like it's a world away, with picturesque countryside on the doorstep and attractive thatched houses nestling around a duck pond in the centre of the village.There's a wealth of conference venues nearby, such as Oakley Hall and the Ark Centre, which makes the 22-bedroom lodge a comfy and convenient base for business as well as pleasure. Either way, you can round off your stay with a meal and a tipple or two at the Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery on site. As for things to see and do in the local area, you'll be spoilt for choice. If you love country walks head down to award-winning Eastrop Park, which is full of scenic trails. Or you could explore the remains of Basing House, once the largest private residence in England. Plus you might like to catch a show at The Anvil Concert Hall or simply take a relaxing stroll down Basingstoke Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing