We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Arms

Beach Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Oakley
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Taken by friends. Nice atmosphere in this olde worlde pub. Served by Polish workers. Waitress Lootie (?) very nice. Roast meal but no roast vegies, but food was excellent. Good value.
Even the 'entertainment' from the family at the next table with their teenager kicking off!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CountryKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    50
    44
    29
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amazingstoke, Hants, UK.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than the Toby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Couldn't be bothered to cook Sunday lunch so decided to go for a carvery. Went to the Toby at Down Grange which was packed so my son suggested we try here. The food was definitely better quality than the Toby but of course it is what it is. Cheap and cheerful and plenty of it. My other half and son upgraded to a big roast which was way too much even for those (insert word of your choice) :)
Would definitely go again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkskwiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have used this Carvery for approximately 5 years. I have never had a bad meal in all that time. The value for money, as with all Crown Carveries, is superb. I would have awarded a "5" rating but the one (tiny) thing I criticise is the Gents toilets! Obviously I don't use the loo on every visit but on the odd occasion I have I always think its about time they cleaned/modernised them!
If you don't need the loo then you will find good, plentiful food in nice surroundings, a good sized car park, generous serving of your choice of 3 meats, great mash!
By the way, the self-serve ice cream is excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tadleyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Di Vinci Auckland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This restaurant was packed however the staff were unable to cope. The standard of the food was not good & the wait was to long. Informing the staff of the unpleasant Lasagne I was trying to eat they were uninterested. I paid the bill & got no customer service / satisfaction .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeheeitismee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had not been here since November so was nice to find that the menu has more variety, hubby had a beef pie with curry sauce which he said was really tasty, I had the carvery which was delicious, the gammon and turkey very moist, not dry at all, The variety of vegetables etc has also improved, there were chips available too if you wanted them. The stuffing is still a bit hit and miss but if you dig deep in the pot you find its not rock hard. Roasties always good and having mash as well with the lovely gravy is fab. Having thought before that the price increase was unnecessary the cost of £4.19 each is still extremely good for the quality and quanity of food available. The fact that the place is always busy says they are doing something right. Making the tables more presentable has helped too as most of them needed a good sanding which they have done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Arms also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Beach Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing