We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed again this week, and everything up to it's usual standard. Lots of work going on in the upper floors of the main house (didn't disturb at all). They are creating a number of new rooms - I think I'll still prefer the stable block though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cccheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    252
    70
    17
    9
See reviews for
159
623
15
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a fantastic two day break at Oakley Hall recently . The hotel is charming and a splendid sight as you drive up to it .We stayed in a suite which was fantastic , spotlessly clean , and very warm and comfortable . On each evening we dined in the hotel restaurant , the food was first class , with plenty of choice available .The hotel and grounds are so delightful and picturesque . Would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We chose to use Oakley Hall for our Company Christmas Party as we had heard some really good reviews.
We all turned up at the hotel which was stunning and we were greated by very friendly and helpful staff.
We were then sent through to the Marquee where the party was being held and it looked absolutely stunning. We had a few people with us from other countries and they all thought the hotel was outstanding.
The whole night was a fabulous experience. The food was lovely, staff were very friendly and very helpful. The whole night was well put together which everyone of us really enjoyed.
We will be looking at coming again in the very near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We liked the double-size bath, marmite at breakfast and the umbrella in the room. Unfortunately the weather was dreadful as a stroll in the grounds would have been great too. The room was immaculate and the meals well thought out. The staff were helpful and friendly without intruding on our romantic night away. We are leaving feeling refreshed and invigorated. Many thanks.

Room Tip: next time will book the cottage or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottewalker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Loved the venue. We bring the kids to the hotel too so that my wife & I can both enjoy the Christmas party. We loved it, they loved it. Great setup. Unlike other places,we all got a good night's sleep after the party.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My mother and I stayed at this hotel, on a Travelzoo deal, especially for her birthday. We stayed on a Friday in November 2013 and from the moment we arrived to the sad moment we left, we were treated so specially by all at the hotel.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were taken to our Executive room in the courtyard - you can also park your cars right outside your room which was a nice touch too. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the Library, which was absolutely delicious. A good selection of teas (we chose Earl Grey), as well as a lovely selection of finger sandwiches, cakes, meringues and beautiful scones, with lots of clotted cream and jam! The service for the afternoon tea was excellent and we would definitely recommend an afternoon tea at the hotel - very relaxing and delicious!

With the Travelzoo deal, we had the 5 course tasting menu, plus coffee and chocolate (which the hotel were happy to change to tea instead, as neither myself nor my mother are a fan of coffee!) - the clue is in the name of the 'Taster' menu, so although the portions were not huge, they were each a perfect amount and very filling. Every course we feel was presented beautifully and tasted wonderful - each course was also served well by the waiters, who were very attentive and the wine we chose complimented our meal well also.

In terms of the executive room, the room was just stunning and very comfortable! Beautiful decor (we were in room 16), so we liked the contrast of the lime green within the room. The bed was honestly the comfiest of hotel beds we have stayed in, as well as the bathroom being a fantastic size, with the option of a large bath or large shower! The benefit of the Executive room is the walk in wardrobe that divides the main room from the bathroom - as two women we loved the walk in wardrobe! The sitting area within the room was lovely too, the TV was huge and the tea/coffee making facilities were impressive too - extra points for the fact that a carton of milk was provided and not the usual mini sachet pots of milk!

During our stay, there was a Christmas party being held in the gazebo - although music was played, we couldn't hear it in the courtyard, so wasn't a distraction to the main Hotel at all. For breakfast, we ordered ours to come to our room (at an extra cost) and it was delicious - very big portions and lots on offer! All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Oakley Hall Hotel, we couldn't fault it - excellent service from all of the staff, stunning and very comfortable rooms and the Travelzoo deal with the 5 course taster menu was brilliant - we would definitely return to Oakley Hall Hotel and will definitely book another stay in the New Year!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive rooms if you can - lots of space! Book your afternoon tea in advance to ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on an overnight, was very pleasant and very comfortable, staff were good. Had the 5 course tasting menu which was prefect, (it would be good to point out in keeping with a taster menu, that portions are modest but adequate, if you want a blow out suggest you try a Harvester) adding coffee in a part of it, was a nice touch. The Breakfast was excellent, sausages were wonderful ! All in all a lovely stay and time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElvisPhish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Until 2009 Oakley Hall Hotel solely hosted weddings, meetings, conferences and events, before becoming established as one of the leading hotels in Hampshire, along with the 2 AA Rosette restaurant. In 2014, a major £4 million restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful 3-bedroom Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing