We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a two night stay here in April and stayed in a Courtyard Suite, it was wonderful. It is set in a superb location away from all the hustle and bustle the only noise was that of wildlife. The suite was immaculate and maid service exceptional. Breakfast was lovely, ordered full English and it could have fed two, didn't need to eat again till tea time. Would recommend this hotel and would return again. Thankyou for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    254
    71
    17
    9
See reviews for
161
630
15
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 'Gourmet & Champagne' deal. We stayed in a courtyard room which was lovely, actually one of the nicest hotel rooms I've stayed in. We had afternoon tea outside, then went for a walk around the grounds. We later had dinner from the 5 course tasting menu which I couldn't fault, everything was tasty & service very good. Overall a fantastic hotel, no problems at all, we loved it & definately plan to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic courtyard room, it was perfect, I wouldn't worry about upgrading too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxlade-cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at Oakley on their romantic overnight stay, special offer £99 per person. Stayed in a courtyard room which was lovely, loved the idea of being able to park the car right outside the door! Staff were quite helpful, afternoon tea was really nice other than the fact that they served instant coffee! My wife doesn't drink tea so asked for coffee, expecting a Dow Egberts filter as advertised, tasted more like the Nescafé instant from the room and it was the same at breakfast the next morning!
We should have received a complimentary newspaper which did not appear and when enquired about it no one seemed bothered. Having said that, minor niggles in what was a nice stay.
Nice and clean and was worth what we paid but I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJ2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were gifted a 1 night stay with dinner as a present for my husbands 60th birthday and from the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and friendly . We had a courtyard room which was small but wonderfully put together with a queen sizes bed which was very comfortable , all the facilities were thoughtfully put together including fresh milk and proper size mugs for morning tea . Fresh fruit and champagne in the room on arrival along with Belgian chocs made us feel very special , and the gourmet dinner was excellent . The surroundings were beautiful and we were lucky to view it on a very sunny morning the following day on our trip to the restaurant for breakfast , we chose bacon eggs and mushrooms as we did not think we could manage a full English ,however when it arrived the bacon almost covered the plate there was so much ! It was delicious . The bathroom had lots of little touches that were delightfully different such as a nail care kit and a cute rubber duck . All in all we had a wonderful evening and will definitely stay again .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a really good two night stay at Oakley Hall earlier this month. I picked it to give my mother a treat, she is rather elderly (90 next year) but enjoys good things! I wanted a walk-in shower, a large bedroom which was easily accessible. Their Courtyard Bedrooms were perfect, very large rooms with a large walk-in shower, full size bath, twin sinks and underfloor heating. We chose their 7 course tasting menu the first night and the a la carte the second - both meals were very enjoyable - not too twee on the plate but very well presented with delicious flavours. Although I would add it was about time they changed their "Winter Menu" to Spring! (Perhaps they were reflecting the recent weather!) The Courtyard Bedrooms are a little walk from the main house, where you have dinner and breakfast but the staff were very attentive and we had a golf buggy ride each way! I cannot fault their service, even room service away from the main house was very prompt. Will go again with my other half next time. Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Oakley Hall for one night on their "gourmet & champagne getaway" deal for a birthday treat for my partner.
We had a lovely Courtyard room with an extremely comfy queen sized bed, with touching extras including fruit, fresh milk and bottled water - and a half bottle of champagne.
Tea, coffee and toiletries. The bathroom was fantatstic with a huge shower and the bedroom had a large flat screen tv, complete with blue ray player.
The 5 course tasting menu was exquisite and we can not praise the staff enough for their amazing service and attentiveness. They really made us feel special which would definatley make us want to return again in the future. Room service was fab too ...and the hotel do the most fabulous fresh smoked salmon baguettes with olives and tiny little curly crisps-not to mention the Long Island Iced tea cocktail-very strong but great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewels477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the excellent venue. The hotel and grounds are stunning and it doesn't stop there.
You are welcomed warmly by professional staff. The rooms are beautiful with all amenities. The hotel and bedrooms are decorated to a high level and give the feeling of warmth. they are exceptionally clean. The food is delicous and presented superbly.
The staff are friendly and professional and attention to detail is applied at all times.
We really felt relaxed and at home - loved it and would not hesitate to go again.
Oh and one thing - try the stawberries dipped in chocolate they are to die for!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenf1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Until 2009 Oakley Hall Hotel solely hosted weddings, meetings, conferences and events, before becoming established as one of the leading hotels in Hampshire, along with the 2 AA Rosette restaurant. In 2014, a major £4 million restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful 3-bedroom Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing