We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sumptuous”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you want peace and quite, this is it. Whilst Oakley Hall is quite a swanky place, it really doesn’t feel at all pretentious. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite. From arrival, through to check-out, we really couldn’t fault anything.
We stayed for two nights in a courtyard room, which was just a short walk through the grounds to the main house.
A wide choice of hot & cold food is available for breakfast, including a very nice cooked breakfast - yummy! The hotel is set in the beautiful countryside, enabling you to take a stroll around the estate after over indulging at breakfast.
The five course taster menu was exceptional, followed by after-dinner drinks in the library – what a great way to relax at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank and977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    257
    71
    17
    10
See reviews for
164
636
15
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed the 28th Oct..Im not too sure which hotel Elly_Virgo went but from his review im sure it was here!!!!
From our arrival until our check out everything was excellent, the Courtyard Room 3 we stayed in was lovely and clean with fresh fruit, chocolates to water, milk and cookies within the fridge, as well as a rubber duck..lol, The bed was big and sooooo comfy too..
Even the bathroom had under floor heating..

The 5 course taster was stunning, smoked duck, shrimp, lamb, cheese board and desset, also a sorbet as well.. i've been too some beautiful resturants lately and this one was diffentley up there with the best off them, all the waiters, waitress , bar staff too the cleaners where very attentative and couldn't do more for you..
Breakfast was a buffet and was fresh and hot, bacon, pork leek sausages, scrambled eggs, toms, mushrooms, hash browns, black pudding, toast, juices, cereal , there was plenty there, and even had the choice from the menu also..
We had even asked if we could check out later till 12.00 instead of 11.00 this was fine with no charge too..
All in all and marvellous place too stay and eat and will diffentley be coming back..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a fantastic evening at Oakley Hall. The room was fantastic, the courtyard setting beautiful, clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The 5 course tasting menu was delicious and the staff were great. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although we only spent a night here and were mostly hit with typical English weather, we had a fantastic time at Oakley hall. The hotel wasn't full so we basically had the entire place to ourselves. The courtyard and the gardens were charming and the bedrooms were fit for a king. Our stay was inclusive of fairly elaborate breakfast and a five-course dinner the night before. All in all, we were sad that our itinerary let us only spend a single night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantanu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We (as many other reviewers did) stayed here on the Travelzoo deal which included a tasting menu as well as bed and breakfast. The staff were perfectly friendly, although slighlty uninterested when we first arrived.

The room was lovely - very large, comfortable, super bathroom, and as people have mentioned, the additional touches, such as chocolates, fresh milk, fruit etc were great - so far so good.

We walked from the courtyard rooms over to the restaurant for dinner, the grounds were lovely but a little unkempt. The dining room was incredibly cramped - my husband had to squeeze into his seat by presenting his behind to the couple sat next to us, which I'm not sure was ideal for them since they were halfway through dinner. Even bny leaning accross the table and lowering our voices, there was no chance of private conversation, and when I went to use the bathroom halfway through the meal, I had to interrupt someone's dinner and ask them to move their chair so I could get out, and of course in again. There were three lovely other reception rooms, one that was not even in use, so why they couldn't have used one of these instead of cramming everyone into one room I don't know.

The service wasn't great, out waiters all had a friendly but slightly vague air about them, as if they didn't really know what they were doing. We felt like we had to guess where we should sit etc - no-one talked us through the menu, made any requests about drinks or anything that I would normally expect.

The menu looked wonderful, but was fairly bland and nothing special to eat - for example the apricot-stuffed ballotine of chicken was litterally wet chicken with chopped dried apricots, some salad and blobs of balsamic vinegar reduction. The tarte au citron was the best part of the dessert and I've had better from M & S! The wine we ordered tasted was not great - as someone else has mentioned, I could buy the same thing from Tesco for £4.

The breakfast was also very poor, and service at breakfast was bad - lots of dirty plates on tables, the food had clearly been loaded into the hottrays at the start of the service for the whole sitting as everything was lukewarm and chewy. I felt sorry for any vegetarians as the hashbrowns were on a bed of greasy bacon. We were told where the hot food was and shown to a table, the couple next to us were given menus with no explanation, and the couple the other side of us were told they could order additional hot food from the menu but not given any menus. We were given neither the menu or the option to order from it, although when I requested paoched eggs (clearly that had also been sat on a hotplate somewhere else, as they were very overcoooked) they were given to me.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone in the area, but tell them to be sure to book somewhere else for dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly_Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We also stayed at Oakley Hall on a Travelzoo voucher plus an extra night. The bedrooms are situated in a former stable block, in the courtyard, at the rear of the main house having been beautifully converted. The bathroom is also first class with an excellent shower and large bath. The stay was both romantic and particularly comfortable. Large golfing umbrellas are provided in each room for estate walks or for the very short walk across to the dining area in the main building. The reception area, dining room, bar and library/lounge in the house are also well-furnished and comfortable. We enjoyed the taster menu for dinner together with our selected wine. We were very well looked-after at all stages of the meal. Breakfast, cooked to order, was also well served, with every possible choice, again beautifully presented and tasty. We felt that the two nights at Oakley Hall were really delightful and were particularly pleased at having found such a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkipperP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Oakley Hall in the Spring and couldn't wait to return as it was by far the best hotel we have booked and such a wonderful deal with Travelzoo. The courtyard rooms are finished to such a high standard with little touches like fresh milk and mineral water in the fridge in your room. Fruit and choccies, also a complimentary paper delivered to you the next morning.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and the 5 course taster menu was excellent, particularly the lamb. The panna cotta was the only disappointing element of the meal.
Hope the offer is repeated as we will definately return, we recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,283 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,100 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Until 2009 Oakley Hall Hotel solely hosted weddings, meetings, conferences and events, before becoming established as one of the leading hotels in Hampshire, along with the 2 AA Rosette restaurant. In 2014, a major £4 million restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful 3-bedroom Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing