We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice venue - with rooms attached”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
London England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A nice venue - with rooms attached”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Oakley Hall is, in essence, organised as a venue for events ranging from sales conferences to wedding receptions.
It also has 18 bedrooms, none of which are in the main house and are described as in a 'courtyard' setting.

Initial impressions are very favourable: a long sweeping road leads through manicured parkland to a classic Georgian country mansion, complete with carriage driveway, a parterre & lovely rural views in every direction. The main entrance is now glassed-in against inclement weather and the Reception area has original eighteenth century tiles on the floor.

Through the entrance hall door, however, the tail-ends of a sales conference-lots of "suited & booted" people, standing beside a bar, which was certainly not built at the same time as the house, could be seen. On questioning, the Russian receptionist told me that there were several different functions happening that day- and this was mid week.

The overnight accommodation looks very pleasant: well renovated old stables, with plenty of parking. Once inside the rooms, however, impressions were less favourable.
I felt that everything in the room had been designed with the single (male) conference delegate in mind. So- although I had booked 2 single beds for my mother & me-and they were there, the room itself was barely large enough to swing a cat: a single armchair being jammed in between a desk, upright chair & an occasional table.
Furthermore, although there was plenty of hanging space, with lots of non-detachable hangers, there were no drawers large enough to take any clothing -and dressing gowns & slippers were only available 'on request'

Although the furnishings were of good quality, the 'refreshments' offered in the room were stingy to say the least. Two whole biscuits in a kilner jar, 2 sachets each of English Breakfast & Earl Grey tea & some ghastly looking sachets of canteen type coffee - no fruit, mint teas or decaff & only 2 mugs to drink from.

There is a path through the grounds between the rooms and the main house - but there are no signs showing the route. The most bizarre thing, however, was that we were given only a single plastic computerised cards, which we used first to open the courtyard gates BUT, the same cardis also needed to switch on the lights, by placing it in a slot AND to get in & out of the entry doors. All the doors are very heavy fire doors, which could not be easily left open and I could not see how I could go outside to retrieve our luggage without plunging the room (and my mother) into darkness! Clearly I was the only person to have experienced this difficulty, however, as the receptionist told me they normally only ever gave out one card per room.

On returning to the Main House, the dining room proved to be a real disappointment: compared to the other public rooms, it had all the ambience of a Post House Hotel and, on occasion, a very odd choice of background music- rap with breakfast?

The food in our 5 course 'tasting menu' included in our deal was, however, universally excellent: beautifully presented and delicious but, though enough for us, might have left a rugby player seeking out the local take-away.
Service, whilst friendly, was lacksadaisical; on occasion, I had to remove plates myself & put them on another table befoe the next course arrived.

We had coffee in The Library: fortunately for us, we managed to bag a sofa, which is at it should be after a pleasant dinner - but with only 2 available, most people had to make do with very upright Louis XIV chairs set at matching tables.

Breakfast again reflected the oddly prevalent stinginess, with little choice of fresh fruit, no plain or calorie reduced yoghurt & only sliced brown or white bread. The cooked breakfast looked a better option, although the kitchen was clearly being run by a completely different chef to the one who had produced such lovely food the evening before. My eggs benedict was just about edible- but using Parma ham, with all the trailing pieces of fat left on, served on the teeniest bagel ever.

So, to conclude; if you are looking for somewhere peaceful and pleasant for an overnight stay, in beautiful countryside, close to either Basingstoke or Winchester, or a matter of minutes from the M3, you could do a great deal worse than the Oakley Hall Hotel (provided you can negotiate an acceptable room rate)

The staff will be pleasant to deal with and the food is of an acceptable standard.
If, however, you are looking for '5 star' type customer service, with all bells & whistles, which one might expect with well presented Georgian buildings, then this place might disappoint.

Lastly, one important piece of advice, before you make a booking, even on what appears to be a 'good deal' - check just how many functions are to be held during your stay, so that you can take a view on what this might mean for you.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms are all identical, apart from the 'Tower Room' which costs extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flekkygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    257
    71
    17
    10
See reviews for
164
636
15
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 night stay here and cannot praise the Hotel and Staff enough!! The Courtyard room was fantastic and had all the extra touches to make our stay special - chocolates, fresh fruit, fresh milk, high class toiletries dimmed lighting... etc, etc it was all perfect. The restaurant food was of the highest quality - we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The most lovely place , beautiful rooms ,lovely grounds superb food and good service.
The water wasn't hot enough in our room, the young woman on duty that day bent over backwards to be as helpful as possible, came to the room almost instantaneously, gave us the use of empty room next door which did have hot water so now we had two rooms, she also offered to upgrade us and on top of that waived the drinks bill as a sorry , superb service would go again any time

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed just one night here in September. We had booked an overnight break in a courtyard room that included a seven course taster dinner menu and breakfast. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and courteous. The room was beautiful with the highest standard of cleanliness and the general atmosphere of the whole hotel was relaxed but efficient and the food was excellent! We will definately be going back!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay, peaceful, beautiful gardens, friendly staff, great rooms and lovely food. Couldn't fault it and would stay again. Stayed in the convererted stables and they were finished beautifully. Nice touches like chocolates, fresh milk and toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went on a "voucher redemption" 4 day trip. What a lovely place! Beautiful Hall, bedroom in the converted stables really nicely done. The food really well done,especially the 5 course taster menu and served by very good staff. A great week-end!
We shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

At the moment this hotel only has 18 rooms so it was a very quite secluded weekend in the Hampshire country side. We only stayed the one night and when we arrived we were greeted with a half bottle of bubbly in the room. The rooms were very well decorated and, being an old stable block, had high ceilings. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and would defiantly be back for another visit……

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyDonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,283 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,101 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Until 2009 Oakley Hall Hotel solely hosted weddings, meetings, conferences and events, before becoming established as one of the leading hotels in Hampshire, along with the 2 AA Rosette restaurant. In 2014, a major £4 million restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful 3-bedroom Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing