We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

On our drive across Panama needed somewhere to stay for a night and feel we lucked out when we came across this place.
Seemed brand new, check in was quick and effortless and young ladies at front desk made us feel welcomed. Bell hop assisted us with our heavy bags to our second floor room. Seems elevator may have been out of commission when we checked in.
Room was very clean and well lit with nice comfy king size bed with nice cozy linen. It provided a great nights sleep. Room also contained a nice size LCD screen. Bathroom was also very clean and modern.
Breakfast was included and served in the restaurant where we had nicely plated eggs toast etc along with a a bowl of fruits, juice and coffee or tea.
Pool area with swim up bar is well laid out and great for relaxing. As I sat taking in some late morning sun, was nicely approached by bar person and asked if I wanted anything.
On checkout front desk apologized for room location (i.e. end of hall at back facing what appears to be a school). We were given this room so we didn't have to wait when we checked in. This was the furthest thing from our minds as the room was so clean and comfy.
Would have loved to stay an extra night or two but this was an impromptu stop en route.
In Panama where it seems North American prices (and often more) are charged for accommodations this place was a great value and well worth the stay for us.

Room Tip: First or Second floor facing the pool in mid section of either of two buildings makes porch/balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    74
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
70
56
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

At last Santiago, Panama has a new, excellent hotel by the name of Hotel Santiago. It sits on the outskrts of the city by the local airport (few planes). It sits well off the road in the middle of a not particularly good looking field. That said, it is brand new, very stylish, plenty of nods to Mykonos. Lovely, pool area with many rooms facing the pool on two stories. Back rooms face the field. The rooms are nicely furnished, multi channel TV, great AC, plenty of clothes storage. Very spacious. the bathrooms are very clean and large and crisp with toiletries provided. My one real criticism is that the beds are typical hotel mattressed...meaning they area very hard and my body ached the next morning. The would be welll advised to spend a couple of hundred dollars are room and invest in memory foam mattress toppers. I was only able to spend one night but the service I experienced was many times better than what one expects here in Panama. Perhaps good training can work. There is a very large/lovely bar area with indoor and outdoor drinking and dinner. A large nicely furnished and very clean dining room features a very good buffet breakfast with attentive service. There is plenty of parking available. Is this a 5 star resort one might find in Mykonos, Greece? For that matter is it a 5 star resort one might find here in Panama....no indeed it is not. But, for the interior and particularly for Santiago it is as good as it gets and deserves 5 stars, at least while it is new and sparkly.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool side room for a nicer experience. They are king sized, i believe, and did not ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panamamover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skogås, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a good hotel whit a good restaurant. For being in Santiago, Panama it´s nearly I call it great.

The easiest way to describe it is to say that this is more than you normally find in a city as Santiago. Nothing bad about Santiago but the tourist industry and the service sector is not so very well develop in this region.

The room was clean as in Europe, when Europe is good. The AC was in some kind of eco mode so it was very hot in the room when we should sleep. That can be fixt if u don’t let the door to the terrace or balcony be opened the last hour before sleep.

The pool is extremely nice. Big and whit different areas. They construct even one more little pool for children right now. And one of the eras in the pool right now is a childrens place. The pool has a pool bar whit good service.

The room service was working very well. But they didn’t clean the table outside our room. We call them at least five times, but nothing happened so when we wake up it was not so very nice. Then we called again and the come and clean the table. And that shows that they still can improve the service. More on that at the end.

The restaurant is excellent, both for dinner and breakfast.

The staff is friendly, helpful and whit a big willing to serve you. But, and here comes a but. They have still a little to learn. It’s more by the heart then the brain. Or its more friendly then professional. But on the other side you can find some staff at the front desk who speak English. The level of service is is something that I take for natural in a city in the middle of a Latin American country.

Finally I can say its easy to give it four star or points(of five). And that is a very high review for a hotel here. And they could even reach five star/points if the staff gets a little bit more professional. Last but not least; the prices is good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Would recommend it over Riande in Panama City. The pool and outside may not have been as esteemed but personality and cleanliness goes to Mykonos. The food was outstanding. You get more for your money at Mykonos. I just can't get out that the friendliness of the people at Mykonos, they were outstanding plus they went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in this excellent hotel for one night on our way back to Panama City from Boquete. We did not have a reservation. The walk in price was the same as the hotel’s internet price, plus tax. And it included breakfast. Our room, decorated as the rest of the hotel in whites, and blues had a balcony overlooking the pool on the second floor. This is a new property. The room was brightly lit, very clean and everything was in working order. It was large with a queen-sized bed. The bathroom was large with an excellent shower. Lots of hot water! The pool was cool and refreshing – it was also very clean. The wind made sitting around somewhat uncomfortable though.

Breakfast was very good, buffet style with plenty of choice. Unfortunately the pancakes and potatoes were cold. The omelette was excellent. Fruit, yoghurt, meat and local foods made up the rest of the menu. For some reason there was no cereal.

Just a couple of annoyances. For a new hotel it was difficult to understand why there was no elevator to the second floor of the rooms. Luggage needs to be hand carried up the stairs to the second level. There was no milk for coffee at the breakfast buffet, only cream. The room did have a coffee maker and coffee but no decaf coffee. Our balcony had no chairs but a staff member did manage to get a couple so we could enjoy the balcony. The hotel’s website needs improving to add tax to the advertised amount and to list what comes with the price, such as free WiFi and breakfast. We did email the hotel before we arrived seeking clarification but there was no response. Our room had a safe but it was not attached to anything – not much use.

Overall though this hotel is highly recommended – new, on the Pan American highway, nice pool, landscaped gardens, big, bright and comfortable room, very clean and friendly staff with a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was travelling through Panama's countryside and scheduled a one night stay at this excellent hotel. As you walk in, a spacious and open lobby welcomes you with a warm but fresh breeze coming from the plains around Santiago. Its rooms are all well furnished and tastefully decorated, fully equipped with AC and LCD TV sets. It boasts a large, beautiful pool with a swim-up bar. Food was nothing to write home about but its restaurant and bar were very clean and nice. I never expected a hotel of this level in a part of the country better known for simplicity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a great stayed, the food, the service, the room, nice!!!, Beautiful!, We recommend it! Best in town! Must Visit!, Clean, Great Food, Good Prices, We will be coming back!, Room Service, Conference Rooms,

Room Tip: Go and visit the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dejavupty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
7.9 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#3 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Hacienda
La Hacienda
#4 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#3 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
51 reviews
24.3 mi away
Casa Friuli Ecolodge Las Minas & Coffee House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Via Inter Americana | Frente al Aeropuerto Ruben Cantu, Santiago de Veraguas 0923, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready to experience the newest hotel in Santiago! Made for both business travelers and leisure, enjoy spacious rooms, modern technology and services designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Mykonos Hotel is located near the local airport and the next Santiago Mall, where shops and restaurants are near you. The property offers 92 rooms and suites with mediterranean decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center Panama/Veraguas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing