We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great break for food on trip David-Panama” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galeria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galeria Hotel
Panama
Level Contributor
363 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great break for food on trip David-Panama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been stopping at this hotel/restaurant for several years. It is near the mid point on the drive from David to Panama. Having twelve knee surgeries it is a needed rest from the road. Depending on the time of day, I like the shrimp omelet in the morning, major aleman soup for lunch and grilled chicken breast in the evening. I have stayed a few times overnight but not since the renovation to the rooms. The wait staff know me by sight and there is always a warm welcome. The food is inexpensive and a good value. If you want desserts, the warm pecan pie with ice cream is excellent.

Room Tip: I have not seen the renovated rooms but I usually had a nice room with a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDogPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
6
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Tablas, Panama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Last time I stayed here was for a Patronales de Santiago Festival and The attention, service and accommodations were very good. Now I have come with the Mrs. for an event on the Hotel and we stayed in for our own advantage, Radical Change!!! They have done a whole new section and everything is excellent. New rooms, new beds, new tvs, new pool... I think I don't have to keep on going. I would really recommend this nice place in this nice city. The restaurant at the hotel is very good too. I don't really know if they have room service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We usually stay here for a nite on our way from Panama City to David. The rooms are average. The Restaurant is awesome they have great food with very good prices. There is a shopping center next door to the hotel as well as fast food places if you don't want the local food served at restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hotel our more quite than ones up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
236 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you rent a car in Panma City and you plan to drive across Panama this is a good hotel to stop at. It is right on the Panamerican Highway and is the halway point to David. It offers adequate parking and is located within walking distance to a number of restaurants including MacDonalds for breakfast or Kentucky Fried Chicken for lunch or dinner. The hotel is clean and very convenient and the beds are comfortable. Price is reasonable for a no reservation walk-in at $55 a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJancauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Galeria Hotel is located in downtown Santiago , about 150 feet from the national bus terminal and 40 feet from a medium size shopping centre giving access to medical offices, dental offices, a large grocery store(El Machetazo), fast food places like McDonald, etc.

Plenty of secure parking spaces surround the Hotel.
A spacious lobby with a seating area offering a large digital TV screen, pleasant reception staff create a good first impression ( see photo provided).

As to the double bed room( see photo) I took, it comes with a woodframe and clean good quality linen including a comforter, 4 pillows, and end table with its lamp, a Sony TV digital screen with spanish CNN ( no English speaking channel), 2 large mirrrors, a large commode, telephone service, a closet incuding a safe, a round white plastic table with its 2 plastic armchairs. A large window with double curtain lets in the sunlight if desired; of course, Panasonic airconditioninng with inverter , so silent it is hardly heard.

Small toilet amenities ( shampoo, body lotion, squeeze liquid soap tank in the shower) with real hot water.

Regular door key is provided with inside chain; a guard stands at the entrance at night .

What is missing : breakfast is NOT included in the 50-dollar double room.

Room Tip: Take a room on the right side ( not the side next to shopping centre) for more peace at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past 3 years. Price is $49.50 for a king or double, before discounts. Santiago is expanding and so is this hotel.

Clean. Prompt maid service. Close to hwy but not on it so not loud. Good beds and linens. I have gotten to know some of the staff here. good staff. Mari and Laura are very good at the desk. marisol is very good in the restaurant. There is always staff around.

Restaurant is good with good value. Always a crowd at peak times but no waiting. plenty of staff.

I've always been able to count on the Galeria. Walking distance to grocery story, cinema, in strip mall as well as other places. Hotel is always crowded with business, travelers passing through to beach or mountain areas or elsewhere.

Other hotels near are updating and building too. They do a good, brisk business here, both hotel and restaurant.

Rooms have well working split unit ac and flat screens, less channel options than city. no pool for those seeking that.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rednikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penonome, Panama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Restaurant at my hotel was very overpriced. Asked some locals for a recommendation and ended up at the Galeria. The Galeria restaurant has above average service, excellent food and excellent prices. Prices were less than one third of prices at my hotel. The Galeria is on the Interamerican Highway and centrally located only one block from one of the bus terminals. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k2rbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
4.5 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#3 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Hacienda
La Hacienda
#4 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Inn
Iguana Inn
#2 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galeria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeria Hotel

Property: Galeria Hotel
Address: Via Interamericana Santiago, Km 232.88, Santiago de Veraguas 83202, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gallery, located in Panama in the province of Veraguas. With good promotions, with some benefits like: Restaurant. T.V. 32 "LCD. Cable TV. Simmons Beautyrest beds and Presidential. Air Conditioning. Agua Caliente. Safety deposit box. Pool. Gym. Wi-Fi high speed. Electric Locks. Room services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Galeria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeria Hotel Panama/Veraguas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing