We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to come back to”
Review of Hostal Veraguas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Veraguas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Veraguas
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to come back to”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hostel offers a variety of rooms from dorm style to double private rooms. Prices are of the lowest I found in Panama and for what is offered it is more than reasonable.The whole place has lots of charm which is even topped by Lidias warm, friendly and always helpful person. She owns the place and operates it with all her heart. She will be eager to solve any inconvenince you might experience and is always interested in suggestions for improvement. Some aspects of the hostel go into the camping direction but with the pleasant part of having a roof over your head and Wifi if you need it. There are two kitchens you can use, one Panamanian style with a fire place and one quite good equipped "normal" version. Since the whole hostel is built around her own house and so to speak in her garden you will also be abled to get to know some Panamanian plants from kitchen herbs to fruit trees and orchids. I stayed here several times alone and also with company and I'm sure to come back whenever I will be in Santiago again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
8
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hostel a number of times and we found the owner very helpful and friendly. The hostel is clean and has a very unique "waste not" style starting with the numerous labeled garden edibles to the painting on the walls from previous lodgers. Very near to the bus stop (40cents to the terminal) and a mini market and budget restaurant. If you´re on a tight budget this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EgS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Out of all the hostels and B&B's in Panama I stayed at (and there were quite a few over 4 weeks) I found the Hostal Veraguas to be one of the more hospitable and by far the cheapest. Lydia (owner/operator) is a sweetheart and will do whatever she can to make your stay pleasant. She also gives discounts on lodging if you do community service work with her or help around the place! Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you prefer sleeping solo she has nice private rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We used Santiago as a stopover for our journey from Santa Catalina to Boqueta.

The Verugas Hostel is a long walk, or under two dollars in a cab fare, from the city centre. But we think it is worth the extra steps into the suburbs.

The hostel owner is lovely, obliging, well prepared, has a good hold of English and a fun sense of humour.

Our room was the Santa Fe double, which was beautifully decorated and included a full canopy mosquito net over the double bed, sofa, balcony, bath/shower and large fan (no a/c but we found it was fine with just fan). Very good value.

Santa Fe Room - double with bath/ shower - $10 pp

Our room certainly seemed like the best room, with dorms being slightly more simple.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaysOfDeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were expecting much more from this "hostal". We knew that we were in for some originality, but we found a weird place to stay. Very noisy neighbourhood to start with and far from the center of Santiago. The good point is the very amicable owner Lydia and that is about it! In our two travel books, they mentionned "breakfeast included!", which was not the case. The room had no glass or screen windows! We had the top floor room and we could see downstairs in the available kitchen through the large cracks in the wooden floor! It probably also meant that the people in the kitchen could see us moving around and even using the toilet!The toilet was not really clean and the odor was strong...We recommand that you stay away from this "hostal!".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago de Veraguas hotels

Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hostal Veraguas is a great place to stay. Lidia, the owner is extremely friendly and welcomes travellers with a friendly smile. The place itself and clean and unique, with interesting style rooms and murals all over. In addition, should you have some skill or talent which would help in making the place better, or more interesting, she is more than willing to negtiate discounts, or even free stays for your efforts. She also has the coolest little dog.

So, if you're in Santiago and need a place to stay, I wouldn't reccommend going anywhere else!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Veraguas hotels
6.3 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#3 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Hacienda
La Hacienda
#4 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#3 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Veraguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Veraguas

Property: Hostal Veraguas
Address: Barriada San Martin 5, Calle C Norte, Santiago de Veraguas 0923, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a local budget hostel, we offer lodging for travelers; several dorms and privates, hammocks or bring your own tent. We also offer free wireless internet or use of our computer, kitchen usage, storage, TV and movies, tourist information, parking, book exchange, etc. We also provide for low price Spanish lessons, information about volunteer work in the communities, universities, international phone calls (you must provide phone cards available next door), cheap laundry service and continental breakfast for a $1.00 extra. For after hours services, please call ahead on time. We can customize a travel package for you and your group. Possible activities include surfing instruction, scuba diving, sea kayaking, tubing, horse riding, etc The volunteers get special rate and the same for the ones staying longer. Ah! bring your friends and you get discount (just let us know). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Veraguas Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing