We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the top French restaurants in the region”
Review of Les Fougeres

Les Fougeres
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Chelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $99
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is currently closed for renovations and scheduled to re-open with a totally refreshed look in early December. We hope to see you then.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the top French restaurants in the region”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hands down fantastic.

A bit pricey, but has vaulted (years ago now actually), into the top echelon of French restaurants the area has to offer. Close your eyes and trust me here.

Internationally renown and world award-wining sommelier Véronique Rivest almost single handly put this place on the map, though I hear she has moved on. With attentive, inventive, passionate chefs and top notch service, this is what the best French Canadian cuisine is all about. No other style to envy. Great wine selection, but almost too difficult to pick from the tantalizing menu.

Nestled in charming Chelsea Québec but a stone throw's from Ottawa, *THE* place to go to impress anyone. Add an uber popular little side business take out deli on the side that will tempt you like crazy with fois gras, meat pies, duck magret and a wide range of delicacies and you have a place you will be telling friends about for a long time.

Makes me proud to be from the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    58
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great setting”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have been going to Les Fougeres since it opened and it is as good now as it was then. The servers are attentive and knowledgeable and the food remains creative, delicious and beautifully presented. We have enjoyed breakfast, brunch, lunch and many dinners and when we have out of town visitors it is usually our first choice for a guaranteed special meal. I would also recommend the lovely book, A year at Les Fougeres, a feast for the eyes and a great source book as well.
Also, the attached boutique has a tempting array of prepared food to take away ...and the tourtières are justifiably famous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatandHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my second visit to this restaurant and I was hoping it would be better than the first, but not so. I had the scallops and fish with mussels....the coating on the scallops totally ruined what should have been a wonderful dish. None of us finished our meals. Nice enough seating on the side veranda but considering that we'd had the reservation for a week, they might have given us a better table overlooking the apparently wonderful back garden. Will I give it a third chance....probably not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Barbados
Level Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“I WOULD GIVE THIS SIX STARS IF I COULD :)”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a wonderful setting, see attached pics. The food was wonderful. I shared a Charcuterie Plate with Cheese with my partner. Then I opted for the Confit of Duck and Poached Pear, served over Potato Rosti, Spinach and Goats Cheese. Dessert was Intense Chocolate - Dark Chocolate Brownie with Fresh Raspberry Sorbet and Summer Fruits. We washed it all down with 2 bottles of Mystique Cider, just like Sparkling Wine! Couldn't fault anything. The food was heavenly :). Cost for 4 people CAD$200

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time-out”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Much has been written about the quality of the food- I enjoyed my choice immensely-from presentation to quality of the food. The service is wonderful- We were seated on the back verandah, overlooking an amazing garden, under the watchful eye of Marc and his team-- always attentive, but not always at our elbow. I was very impressed by the training and attention given to the table service and clearing. Plates were left on the table, until each person had finished eating-- I haven't experienced this in a long time-- even in very upscale dining places. Well done Les Fougeres-- I appreciate this attention to the fine points of serving and clearing. We had a wonderful 'time-out'- I hated to leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Fougeres also viewed

Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Les Fougeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing