We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LONG LONG LONG WALK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lusk Cave

Lusk Cave
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Chelsea
Attraction details
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“LONG LONG LONG WALK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Easy signs to Lac Phillipe in Gatineau but from parking lot we weren't sure which path and of course took the wrong one and followed road to store a little out of the way but we got to see deer! We were suppose to follow path to beach and walk along beach. My 5-year-old made it to far end of lake and needed a swimmng break as was over 4 km! Lots of people knew was long long long hike and passed us on their bicycles which I would highly recommend! Last km quick and into cave was very cool and kids changed into swimsuits to explore with their headlamps and flashlights. Walk back seems faster and stopped to beaches for swims.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank misled m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bats are adorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is definitely worth seeing, but not for the claustrophobic. Bring warm clothes and sturdy hiking shoes. This is not a place for shorts and flip-flops. You may get to see some sleeping bats - very cute.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ser333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great Day Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Part at the Parent beach parking lot ($10) Take the long way when going to the cave, if you up for it, using route 54. Stop at the Cabin down by the lake for a quick rest and maybe a snack. Don’t forget to back your swim shorts if you really want to go exploring the cave. A flashlight is a must and a helmet and water shoes are highly recommended. If you still have the energy, avoid path 50 back and take 74 instead. It’s a bit more challenging and offers some great scenery. Once you get to the beach, go for a quick dip to cool down and follow the shore line back to your car. All this adds up to just shy of 15Km and can be done in under 6 hours. A good hike for kids of all ages.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle_from_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We rode our bikes from the nearest parking lot and it is a slippery ride, but fun. Lots of work on the way back. Also, you really can go all the way through the caves and should be prepared to do that. Its really easy, but scary. Water is very high and ceiling is very low. Your shoes should strap on or wear watershoes or old sneakers.

GREAT date idea. Bring a picnic and eat on the beach just 1k from the caves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolaoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Amazing caverns, less than an hour from downtown Ottawa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have to give the Lusk Caves a 5-star rating - it was simply awesome to be able to go caving so close to downtown Ottawa, and with so little preparation.

You access the caves from Gatineau Park's Lac Philippe entrance, at the north end of the park. From there, you park at the beach and hike/walk approx. 5km, but it's an easy trail. The caves are split into two sections - one section consists of a cavern with sections of open-air crevices above and is relatively easy to navigate. You could do this section with relatively little gear - a headlamp and helmet are useful but not necessary, and kids could do it too.

The second section is more advanced - you NEED a headlamp, and although a helmet is recommended, it's not necessary. But, you can't be afraid of getting wet (and the water's cold!), and you can't be afraid of having to duck your head really close to the water in a confined space (and I imagine that during periods with lots of rain, you may have to go under water to navigate some sections...)

All in all, a superb place to visit, whether you're a kid or adult.

My only complaint is that the maps you get at the entrance of the park are not very accurate, and you can't use debit/credit to access the park - there's a $10 day fee - despite them having a debit/credit machine right there?!?! However, despite the minor inconvenience, the caves are awesome, hence the 5-star rating!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Trillium_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusk Cave also viewed

Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
 
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Lusk Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing