We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of Camp Fortune

Camp Fortune
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Chelsea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Camp Fortune: downhill skiing and snowboarding:The best of winter is just a 15-minute drive from downtown Ottawa/Gatineau•Highest vertical within a 15-minute car ride from Ottawa center•23 runs for expert, intermediate and beginner•Terrain park with 12 hits including rails, boxes and a wall•7 lifts: 3 Surface, 4 Quads and 1 Triple•12 lit runs for night skiing and snowboarding•Full snowmaking capacity and excellent attention to grooming•Private, group, ski and snowboard lessons, multi week lesson programs for adults and children•Full group ski/snowboard services•Ski and snow board equipment rentals•2 cozy lodges with all the amenitiesA winter of fun awaits. Camp Fortune Activities:Spring/Summer/Autumn Your destination for ziplining, mountain biking, birthday parties, outdoor activities and a unique wedding venue.Try zip lining at one of our 3 aerial courses. Test your mountain biking skills on our cross country and downhill trails. Looking for unique Ottawa wedding venues for your summer or autumn wedding, or a banquet hall for your family reunion? Searching for outdoor activities for kids or perhaps a round of disc golf? Maybe a round of disc golf? With beautiful Camp Fortune in the Gatineau Hills as a backdrop, your event is bound to be a memorable one. Just a 15 minute drive from downtown Ottawa or Gatineau, Camp Fortune is ideal for both local residents and tourists seeking Ottawa attractions.•The most exciting zip lining and aerial experience in the Ottawa-Gatineau region•Children's park: Mini zip line, aerial experience,outdoor activities and birthday parties for kids•Superb banquet hall and group facilities. The perfect setting for Ottawa Weddings.•Corporate team building outdoor activities and facilities•Over 20 km of regularly upgraded cross country mountain bike trails•Technical and flowing downhill trails for advanced bikers•Pump Track !•Disc golf courseWhether you are new to summer sports or a seasoned veteran, Camp Fortune’s outdoor activities for kids and adults inject excitement into your summer mix.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Avoid the skyline and jump at all costs, all the workers there are stoner, druggie teenagers, who are incompetant. NO REFUNDS , but we didnt know that because they don't put ANYTHING in english, and if they do, its in the smallest font. Their scam artists there, and they don't give a flipping crap about you. They scammed us out of our money. This place has a thing against NON FRENCH customers, so slimy. DO NOT GO TO THIS JUNK YARD!

Thank Luxx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erin B, Manager at Camp Fortune, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Hello Luxx,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the free fall airbag jump. Please feel free to call me, Erin, manager of Camp Fortune at 819-827-1717 ext 2241 to discuss. We do employ mature, bilingual employees. The age range of the employees is 17 to 35, many who have been with us for years now. They are not stoners and should not be judged by their appearance. The young man you are referring to does indeed have dreadlocks as well as an exceptional personality. Safety and security is our number one priority and all of our staff are fully trained and responsible. All of our material is published and available in both official languages and we correspond with all clients in their language of choice. Our general rule is that we do not offer refunds to participants who start the activity and then decide not to complete it as the space has been bought and paid for, a policy common in adventure sports and even at a golf course.
Sincerely
Erin B, Manager, Camp Fortune ski, aerial park, ziplines and free fall bag jump

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

I genuinely like skiing at Camp fortune. Close to the city and decent mix of easy and intermediate hills as well as a nice section of jumps that the teens like a lot.

What really bugs me, though, is their terrible night skiing policy. I paid for a night skiing pass, last september (2013), taking advantage of the "group of 4" special.

While my friends who had bought passes for night skiing at Edelweiss started skiing evenings in November (!) because of the early snow, I was only able to ski nights on a regular basis starting on January 6th !!!, almost 6 weeks later !!!

In December, I waited patiently and I thought Camp Fortune would change their planned start date for night skiing (even with limited runs) when they saw how much snow was on the ground so early,... but noooooo !

(To be fair, they had two nights of skiing on Dec 27 and 28th, but the regular night skiing didn't start until Jan 6th.)

I really like going to Camp Fortune for night skiing but I am planning to buy a pass elsewhere this coming season because of their really terrible night skiing policy.

1  Thank Tipit008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erin B, Manager at Camp Fortune, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your comments. Out night skiing season runs from Dec 27 until the 3rd week in March. In years past we have opened nights before Christmas but we had so few customers come out we had to go back to our original schedule. We do hope to see you again next season.
Sincerely
Erin B Camp Fortune Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I went to ski today and I have to say that I had a lot of fun. Very friendly staff, fast lifts and clean facilities. Super cheap the lift tickets and no lines! We definitely recommend it if you are in Ottawa and want to do some skying while here!

Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After our annual walk in Gatineau Park, we drove by Camp Fortune and say that they offered a chair lift tour during the Thanksgiving long-weekend. We decided to stop and try it. It was a nice experience. The kids enjoyed going on a first chair-lift ride. You basically hop on the lift at the bottom and stay on it until you come back down. For 20 minutes, it's a nice ride. At the top, you have a nice view of the mountains.

The bonus - I did not have to pay for my children. So one adult, $5, free for kids... even better.

1  Thank simpletulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the main attractions of the Gatineau park in the fall is the changing colours of the leaves, we decided to changed it up from the regular drive through the park to something more adventuress. Camp fortunes aerial park did not disappoint. It was a great day activity with lots of thrills and a little challenge. Worth the spending the time and spectacular views of the fall colours flying through the trees.

Thank katie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Fortune also viewed

Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Cantley, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Camp Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing