We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabane à sucre: wonderful experience”
Review of L'Oree Du Bois

L'Oree Du Bois
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Chelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cabane à sucre: wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent brunch "cabane à sucre" at L'Orée du Bois. Inspired form the traditional menu served at "la cabane" during maple syrup season, but much more refined and pushed a few steps further. The chef knows how to work and use the freshest local ingredients to get the best flavors. Greeted and served by very professional and dedicated staff, we spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon.
chris.o

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    90
    22
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, ambience and food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

French cooking, using local ingredients. They also have some nice St Emilion wine. Nice relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. Easy drive from Ottawa. Yet to disappoint us or friends who have gone on our recommendation.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a very pleasant evening at l'Orée du bois last week. All four diners found the atmosphere, service, food and wine to be of a high order. Staff were knowledgeable about the dishes offered, attentive and professional. Each course was distinctive and successful in its presentation and taste, and the wine, from a list selected by the chef, was very good as well. All in all we had the kind of experience a this birthday dinner that we all hoped for, and left very pleased indeed with our choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenz250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently charming, but not overly romantic...”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Returned to this restaurant after 20 years. The place hasn't changed a bit! Same decor, same menu options (same servers?). We knew what to expect and got what we expected. I'd say our memories of the place were probably embellished over the years. I requested a quiet, secluded table when I reserved online. We were sat at a table for two in a large, noisy, busy dining room. The food was ok. Nothing exceptional. And the Table d'hôte is not cheap. Menu choices are very French restaurant-like, so you have to be ready for some very odd items you have probably never eaten & would probably never eat! We stuck to the chicken (or was it quail... the translation was wrong!) and the Red Deer. The soup & salad were ok. Dessert was great (but it's hard to go wrong with chocolate mousse & homemade chocolates!). All told, the bill was just shy of $150 for 2 people (including tip & one glass of wine each). That's our usual for a decent restaurant. One thing I must say is that the server was a tad overbearing and tried too hard. She could do with some training in being more genuine and relaxed (in order to allow dinner guests to be more relaxed!). Still gave her a 15% tip, but I don't think we'll be going back. At least not in the next 20 years!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellazA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place if you are visiting Ottawa”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nestled in beautiful Chelsea, steps from Gatineau park, in a garden of plants that they serve to you. L'Oree du bois offers a Canadian menu, almost quintessentially Canadian. The location is divine, very rustic and romantic. The tasting menu was fantastic, the highlight being the homemade chocolates for dessert. I would recommend anyone visiting Ottawa with a desire to taste the best the area has to offer gastronomically should take a trip to Chelsea and eat here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oree Du Bois also viewed

Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
 

Been to L'Oree Du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing