We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the baths and splendor of the magical location at night !”
Review of Nordik Spa-Nature

Nordik Spa-Nature
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Chelsea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the entrance of Gatineau Park, Nordik Spa-Nature is a haven that features relaxation techniques from the Nordic countries. Take the time to unwind and reenergize in our Nordic baths and waterfalls, steam baths, saunas, and relaxation areas. Revitalize all of your senses with a massage or a body treatment and a delicious and healthy meal at our restaurant & bar - you’ve earned it! Only 10 minutes from downtown Gatineau-Ottawa. Situé aux abords du parc de la Gatineau, Nordik Spa-Nature est un centre de détente privilégiant les techniques de relaxation des pays nordiques. Prenez le temps de relaxer et de refaire le plein d’énergie en profitant de nos bains extérieurs, chutes nordiques, baina de vapeur, saunas, et aires de détente. Combinez le tout à un massage ou a un soin corporel et un délicieux repas à notre resto-bar. À seulement 10 minutes du centre-ville de Gatineau-Ottawa.
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the baths and splendor of the magical location at night !”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location, the baths, saunas etc are so beautifully set in our lovely Gatineau Hills....Absolutely magical location!! Service is amazingly friendly, food is delicious and the whole place radiates zenfullness...everyone glows !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank teddysamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    220
    99
    73
    66
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some Peaceful R & R”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nordik Spa-Nature is located about a 5 minute drive from Casino Lac Leamy,and 10 minutes to downtown Ottawa - a great mini vacation for adults. Le Nordic bills itself as the largest spa in America, and has many different Baths, whirlpools, saunas, volcanic stone beds, We treated ourselves to the Kalla treatment. What an experience. It is a 1,200 sq foot pool, cut into the rock bed a few meters underground. With a real high concentration of salt (supposedly similar to the Dead Sea), it gives you a feeling of weightlessness. Absolutely no talking, total silence. It was quite eerie when we first entered - kind of "cave like" - very dark, with only very soft lighting around the edge of the pool, and not a sound. When my eyes became accustomed to the dark, it gave me a bit of a fright, which quickly turned to giggles, when I saw the "bodies" floating in the dark, and not one moving. The experience was quite incredible! Beware though - it was rather startling when floating there weightless, eyes closed, mind off that I felt something crawl up my leg. Didn't feel any better when I realized it was someone else's hair when our "floating" collided with each other. All in all, an awesome experience, even with my jittery nerves!

We felt totally indulged and pampered the entire day. Beautiful location, beautiful spa, with so many choices of things to do. They will rent you bathrobes for the day, but make sure you bring a pair of flip flops or sandals. We didn't (newbies to the spa scene) and very cold moving from pool to pool (February).When moving from pool to pool, wrap yourself in the towel before putting on the bathrobe, or you will be sitting in a wet bathrobe all day. Felt quite decadent, wearing our bathrobes while eating our dinner in the restaurant with 40 other people, also wearing bathrobes.

Nordik is an experience you need to have at least once in your life!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Macfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalie S, Public Relations Manager at Nordik Spa-Nature, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Macfarlane,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nordik Spa-Nature. We appreciate your kind words and your detailed descriptions, which will surely help future visitors to plan their visit! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and your Källa treatment.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

The Nordik Spa-Nature team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A PIECE OF HEAVEN!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We celebrated my daughters 30th birthday my staying at the lodge and attending to the baths. We had a ball! The lodge is absolutely breathtaking and has every amenity you could possibly wish for.There were 11 of us and plenty of room. I love how they have the bedrooms setup on three floors. The fireplace with wood provided was an added bonus. We potlucked supper and it was so pretty and relaxing we cannot wait to go back for longer. The staff were more then accomodating and any issues we had were quickly resolved. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone seeking a nice little weekend getaway. We are already planning our trip back in the fall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarseyKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just what you need to unwind...”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been to Le Nordik 3 times, I now try to book off every birthday to spend there. It is amazing...

Pro's: great atmosphere; many choices for hot-cold-relax cycle; favorite is the steam rooms with aromatherapy! Good service, friendly people. Beautiful at night... the perfect place to go with a book (or just a pillow) to unwind, relax and have no responsibilities.

Con's: sometimes it's a bit crowded - weekdays are better.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Spa has got sleazy”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very disconcerting visit to the Spa. Cannot fault the decor, ambiance, food and professionalism of the staff however the behaviour of other guests leaves a lot to be desired. There seems to be some sort of unspoken understanding amongst guests that inappropriate sexualised behaviour is acceptable if its discreet. On this particular visit it wasn't discreet and I had to speak to a couple and then staff about the fact that they were openly and nosily having sex in one of the pools. Its not the first time I have seen behaviour like this at Spa Nordik and frankly I don't want to spend $69 to swim in other people's bodily fluids. Spa Nordik needs to be more proactive in policing this sort of behaviour including using secret shoppers to identify the extent of the problem and clear signage for guests to reiterate that it is not appropriate. Guests need to have more respect and leave this behaviour in their bedrooms. The staff on duty dealt with the situation well and evicted the couple but I can not recommend this place if it continues to ignore this issue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Cafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalie S, Public Relations Manager at Nordik Spa-Nature, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Cafod,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments. We completely agree with you, this type of behavior is totally unacceptable at Nordik Spa-Nature, as in all public places. Thank you for your kind comments on the professionalism of our staff. We are glad to read that our team as dealt with the situation well and evicted the couple, as this is our policy.

Again, let me reassure you that inappropriate acts in public are taken very seriously by our team, as they are against the law and, of course, undesirable for our guests. Please know that we do not allow nor ignore this type of behavior, there can just sometimes be a certain delay before finding out about the situation. Be assured we will keep on reminding our staff to be very vigilant at all times and always strict in applying our rules.

Again, we take incidents like this very seriously and we would appreciate if you wish to contact Claire Huet, our Guest Services Director, at chuet@lenordik.com or by phone at (819) 827-1111.

Thank you, best regards,

Claire Huet
Guest services Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordik Spa-Nature also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Nordik Spa-Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing